We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from the start!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed one night but we received wonderful service from the moment we arrived. All staff we encountered were friendly and informative. The Terraza restaurant serves great food and has a great view of the central square. The staff (we were served by Adam, Alex, and Erik) in the restaurant were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The building itself is beautiful with stained glass on the ceiling and a wonderful ornate elevator. The staff give you more info about the history which is quite interesting. The room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

We appreciate your kind recomendaciíon and commentary. One of our core values is to provide excellent service anticipating your needs to exceed your expectations. It is a pleasure to know that it met our goal, we will get your kind mention of our staff. We will be watching your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location and check out the view from the roof bar. Nice spacious rooms and very friendly staff. ..............................................................
...................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for your visit as your mention we have only 12 rooms overlooking our zocalo, however our internal rooms have the same characteristics of the above so both will make your stay an enjoyable time. Our employees are very pleased to offer a first quality service to our guests. We hope to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Gran Hotel in July. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly. The Terrace Restaurant gives a breathtaking view over the historical Constitution Plaza. The waiters and managers at the Terrace Restaurant are very efficient and kind, particularly Adan and Alex. Adan and Alex at the Terrace Restaurant delivered high quality service beyond what they were expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hsin-hao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Thank you share with us your great experience and let us know that our staff managed to create a unique experience through excellent service. We are also pleased to know that you enjoy the wonderful view from our terrace. We will be very happy to have her visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check with no extra charges. The restaurantAmazing hotel. Extremely friendly crew (thanks Cynthia and Beatriz). They let us made a late check out with no extra charges. The restaurant view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept. view is atonishing at night. A marvelous decoration. have only one complaint: the bed was very uncomfortable. Head position was far below the position of the feet. There was a depression at the shoulders. also happened in the sofa bed where our kids slept.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rodrigo329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your review about your stay and for sharing with us your own pictures in Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico. We really appreciate that you accepted the recommendation of your companion and gave us the great pleasure to host you during your stay. As you kindly mentioned both of the Restaurants served delicious courses and it is very interesting t visit them. Both of them offer different kind if food, ambience and street view or a more panoramic view from Restaurante La Terraza. We will be glad to welcome you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the Zocalo. It is built in a grand colonial style and the main atrium is very impressive. I liked the period elevators (the old caged style elevators where the attendant pushes a handle) and the high ceiling both in the rooms and public places. The terrace restaurant gives you a great view of the main square and cathedral.
Food is not exceptional but then you don't stay at this hotel for the food - there are better places to sample that. Breakfast was the same - nothing to speak of......I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

We are happy to know that Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico accomplished your expectations. Hosting in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is an unforgettable experience since the entrance. The decoration, the marvelous Tiffany stained glass ceiling, the quality of the service and the warm treatment from all the staff are combined in order to offer you the best stay in Mexico City. We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I really enjoy the breakfast included with room, the waiters were really nice and polite in the cafeteria. And the views of the room were perfect. Also the welcome details were a nice gesture. Totally recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Is decorous to know that you enjoyed everything in the Hotel. Our decoration is made according “Art Nouveau Style”, as ceiling El Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico has a Tiffany stained glass, the building is considered the most beautiful and sumptuous of the capital city. Talking about our location, it is very convenient for our guest because it is in the heart of the Capital. It is easy to reach from here by walking many interesting restaurants, museums, and important touristic places . It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Perfect location and exceptional service. I particularly liked the things the staff did to make you feel so welcome; nightly newsletter, home made chocolates each night, the arrival drink and the smiles and greetings each time we came back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AP123904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

All your positive comments let us know that you completely enjoyed your stay and we are very satisfy about this. For us is very important to deliver the service you deserve. We are very glad knowing that you enjoyed the entire decoration, service, location and our Terrace. In your next visit We hardly recommend to take the brunch in our Terrace, served every weekend from 9 in the morning to 6 in the evening. Once again, thanks a lot for your comments and we hope to see you soon here in your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,517 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
972 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $131 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing