We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Centro Historico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save MX$500 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location. I asked for a room on a higher floor upon arrival and was given one (206), breakfast included and delicious. Dinner on roof terrace was also good (loved the cheese fondue), great view from there as well as from our room to the Zocalo. Always entertaining to watch what is happening in the square. We did not have a problem with noise at night. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom with big tub was awesome. I compared prices and the best deal was either on the hotel website or through Orbitz. Very reasonable. The service was excellent - thank you to Sergio, Salvador, Elena, Luis, Jose, Enrique and Cynthia for a great stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Thank you very much for your great comment and share with us your great experience at our hotel. It is a pleasure to offer the best and incredible view of the Zocalo from our deck. One of main values nuesytros is fully customized to provide excellent services to make your stay more pleasant. We will send your kind mention of each of the members of our staff. We will be waiting for your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    376
    81
    22
    26
See reviews for
522
768
141
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed one night but we received wonderful service from the moment we arrived. All staff we encountered were friendly and informative. The Terraza restaurant serves great food and has a great view of the central square. The staff (we were served by Adam, Alex, and Erik) in the restaurant were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The building itself is beautiful with stained glass on the ceiling and a wonderful ornate elevator. The staff give you more info about the history which is quite interesting. The room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
We appreciate your kind recomendaciíon and commentary. One of our core values is to provide excellent service anticipating your needs to exceed your expectations. It is a pleasure to know that it met our goal, we will get your kind mention of our staff. We will be watching your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holanda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location and check out the view from the roof bar. Nice spacious rooms and very friendly staff. ..............................................................
...................................

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thanks for your visit as your mention we have only 12 rooms overlooking our zocalo, however our internal rooms have the same characteristics of the above so both will make your stay an enjoyable time. Our employees are very pleased to offer a first quality service to our guests. We hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Gran Hotel in July. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly. The Terrace Restaurant gives a breathtaking view over the historical Constitution Plaza. The waiters and managers at the Terrace Restaurant are very efficient and kind, particularly Adan and Alex. Adan and Alex at the Terrace Restaurant delivered high quality service beyond what they were expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hsin-hao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Thank you share with us your great experience and let us know that our staff managed to create a unique experience through excellent service. We are also pleased to know that you enjoy the wonderful view from our terrace. We will be very happy to have her visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check with no extra charges. The restaurantAmazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check out with no extra charges. The restaurant view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept. view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about your stay and for sharing with us your own pictures in Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico. We really appreciate that you accepted the recommendation of your companion and gave us the great pleasure to host you during your stay. As you kindly mentioned both of the Restaurants served delicious courses and it is very interesting t visit them. Both of them offer different kind if food, ambience and street view or a more panoramic view from Restaurante La Terraza. We will be glad to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the Zocalo. It is built in a grand colonial style and the main atrium is very impressive. I liked the period elevators (the old caged style elevators where the attendant pushes a handle) and the high ceiling both in the rooms and public places. The terrace restaurant gives you a great view of the main square and cathedral.
Food is not exceptional but then you don't stay at this hotel for the food - there are better places to sample that. Breakfast was the same - nothing to speak of......I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are happy to know that Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico accomplished your expectations. Hosting in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is an unforgettable experience since the entrance. The decoration, the marvelous Tiffany stained glass ceiling, the quality of the service and the warm treatment from all the staff are combined in order to offer you the best stay in Mexico City. We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I really enjoy the breakfast included with room, the waiters were really nice and polite in the cafeteria. And the views of the room were perfect. Also the welcome details were a nice gesture. Totally recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Is decorous to know that you enjoyed everything in the Hotel. Our decoration is made according “Art Nouveau Style”, as ceiling El Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico has a Tiffany stained glass, the building is considered the most beautiful and sumptuous of the capital city. Talking about our location, it is very convenient for our guest because it is in the heart of the Capital. It is easy to reach from here by walking many interesting restaurants, museums, and important touristic places . It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#16 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing