We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the service/location, hated the room...”
Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Casona
Ranked #113 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed September 19, 2004

La Casona is in a great location. The service is good. Unfortunately, the room that I was assigned was the WORST HOTEL ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. The room was miniscule, and the only window faced a narrow light shaft, rather than outside, making the room feel even more cramped and clausterphobic. The furnishings appeared to be garage sale finds. There was an oppressive cherub design motif. The television had a 12" screen. I felt as if I had stepped into the twilight zone. On the plus side, however, there were extensive cable TV offerings. And as I walked down the hall on my was to check out the next morning, I was able to survey some of the other rooms. All were nicer than mine had been. Most even had windows... Would I stay there again? It's pretty far down on my list.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HHPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Casona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2004

We stayed for four days at La Casona in May of 2004, and we could not have had a better experience. The staff is extremely helpful and mostly English speaking, the beds are comfortable and rooms cleverly appointed. It is a little bit more off the beaten path and you will have to walk a little or take cabs if you want to get anywhere, but it is not terribly far from the subway, and that can help hasten the journey. If you want to stay somewhere that isn't a chain, La Casona is the place to stay in Mexico City.


Note: my fiancee did get ill eating the cheese on the last day in the breakfast buffet. We don't think it is the kitchen's fault nearly as much as it is the gastrnomic adventure of eating in a country that uses (potentially) unpasturized milk in their food.

1  Thank jayci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2004

La Casona is a very quiet and charming boutique hotel.
Ideally located, it only took us 20 minutes to reach the nearby exciting 'Zona Rosa'.
Our room was very clean and well furnished with 2 large wardrobes and a huge tub.
Breakfasts are gorgeous with fruits, cereals, breads & buns and nature fruit juice.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed this great place!

2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2004

La Casona is now where I always choose to stay in Mexico, having spent 14 nights over three recent trips (may and June of 2004). It has wonderful, quiet rooms furnished with antiques and collectibles. The business center offers free internet access. The staff is very warm and caring, helping in every way they can.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, AB Canada
17
Reviewed June 12, 2003

La Casona was everything we expected from a mid-sized boutique hotel, and was worth every penny. Friendly staff, beautiful, immaculate rooms with huge bath tubs (lots of hot water pressure!), a fresh fruit basket, huge, comfortable bed and air conditioning - all in this gorgeous, character building. Our room overlooked the small central courtyard/dining area, and peaceful water fountain. The breakfast part of the B&B was more than adequate - cereals, breads, fresh fruit and juices, eggs to order, and the evening meals were fine. If we ever visit the cacophony that is Mexico City again, we will definately reside in the lovely respite of La Casona!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Marcela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank viniciusritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
336 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#57 of 312 in Mexico City
169 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#51 of 312 in Mexico City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#117 of 312 in Mexico City
33 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
150 reviews
Condesa
Condesa DF
Condesa DF
#150 of 312 in Mexico City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Address: Calle Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $146 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, a small cozy hotel in a central location in the Colonia Roma / Condesa, the hotel represents a new contribution to traditional hospitality. Our Mexico City hotel is devoted to offering comfort and service at a level of excellence for that very special traveller looking for personalized attention, elegance, privacy and comfort in a small, central and exclusive hotel. Built at the beginning of the last century, Hotel La Casona is a mansion with elegant facade, a beautiful patio and has been listed by the National Institute of fine arts in Mexico as a historic monument. It's 29 exclusive hotel rooms, exquisitly furnished, equipted with air conditioning and heating, guarantee all the facilities for contemporary comfort. The strategic location of Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, near Chapultepec Park and Emperor Maximilian's Paseo de la Reforma Avenue, a few minutes walk from the Mexico City Anthropology Museum, offers our hotel guests the possibility of organizing different activities in the city, without getting involved in the bustle of the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Mexico City
Hotel La Casona Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing