We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“in the middle of the Zona Rosa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amberes Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amberes Suites
Ranked #61 of 302 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“in the middle of the Zona Rosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Suites Amberes was an ideal place to stay during a hectic week in Mexico City. The suite I occupied was vast and comfortable and sufficiently high up (6th floor) to avoid noisy disturbance from the very animated street below. As many otrher reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is located in the middle of the Zona Rosa, an almost too lively district of the city with all sorts of goings on and happenings at all times of the day and night. There are lots of good eating places nearby as well as a metro station (Insurgentes) and the Paseo de Reforma (main drag). The staff at the reception desk of the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a somewhat austere, Spanish style restaurant with large blaring TVs, by somewhat severe waiters. But, the food was fine. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    78
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
70
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

These are nice large suites with King size bed, a small kitchen, a vanity sink and mirror area separate from the bathroom, a reading room and (2) big wall TV's... EXCEPT for the bed pillows. It doesn't seem like a big deal until you find that they are impossible to sleep on. Big, beautiful pillows that are so big and so hard that I couldn't sleep on them and my wife went sleepless. A maid found some smaller and slightly softer ones, but they weren't great either. Otherwise, the bed is OK and the other furnishings are acceptable.

Noise from the street and a mechanical unit outside the bedroom was bearable. Bath sink
was almost stopped up and it wasn't fixed in (4) days. Soap dispensers weren't filled and a container of liquid soap was provided to carry from (1) bathroom sink around the corner to
the other.

The airport pickup and delivery was a great service, most of the administrative staff were
good, very nice, and very helpful, the maids were great and the breakfast food and service
was very good.

The most prevalent (2) tone brown taxis that you will see are not safe, but if you ask the
hotel to call one you will get a private taxi that will cost 2 - 21/2 times what you need to pay. Get the phone number of a reliable company and call them yourself.

All together, this hotel is a good value and is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located in the heart of Zona Rosa, where you can find a lot of restaurants, dancing clubs but also prostitutes and touts- so consider it when traveling with children.

The suite is very spacious with a large living room; however it is quite basic and was not renovated for years.

The hotel provides excellent good value for money. Just note that if your quote is in US dollars, the conversion rate that the hotel uses is 5-9 percent higher than what you get, so you actually pay that percentage higher to what you expect.

Breakfast is good, but mostly with Mexican dishes.

The hotel is ranked here #4 of 258 hotels in Mexico City. A little bit surprising….

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay at the Amberes Suites was satisfactory as far as the room went.

A living room and little kitchen, and a separate bedroom, overlooking the little street, and the parking madness, which went on daily and never failed to amuse.

But the shuttle driver failed to find us, and we arrived at the hotel, around the same time as him, after having to take an airport taxi. And of course he was demanding his 350 pesos, for not doing his job.

The shuttle is not free after 5pm, and it is best to take an airport taxi at 210 pesos, if you can work out how to get one. Bureaucracy is rife in Mexico City.

Apart from the room, the hotel had little to offer. No bar, it was under renovation. Poor breakfasts, at least for Europeans. Though there seemed to be plenty choice for Mexicans, and difficult to deal with receptionists. But that seems a trait in Zona Rosa hotels, the receptionists are all difficult to deal with, and non committal.

And for Zona Rosa itself, it seemed a relatively safe place, among the poofs, prostitutes and lesbians. But beware of the street hustlers, who promise you the earth, at an overpriced dancing club, just down the road. It is more likely to be in another county.

Room Tip: A room at the front, overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xalapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a recent trip I needed to visit the US Embassy, so I decided to stay in the Zona Rosa. The hotel is about three blocks from the Insurgentes Metro station and less than a ten-minute walk from El Angel Independence monument and the embassy. I was by myself but landed a huge suite with sitting area, kitchen, dining area, large desk, reading nook with couch, and two bedrooms with double beds. The suite could easily accommodate five guests. It was nicely decorated with Mexican artesania and reproductions of pre-columbian artifacts.
Maybe the best part was the free breakfast, served in the hotel's classy restaurant. There were about twelve full-breakfast choices, and the molletes I chose (with bacon) were the best I've ever had.
The staff was very helpful. I was able to use the laptop in the Business Center to check my e-mail. (The hotel has wifi throughout, but I didn't bring my computer along.)
At $89 US I think I got a real bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I selected the Suites Amberes after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor. The reviews did not disappoint. We were picked up by the hotel shuttle right on time and got the the hotel on a busy Friday afternoon. We had a 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. I requested a room with a balcony but was told only the 1 bedroom suites have balconies. The suite was very clean and all the appliances, TV;s frig, WI-FI, etc worked well.
I was quite impressed with the workout/sauna area on the 7th floor. There are several cardio machines along with weight machine and a couple free weights. There is a separate room for both men's and womens' sauna. The sauna worked extremely well. I would advised that you bring flip flops or something for your feet, both for hygene purposes and the fact that the sauna floors are ceramic and can be very slippery when wet. If you want to use their free shuttle back to the airport on you way home, give them a 24 hour notice. I communicate my flight plans via e-mail and it worked out well. I would certainly book another stay with Amberes Suites next time I go to Mexico City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MakeMyOtherEyeBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was in Mexico for a week on business and decided to stay here. Its in the Zona Rosa which is a very safe area filled with bars shops and restaurants. I was picked up from the airport by their courtesy bus and I was so happy as peak time traffic in Mexico city has to be seen to be believed and a taxi would have cost me a fortune. The hotel is in a quite narrow street and its not too impressive from the outside but check in was very quick and easy and my bag was taken to my room. I was on the seventh floor and when the lift opened there was a small landing area with two bedroom doors infront of you. It is unfair to call this a hotel room or suite as I walked into the largest one bedroom flat I have ever been in, It was huge. A bedroom with a very comfy bed and more wardrobe ( closet for the USA) space than even Sheila Dawson couldnt fill. Great bathroom and huge windows everywhere mean its very light. What sets this place apart from the rest is the lounge area. Large wooden table with four sturdy wooden chairs, a sofa, two armchairs, flat screen tv, a breakfast bar, cooker fridge, microwave and a large balcony. There was no chance anybody could ever go stir crazy in a place this big.
I think the management operate a " no friendly smile no job policy" as everybody is helpful friendly and efficient.
There have been a few comments about the limited breakfast and I would have agreed but on the third day I was presented with a new breakfast menu with a much wider choice.
Hotel bar closes early so I spent more than one evening in the bar/ restaurant opposite the hotel entrance and that place is well worth a visit aswell.
Not many Brits have reviewed this hotel and I would say that taking into account the rooms, facilities, staff, and location there is certainly no better value for money anywhere between Mexico City and the North of England.
Gracias a todos y hasta la proxima.
Saludos
Nick

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#33 of 302 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
#101 of 302 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#63 of 302 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#25 of 302 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Eurostars Zona Rosa Suites
Eurostars Zona Rosa Suites
#123 of 302 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#18 of 302 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberes Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberes Suites

Property: Amberes Suites
Address: Calle Amberes 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amberes Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Amberes Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberes Hotel Mexico City
Amberes Suites Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing