We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars? it's a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
Ranked #95 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5 stars? it's a joke”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Probably it was an unlucky stay, but this hotel cannot be a 5*! In Asia it would be a 2* or maximum 3*!! Awful service, very old rooms with cracks on the sink or on the floor. Two elevators only for a building with 20 floors, awful service at the reception and a funny guy for the room service that pretends the tips and doesn't live. The first night at my arrival I didn't have cash at all and he kept going on until I called the reception..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sasuke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    170
    97
    27
    22
See reviews for
89
111
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This would have been a 4 If the elevator worked properly. The food, rooms and friendly staff were great. I often took the service stairs because of the bad elevator. Unfortunately during my stay my friend fell down about 4 floors in the void of the unsafe stairs. He survived but was taken to the hospital.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nyprtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week in 2010.

this is a good hotel the staff are very friendly. The hotel staff helped me to locate few of the good local Vegetarian restaurant and the service and breakfast in the hotel is very good. The hotel also offer bikes to go around city which is a bonus. The hotel is located in the CBD which is nice, on the down side the roof top swimming pool is very small.

The staff also booked me hotel in Acapulco for me which was very nice for me considering I dont speak local language and I was all by myself.

I would recommend this hotel for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia,bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is surprisingly good for a hotel for groups, service is good,stuff is helpful,breakfast is very good and served quickly the air condition was good really I was there at the end of December and I needed it a lot

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumiana1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with my family several weeks ago. We stayed only one night. The room was very spacious (a suite for 3 people) but in spite of being a non-smoking room, there was an intense cigarette smell, as if the guest before us was smoking the whole time. All of our clothes were impregnated with that deep smell.

The bathroom sink had a toothpaste cap from a previous guest, and the lighting in the bathroom was very poor. The AC was very noisy.

Besides fruit, there weren't vegetarian options for breakfast.

I'm sorry but I think I'll not stay in this hotel again in the future. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that are cleaner than this one. The staff was really nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank errdrzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week during the Thanksgiving of 2013. Our experience has been mixed.

Negative - Most importantly, communication problem led me to pay more than initially I booked this hotel for. It got sorted out after 3 days but I have to pay for 3 days at the higher price than first agreed upon over the phone from America. I would say this is mostly due to communication.

Positive - The buffet breakfast was great. We enjoyed our breakfast before heading out for sightseeing. They have about 40% options for vegetarians but hot omellet and scrambled eggs made up for the difference.

Negative - Elevators were not working for about 3 to 4 days. We have to climb up to 10 floors. Man! that was a steep hike for about 3 days, 2 to 3 times in a day.

Neutral - Some staff were very helpful, and some were not. We stayed there for 6 nights just to make the point.

Positive - Perfect location! Very close to the monument of revolution. During the time we stayed, there was a demonstrations/camping by protestors around the monument. The place around the hotel was barricaded, and police were present all the time in that area during our stay. But still, it wasn't so much of a big inconvenience or scary situation. Again, the hotel is close to the monument, and somewhat located close to the Palacio.

Positive - They don't add chlorine in the water. At least they did not put chlorine in water when we stayed there. However, swimming pool looks like a big bath tub. It is not that big. But it's on the terrace. Soaking in the sun in the afternoon and sipping drinks in the evenings near the pool on the terrace, adds to the mood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel Casa Blanca
Review

We checked in at room 121. It has a queen size bed in a very small room area. The bathroom follows (very small floor area also). The room provides very basic necessities (shampoo, soap, lotion and towels), not very grandeur.

Cleanliness
I would rate it 3.5 out of 5, 5 highest. If you ask if they give complimentary bottle water, which is the standard, they'd tell you that you can get drinking water from the sink. They do have a separate faucet which connects to a water filter, but still.

The room in general is clean. We requested that they change the bedsheets, and were able to comply. We came back to our room satisfied.

INTERNET
They don't have free internet. You need to pay for it:

USD 6 / MXN 60 - 1 day wifi internet
USD 3 / MXN 25 - 1 hour wifi internet

The login can only be used for one device. If you have 2 devices, your choice is to pay twice.

Another advice, their internet connection is slow. They have better connection when you're in the lobby though.

FOOD
Their food is good. We ate at the hotel for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast, as i've noticed, are the same on the 3 days.

SERVICE
Service is great! One time we were out the whole day touring Mexico, and came back in the hotel very late because of the rally outside the hotel. The waiters were there, ready to serve us, even if it was late in the evening. Usually our dinner is buffet, but what they did was they prepared a different food for the group, a la carte, since the buffet was cleaned up already. But the really impressive thing was, the waiters were there, and they served us openly. Literally waiting on us to finish our dinner late that night.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are small. But it might be the same with the rest. Try checking in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chie_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#31 of 305 in Mexico City
567 reviews
Sevilla Palace
#61 of 305 in Mexico City
465 reviews
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
#113 of 305 in Mexico City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#33 of 305 in Mexico City
807 reviews
Hotel Regente City
#94 of 305 in Mexico City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City

Property: Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
Address: Calle Jose Maria Lafragua No. 7, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the political, economic and cultural heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the most important avenues of the city: Reforma and Juarez.Our professionally trained staff will always offer you the most friendly service, anytime, everytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Mexico City
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing