We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quick Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Bellas Artes

Palacio de Bellas Artes
Book In Advance
$55.00*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour with Anthropology Museum and Behind-the-Scenes at...
Ranked #2 of 464 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic white marble building serves as both the city's top performance hall and an art museum.
North Tustin, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On this visit, we only had time to enjoy the refreshments and pleasant service at the small cafe on site as well as the beautiful architecture just inside the building before we had to continue our walk toward Centro. Worth a stop for a long or short visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal2Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,229
    1,143
    213
    30
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Art Deco and Ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just a walk through this exquisite building with enormous murals of Diego Rivera and other well know artists is a true joy. We were lucky enough to score tickets for a ballet performance and loved the magnificent Art Deco theater within this palace. Wait til you see the magnificent Tiffany dome inside the theater. A great experience. There's is also a café on the first floor and although we didn't have time to try it this time, we will next time around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Free tourist guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A young student working with the museum actually gave us a free tour. I tried to give her a tip but she refused. Very informed and helpful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Architecture and Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went on a Sunday, and it was kind of busy. The interior of the building is so cool. We were there to see the Diego murals, and all the other murals. They were amazing. We didn't go to the other exhibits on, but did head up to the top floor to see the architecture exhibit......it was interesting, but very little English, so not sure at times what we were looking at. But do go, we loved our few hours there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We went to the Ballet Folklorico and loved the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A Deco masterpiece! Murals by Picasso and Tamayo, stained glass, metal work, marble…all beautifully designed and grand.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindaesacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio de Bellas Artes also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palacio de Bellas Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing