We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gran Hotel Mexico City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern Wells
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gran Hotel Mexico City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although the entrance to the hotel is not at all impressive, once you climb the stairs to the fabulous lobby, you can marvel at the balconied interior with its stunning stained glass roof. It must have one of the most attractive interiors of any hotel anywhere. The views over the main square to the Cathedral from the roof top restaurant are stunning. On its own this was worth the money. Our room was spacious, good value and the Wifi works well.

Downside,both breakfasts we had were lukewarm, the air conditioning made the hotel feel cold and I was not impressed by the barman pointingly making me add a tip to the bill. Without exception I always leave a tip but I resent being forced.to do it.
The rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
If you have never been to Mexico City before, this Hotel is in a great position and I would recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, is important to know your experience with us, so we can improve and offer a better service. Your comment has been sent to our Restaurant and we can assure you that this inconvenient will not happen again. As you mentioned we have a wonderful view of the Zocalo, especially from our Restaurante “Terraza”. We hope we can welcome you again, for us will be a pleasure to receive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    428
    90
    24
    28
See reviews for
635
924
161
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The purpose of hotel for me is to find rest and sleep after what is usually a full day of activities. Therefore having a room that sits across from a 6th floor nightclub is horrid. We had a 2 room suite and so i went to opn the foldout couch only to find there was no mattress inside!
The evening staff put us in a quieter room but our things remained in the original room and were told it would be resolved the next morning.
The ne t morning we were toldthere were no other available rooms. I suggestedif they actually put a mattress in the foldout we would be able to manage. The front desk manager Eugine agreed and said hewould takecare of it and offered 2 brunch vouchers for our troubles.
When we arrived back that evening ee found a mattress on the foldout, however the frame was on a xignificant angleso that our heads would be laying below our feet. When I investigated I found that the hotel had stuffed a few pillows below the mattress in an attemp to raise the angle of the mattress. I suppose they ran out of pillow because it didnt work . Frustrated and tired we put the matress on the floor.

I have read the previous reviews and am an avid traveler, however aside from our personal, experience, this hotel is tired and shows its wear, it is in a noise location and the overall service is superficial.

Helpful?
1 Thank aliapis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We appreciate your comments about us, is a chance to identify our opportunity areas. We are deeply sorry to know that this situation affected your rest. Those comments are extremely important so we can work on this and get a better stay for our guests. Every member of our colleagues serves with professionalism and dedication, staff at reception are available for you 24 hours at day; we can assure you that our guest’s satisfaction and comfort is always our most important priority we are working on fixing aspects that you kindly mention so we are taking actions to verify that our foldout and all our furniture will be in the best conditions to receive you. We also hope that you consider visiting us again and give us the opportunity to change your opinion about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here in November 2013, and there was a wedding reception in the lobby that went on until 4 am, sounded like a nightclub with throbbing dance music. Couldn't sleep at all & asked for at least this 1 night of 3 to be refunded and they promised it would, but it never was. Complete scam, avoid this hotel at all cost. It used to be a good place 20 years when we used to stay, but now it seems they care more about being a nightclub than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 5cense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to know that this situation disturbed your sleep on your stay. As per the noise issue in our internal event, we usually offer our guests, who inform us that they desire a more peaceful stay, an internal silence room when the availability allows it. Your comments give us an opportunity to identify details s that we can improve to offer you the excellent service you deserve. We can assure you that our guest’s satisfaction is our priority. We hope you provide us the chance to welcome you again in the future and change your opinion about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel features the most amazing glass ceiling and lovely old ironwork elevators and balconies. Little birds are nice touches in beautiful old birdcages. Our very spacious room was lovely with a nice sitting area - very comfy chair. We did have a rather funky view of a cement wall painted with a forest. There was a nice turndown service complete with little gifts for each of us.

The molded bathtub was wonderful - perfect for a bath. The bathroom was very large complete with robes. We did find it strange that only two bath towels and two robes were provided for the three of us. When we requested an extra towel, we were told they were out but brought another robe. I also requested a teabag that did not arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always interesting and important for us to know our guests opinion. As you mentioned, we have a beautiful Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908 besides our panoramic elevators from the beginning of the 20th century and a wonderful view from the Zocalo. We can assure you that we take all your comments on mind in order that we can improve our quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband, toddler and i had to stay one night and part of the day in Mexico city on our way back home. This hotel was a great decision! It has a great location, rooms were super comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer!
Our flight was delayed so we requested a late check-out, which we were given at a very reasonable price. The receptionist was very kind and understanding and everyone at the hotel made sure we were comfortable and well attended till the last minute. Both restaurants were great, both with very good food and both with great service.
Only low point was that we did not get a sleeping cot for my daughter, but luckily the bed was more than wide enough for the 3 of us.
We will definetely be returning there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your preference, it is glad to know that your stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico was satisfactory to you. Our main priorities are providing you an excellent service and give you memorable moments. We have two restaurants which offer delicious meals “Café Ciudad de Mexico” with an executive menu and “La Terraza” with an amazing view from the Zocalo. To us will be a honor to welcome you on your next visit to Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I would highly recommend this place to every one coming to Mexico city!

Close to most places you need to go in the city. They also have garage available so it is a great plus.

Marco, Minerva, Moises, Roberto are all very very helpful. When I arrived at the hotel in my rental car at 11:30 pm, and I couldn't find the parking, Macro helped me find the place and told me lots of things around the city.

I enjoyed this place a lot and would go again!

Room Tip: The room I stayed is next to their laundry facility, so I could hear the machine running all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidyin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We would like to thank you for your review. Is a great honor to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. For all our staff is a pleasure to attend you with all your needs, we appreciate your kind mention about my colleagues work. On your next visit to Mexico City will be an honor to receive you again, maybe you will be interested in one of our Zocalo View Rooms, which has a wonderful view and where by morning you can appreciate from your own room one of the most representative and unique civic events: The raising flag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had the better part of a day and overnight to wait for my flight from Mexico City, so I booked this hotel on line and got a reasonable rate. Good decision. Beautiful lobby & ceiling, perfect location on the zocalo, helpful staff and very comfortable room. I enjoyed a great day in Mexico City. It was noisy in the room at some points as I was on the 2nd floor near the street, but besides that I had a good experience here.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room higher up to be away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We appreciate your kind review. It is an honor to know that your stay with us was satisfactory, because our main mission is the total satisfaction of our guests. As you mentioned we have a beautiful lobby with an authentic “Art Nouveau” Style and an amazing Tiffany stained glass ceiling. About the noise that you kindly mentioned, we would like to tell you that recently, “16 de Septiembre Avenue” is being renewed and in a few days this iconic street will become one of the most important corridors of the Historic Center and the nation's capital. There have been inconvenience due to the noise, but this is about to be finished and ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing