We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in the heart of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The Gran Hotel is quaint and lovely. The lobby has a beautiful stained glass ceiling which attracts many hotel guests and tourists alike. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a great rooftop bar/restaurant which overlooks the Zocalo-A MUST for a great photo opportunity!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your preference! We are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and its amenities, along with “La Terraza” Restaurant, the Zocalo View and the convenience of our location. We look forward to welcome you soon to enjoy an extensive range of beverages with live piano music in “Piano Bar” located on our hotel´s lobby and opened from 18:00 to 23:00 hrs (Wednesday to Saturday).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,977 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel takes you back in time. Its interior is amazing and shows attention to detail from the entrance hall all the way up to your room.

The bedrooms are elegant and cosy without lacking the comfort of modern technology.

The service is good, efficient and everyone was really friendly and professional.

The location is perfect, especially if you visit Mexico City for the first time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are very pleased to read such a rewarding review and we are satisfied that your experience was above expectations. It is very pleasant to know that you enjoyed the services, amenities and location of our hotel. In your next visit we definitely recommend you to visit the Teotihuacan Pyramids with our specialized tourist guides. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in room 408. It was quiet. The Sheets were crisp and Heavenly.
One evening the boiler had problems which made the bath water warm. We asked for a discount and they gave us 2 free breakfasts and 1 dinner on the rooftop. The Dinner was a Grand Evening on the rooftop overlooking the Zocalo. We were able to view the ceremony of the Mexican Flag being lowered. I had a Delicious breakfast of 2 poached eggs with hollandaise sauce at the restaurant downstairs. I believe it was the best breakfast we had in Mexico.
It is almost essential to stay at this hotel during this time. The teachers are striking along with the university students. This Hotel is off limits to these strikers since it is heavily guarded by the police. I never felt afraid or concerned. The staff at the hotel was the Friendliest and Most Helpful we experienced on the trip. BE SURE TO SEE THE BALLET at the Theatre. It is not really a Ballet but is actually dancing from different eras in Mexican history. BREATHTAKING !!!
It is important not to stay on the Reforma during this strike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovestoTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is very important for us to know that despite the drawbacks, Reception and Concierge department were able to offer a solution to the situation. There are some events that we can´t control but for us is essential to correct every single detail during your stay and guarantee you a memorable experience. Fortunately the strike has now ended so everything has returned to normality around. Be sure we will be always ready to fix any inconvenience on your stay in order to achieve your complete satisfaction every time.

We hope this will be the first of many vacations you spend with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm looking out from my balcony at dozens of tents and thousands of police. Can't enter square at all. Blocked at every entrance by huge police presence.
Picture on web looks nice but it's not the normal case these days.
Check before booking. In the best room. Master suite. Carpet needs attention, drapes are broken, air conditioner doesn't work well and the entrance area you online and in brochures is non existent. Our has a cheap couch (not leather like photo) with no pillows and one crappy lamp.
Location is perfect if no problems in the square but lobby is nicer than rooms that need attention.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We feel very sorry to know you felt towards that on your last stay.
Due to the latest environmental disasters in Mexican Republic the government organized a “food supplies collect”. This collect took place in the capital main square “Zocalo” and it has been extremely successful. And during this situation the “Zocalo” was guarded by the police and the panoramic view changed.
Also for our guest´s tranquility, we happen to have a Live Zocalo Camera link on our website which can be consulted by anyone 24 hours a day.
As for our rooms, we have already alerted our Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager to check for the details you mention. We are astonished about them since we do count with A/C equipments on every room and we are currently on the process of planning buying new carpets for the entire Hotel. Nevertheless be sure our colleagues are already verifying all your kind observations and will provide the necessary preventive or corrective measurement.
We dearly hope to receive you again on a different context since we believe next time your opinion will be very different. Thank you for your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 4 memorable days in this beautiful turn of the century hotel, built in breathtaking art nouveau style. It is located right on the Zocalo, the central square of Mexico City.

Or room was spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean.

Best of all was the friendliness of the staff. Always helpful and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Or waiter at breakfast deserves a special mention: Estefan really seems to like his job. Aways with a smile on his face, he made sure we had a good start into each of our days in the city.

Next time we go to Mexico we will certainly check into the Gran Hotel again!

Room Tip: Junior suites face the Zocalo and might be a bit noisy in the evening (but things quiet down after 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan_tgM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay in Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico, and appreciated staff service. It is very nice that you remember Esteban´s attitude and service, this talks very well about his eagerness and performance.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we all look forward to welcoming you back for a longer holiday at “Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perfect location to explore the historic old city. Lots of the main sights within walking distance. The stunning Art Deco Tiffany style glass roof over the four story atrium is highlight feature of the interior of the hotel. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking the Zocalo is a great addition if you don't want to venture out again after sightseeing all day. Staff at reception were very helpful especially Cynthia who was friendly and very efficient. The room I stayed was large, clean and well appointed and very good value if you book in advance on the hotel website. If you don't have breakfast at the hotel there is a little Mexican coffee shop next door that makes a great cappuccino.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex62sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that you liked our “Tiffany” stained glass ceiling from 1908 and our unique service. It is also pleasing to hear that you loved our location with its wide selection of fantastic tourist attractions reachable by foot. Booking in advance by our official website, as you ingeniously did, is an excellent option to get interesting rates for your upcoming stay.
All of us look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Historic building, right on the Zocalo square, with a stained glass roof over the lobby designed by Tiffany in 1908! The 6th floor Terrace restaurant has a great view of the large plaza with its beautiful buildings. We enjoyed the hotel very much, and were pleased by the courteous treatment from all the staff! Alicia of Guest Services even sent us several emails in advance with helpful info on the hotel and the city! Though we had paid a bargain price for our 3 night stay, we were treated royally. We definitely recommend Gran Hotel!

Room Tip: We liked our room with a view of the Zocalo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolen_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are extremely happy to know you had such a wonderful time during your stay.

The location of Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico is unbeatable. It is just in the main square of downtown and near from “Fine Arts Museum”, “La Torre Latinoamericana” and many interesting places that must be visited. Thank you for your special mention about our colleague. She as Concierge Online, is aimed to give advice and support to the guests to organize your upcoming stay! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
226 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,541 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#4 of 313 in Mexico City
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $140 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing