We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Stay Anywhere Else in Mexico City?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed August 9, 2014

From the gorgeous, tiffany-style, domed ceiling in reception to the personalized pastry plates and champagne waiting in our room, Gran Hotel CdM welcomed us with grace, elegance, and echoes of another time. Staff were gracious and helpful --- special thanks to Cynthia at the front desk, Fredy and Renato at the door, and Noemi and Sophie for making our rooms sparkle! --- and the location unsurpassed. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Zocalo will be noisier --- but the view and people-watching are wonderful. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CJB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for your review about your latest stay with us as well as your kindly mention about our collaborators labor. At Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico we have a commitment to offer our guests a memorable experience, with a professional and attentive staff that will always assist you with your special needs before, during and after your stay; besides we have different kind of rooms planned according to different requests: rooms with Zocalo View that will be enjoyed by travelers who wants to feel the Mexican City folklore or for travelers who prefer a quieter stay we have rooms with Internal View. We hope to receive you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

Beautiful building. Reminiscent of Grand Colonial MX. Chose a room looking out onto the central plaza. Floor to ceiling windows that opened fully... a wonderful experience. The rooftop restaurant offers an unrestricted view of the government plaza and the cathedral. Only downside is the noise from the plaza, however it makes you feel you are a part of the happenings...



  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

We appreciate your review as well as your preference. The Gran Hotel Ciudad de México impresses from the moment you step inside. An immaculate Tiffany stained-glass ceiling towers five stories above the lobby, while a stunning Louis XV-style chandelier and gilded open elevators add to the elegant ambience, besides our location allows our guests to be part of the facts that are happening around us. Will be a honor to receive you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place is magnificent from the moment you step through the main door opened graciously for you by the polite uniformed doorman. He then escorts you through the old world open foyer area under a beautiful stained glass ceiling,past the canaries in elaborate cages and up to reception.
Once at reception your check in is organised efficiently while you are poured a glass of champagne.Now this is how all hotels should be.
We were guided to our room via the classic wrought iron lift.
We had a Junior suite on the 3rd floor and on the desk area inside when we arrived was a greeting plate of tasty small desserts with a welcome message written in chocolate.
The room is large with a king size bed that you just melt into. There is a safe in the wardrobe,an iron and board,small fridge,mini bar and coffee making. The bathroom is huge,all marble with a shower over the bath,vanity with ample bench top space and toilet.Toiletries are very generous including sewing kit and mouthwash besides the usual soaps,shampoo,body cream,toothbrush and paste.
The bedroom had large opening windows out to the zocalo and across to to the national palace so we had a perfect viewing point to watch the daily flag raising and lowering ceremonies complete with military band and marching.
Breakfast was in the ground floor cafe and offered table service of fresh juices or smoothies,fruit plates,bread baskets,eggs any style with an array of accompaniments,mexican dishes and tea and coffee.
The only down point is the lighting in the room and bathroom is poor.
However, we loved our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jackette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you very much for express your beautiful stay with us. Our main purpose is to offer our guests an amazing and unforgettable experience taking care of every single detail and special need you could request, that is why we have a professional service that will be supporting you before, during and after your stay. As you kindly mentioned, we have rooms with Zocalo View, where you will be witness of a traditional event in the main plaza: Our classical raising flag ceremony. In a near future we will feel proud to receive you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed for a few days. Everything worked perfect. The staff was polite and willing to help all the time. The hotel is well maintained and clean. Our room had a huge flat TV! The only negative comment we have: the rooms are somehow dark and need more light.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 444michailm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

We appreciate your review about your latest stay with us. It was a real pleasure to welcome you, at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico we have beautiful rooms with the amenities you will need such as a 50-inch LCD TV. In a near future we hope we can have the opportunity to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location. I asked for a room on a higher floor upon arrival and was given one (206), breakfast included and delicious. Dinner on roof terrace was also good (loved the cheese fondue), great view from there as well as from our room to the Zocalo. Always entertaining to watch what is happening in the square. We did not have a problem with noise at night. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom with big tub was awesome. I compared prices and the best deal was either on the hotel website or through Orbitz. Very reasonable. The service was excellent - thank you to Sergio, Salvador, Elena, Luis, Jose, Enrique and Cynthia for a great stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you very much for your great comment and share with us your great experience at our hotel. It is a pleasure to offer the best and incredible view of the Zocalo from our deck. One of main values nuesytros is fully customized to provide excellent services to make your stay more pleasant. We will send your kind mention of each of the members of our staff. We will be waiting for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed one night but we received wonderful service from the moment we arrived. All staff we encountered were friendly and informative. The Terraza restaurant serves great food and has a great view of the central square. The staff (we were served by Adam, Alex, and Erik) in the restaurant were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The building itself is beautiful with stained glass on the ceiling and a wonderful ornate elevator. The staff give you more info about the history which is quite interesting. The room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

We appreciate your kind recomendaciíon and commentary. One of our core values is to provide excellent service anticipating your needs to exceed your expectations. It is a pleasure to know that it met our goal, we will get your kind mention of our staff. We will be watching your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location and check out the view from the roof bar. Nice spacious rooms and very friendly staff. ..............................................................
...................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for your visit as your mention we have only 12 rooms overlooking our zocalo, however our internal rooms have the same characteristics of the above so both will make your stay an enjoyable time. Our employees are very pleased to offer a first quality service to our guests. We hope to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,468 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
186 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
947 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $124 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing