We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel the cold? Click "yes"if this is useful.”
Review of Suites Amberes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites Amberes
Ranked #69 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Arrived after 12hr flight (Jan) & checked in no problem. Big apartment- clean but freeeezing cold. Clicked on aircon which does not heat so beware of temp control- meaningless. Switched up thermostats for heating and waited..... nothing. In bed by now with feet like blocks of ice. Called reception and behold," We switch on heating from here when you ask for it." Took 24 hrs to get the place warm. Afterwards, all was fine BUT be aware if you book here and are sensitive to the cold as I am. Make sure you either request at booking stage or on arrival. Otherwise, the place is fine. Basic equipment if you plan to cater- you will have to purchase all from the basics to cook/ clean up after. Excellent location and safe area. Hope this is useful info.

Room Tip: Ask for heating to be on when you arrive if winter booking. Otherwise you will freeze and nobody is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very nice hotel with grandissimo large beds. There is just everything you may need, including heaters and aircon.
They also have a parking lot and there is no need to park by yourself.
The only problem you may face is personnel in the morning. They are really nice and eager, but do not speak english.
Food is okay, but not the best one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zammka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights here over Dia de Los Muertos. Our fifth floor suite was very quiet - ask for a suite with the main bedroom at the rear, and your living room balcony will overlook the street. We liked the faded grandeur feel of the hotel, with clunky 50s furniture. Great staff - without exception friendly and helpful. I'd like to mention receptionist Deanna in particular who gave us so many tips and really looked after us. Delicious Mexican breakfasts made fresh to order every morning, for example huevos islote made with nopales cactus. The Suites Amberes airport shuttle bus is free before 5pm otherwise it's cheaper to get a Sitio cab. Insurgentes metro station is only a few steps away, and at 3 pesos amazing value. Quick way to get to the Zocalo, or to Coyoacan. Can get dangerously busy but the trains are very frequent so my advice is let a packed train go rather than trying to crush on, and walk to the very rear of the platform for the next train - the rear carriages tend to be less packed. About half an hours walk from suites Amberes to the park and the Anthropology Museum.

In summary, huge suite with everything you need, free coffee, airport shuttle free before 5pm, breakfasts included, and all for £40/€50 per night.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BeachlovinAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Mexico City we stayed at Suites Amberes and had a great stay!!!! The staff was courteous and friendly (the doorman even let us borrow his umbrella on a rainy day!!) The rooms were large and clean! If you are looking for a stuffy snobby hotel this isnt it but if you are looking for a great value in the center of the action this is it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mateo790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers who state this is like staying in the center city flat of a wealthy relative. Though the suites weren't super modern they made up for it in space and appointment. I was a solo traveler and I had a spacious 2 bedroom suite that could have easily slept 4 in comfort. There was also a full kitchen and the other needed items. There were 2 tv's in total a dining room table; pretty much anything you could imagine you'd need on your hotel stay. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning powerful. I was on the main level and noise wasn't a problem at all for me. The doormen were very cordial and efficient and I found the hotel to be very gay friendly I didn't receive any negative scowls when entering the hotel with my companion. Immediately when you step out of the hotel the surrounding neighborhood is almost a Times Square vibe of activity, commotion, traffic, and nightlife. There are also numerous restaurants around. I felt very safe walking the streets of the neighborhood by day and night due to the sheer volume of people in the streets tourists and locals. I was approached by numerous people for club entry or flyers but a firm no and steady gait kept them at bay (think how you're pestered in Vegas). I did try two of the local gay clubs and found them to my liking. They weren't megaclubs but were fun and the patrons easily engaged. I would certainly return here in the future especially for a group of people. The complimentary airport transportation was AMAZING. Free, private, door to door transfer. Found me in the arrivals lobby with a paper with my name on it. Saved $25 no complaints. Limited hours though for that service. Take Sitio Cabs for local jaunts and request them by that name. Very fair rates.

Room Tip: I was on the main level and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank White2tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Suites Amberes was an ideal place to stay during a hectic week in Mexico City. The suite I occupied was vast and comfortable and sufficiently high up (6th floor) to avoid noisy disturbance from the very animated street below. As many otrher reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is located in the middle of the Zona Rosa, an almost too lively district of the city with all sorts of goings on and happenings at all times of the day and night. There are lots of good eating places nearby as well as a metro station (Insurgentes) and the Paseo de Reforma (main drag). The staff at the reception desk of the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a somewhat austere, Spanish style restaurant with large blaring TVs, by somewhat severe waiters. But, the food was fine. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

These are nice large suites with King size bed, a small kitchen, a vanity sink and mirror area separate from the bathroom, a reading room and (2) big wall TV's... EXCEPT for the bed pillows. It doesn't seem like a big deal until you find that they are impossible to sleep on. Big, beautiful pillows that are so big and so hard that I couldn't sleep on them and my wife went sleepless. A maid found some smaller and slightly softer ones, but they weren't great either. Otherwise, the bed is OK and the other furnishings are acceptable.

Noise from the street and a mechanical unit outside the bedroom was bearable. Bath sink
was almost stopped up and it wasn't fixed in (4) days. Soap dispensers weren't filled and a container of liquid soap was provided to carry from (1) bathroom sink around the corner to
the other.

The airport pickup and delivery was a great service, most of the administrative staff were
good, very nice, and very helpful, the maids were great and the breakfast food and service
was very good.

The most prevalent (2) tone brown taxis that you will see are not safe, but if you ask the
hotel to call one you will get a private taxi that will cost 2 - 21/2 times what you need to pay. Get the phone number of a reliable company and call them yourself.

All together, this hotel is a good value and is recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
952 reviews
Suites Contempo
#64 of 312 in Mexico City
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#54 of 312 in Mexico City
458 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#41 of 312 in Mexico City
886 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#63 of 312 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Amberes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Amberes

Address: Calle Amberes 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $109 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites Amberes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Amberes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberes Hotel Mexico City
Suites Amberes Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing