We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Everything about this hotel is 1st class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 303 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything about this hotel is 1st class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got a great deal at this hotel by booking well in advance. We paid about $110/night for a Junior Suite that was going for almost $300 when we arrived. Our experience couldn't have been better - a large, well-designed room overlooking El Zócalo, good service, and very tasty breakfast options included with our room. This is the spot to stay if you want to be in el centro histórico!

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars for a Junior Suite - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We appreciate very much your comments. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay. As you mention it is very interesting to book in advance, because we have special discounts when booking 90, 60 and 21 days before. Also in our official website you can check and reserve “extra amenities” for your upcoming stay as transportation, tours, breakfast and many other ones. Gran Hotel de La Ciudad de Mexico has Suites with internal view, but the most wonderful ones are those ones that face to El Zocalo. We hope you visit us again, I t will be a pleasure to welcome you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    385
    84
    22
    27
See reviews for
549
788
143
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were met at the airport by a charming driver and his greeting set the tone for the rest of the week. We were very kindly upgraded to a large suite overlooking the square which was amazing as is the whole hotel. The setting and interior of the hotel is just wonderful. The reception staff were excellent with their knowledge and help- breakfast in the cafe was also very good with very helpful, pleasant staff. Just one very minor comment is that it would have been helpful to have somewhere more confortable to sit in the lobby especially while waiting to be picked up for our flight-the lobby bar disappeared while we were there! Once again the reception staff were as helpful finding us somewhere to wait.

Room Tip: facing the square was amazing but a bit noisey because of all the activities going on in the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We feel very happy to know you enjoyed the view. As you mentioned, the main square is a lively touristic area form where you can enjoy the Mexican folklore in the city´s hearth. Nevertheless we also have internal view rooms for our guests who desire a more peaceful stay.
We also appreciate a lot your kind comment. It is a shame that you were not able to enjoy a drink from our Lobby bar since it ones from Wednesday to Sunday from 13 to 23 hours. We believe your departure did not match this schedule, which is why we dearly extend the most courteous invitation to visit it next time. We are sure you will not regret it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After a slight hiccup with getting picked up at the airport (which they MORE than made up for), we had an excellent time at this hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. The giant birdcages with singing canaries was a special, brilliant extra benefit to the great ambiance of the lobby. I still miss those lilting canary melodies (Muzak circa the turn of the LAST century). Excellent staff with WAY more english than our spanish. The location in the heart of historic downtown, close to many must-see places of interest. Alas, no pool, but we really didn't miss having one, there is SO MUCH to do in D.F. We WILL return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9thWardDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for taking some time to recommend El Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico. It is important for us that you enjoyed your stay from the beginning of your trip with our “pick up service” which was waiting for you at the moment of your arrival. It is nice to know that you found our location, decoration and our staff´s professionalism perfect. The singing canaries in the lobby give some nature ambience over there. As you said Mexico City has a huge variety of things to do, it is the city with more museums in the world!! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

On our way to Cancun, we stopped in Mexico City to experience the classical and historical Mexico. We got it with our stay at the Gran Hotel. The hotel itself is a remarkable sight for visitors. While there we noticed a number of tourists visit the entry of the hotel to take photos of the open central area with the stained glass ceiling and wrought iron elevator shafts at both ends of the hotel. This scene is portrayed in a number of travel books including DK. Built at the turn of the last century, the hotel maintains the old world charm we were looking for.

The location is excellent. It is just a 30-45 minute ride to the airport, depending on traffic, at about 220P or $17. And of course it is right on the Zocalo, the center square of town. On the square are three sights - the Metro Cathedral (take the elevator to the top for a nice view- every half hour), the Templo Mayor (probably the best example of Aztec ruins), and the National Palace (the Diego Rivera murals were closed to the public at the time). You are also within walking distance to the Fine Arts Palace, the Latin Tower (worth the elevator ride to the top to get a panoramic view of the moiuntains and active volcanos around the city) and some good restaurants (we found the Sanborns de los Azulejos better than the Cafe Taculba although both came highly recommended).

You can also walk to Chapultepec and the Anthropology Museum (world class) along Juarez and Reforma avenues but it will take an hour or so - the subway gets you there in minutes for less than 50 cents.

The hotel has very good breakfasts on the second floor overlooking part of the Zocalo and lunch and dinners are on the top floor with much better views. The service is excellent with a staff that is extremely friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcome and appreciated.

Room Tip: The highlight of our trip was an excursion to Teotihuacan - the pyramids of a culture that is older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for all your comments; we are sure they will be very useful for our next visitors. Like you kindly mention, our location is an advantage for our guests since there are so many interesting things to do nearby. The best example is Templo Mayor, which used to be the absolute center of the religious Aztec life. There is also a huge variety of Restaurants, at the top of the hotel there is our restaurant La Terraza with an amazing view of the Zocalo. For us is a pleasure to receive our guests and we really look forward to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Last week I spent four nights at this beautiful hotel. My stay was perfect, as usual. I always stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico; it is my favorite. The service is always excellent. The hotel is gorgeous, and the staff is very courteous. The location is also great. I can walk to several museums and places of interest. The hotel is located close to many restaurants, plus its own restaurant has an excellent view of the Cathedral, the Zócalo, and the National Palace. I always recommend it to everyone who is traveling to D.F.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors are more quiet. There is an exercise room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBeckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so proud to know that we are the first Hotel that comes into your mind when you think about visiting Mexico. We really appreciate your preference. As you mentioned, our location is is very favorable since it is very easy to reach many interesting places from here. But the most amazing view that you can see is in our Restaurant “La Terraza”. There you can enjoy your meal and at the same time appreciate The National Palace and the beautiful Cathedral. We have also Junior Suites and Master Suites with the same astonishing view. Thank you again for your preference and we look forward to welcome you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just left this hotel yesterday, very beautiful and clean, the hotel is in a excellent location in the city's historic district. Mostly everything is close by. The service was great, the employee Salvador was very nice and helpful, overall Loved it and would definitely recommend it and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share those words, we really appreciate them a lot. Be sure we will pass on your kind comments to Salvador since our staff is always working hard to make our guests feel comfortable. It is nice to know you are considering to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the building itself is spectacular. Huge, airy and the ceiling must be seen. We only stayed a couple nights in room 321 for our family of 4. The room is off the main atrium and does not face out to the zocalo but we got a very low rate off a booking engine. The room was great and probably twice the size of a typical room. Even the adjacent building out the windows had been draped in a massive forrest mural to prevent staring at a brick wall (nice touch).
The location is just as impressive, being on one corner of the zocalo. There is absolutely no need to stay on reforma or zona rosa when the Gran is available. The main pedestrian mall is one block over. Restaurants abound. The staff were equal to the property and its location. All in all, we had a 5 star experience albeit a short one.
You must go to El Cardenal for breakfast. It is the #1 restaurant on TA for good reason. Amazing what one gets in mexico outside the resort destinations.
I would not take the Turibus if i had to do it over. Just too much traffic and the highlights for me were all within a stroll of the hotel. We thought as we only had one day...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaMoctezuma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is very flattering to know that you enjoyed everything in the Hotel. Our decoration is made according “Art Nouveau Style” and, due to this; our building is considered one of the most beautiful and sumptuous of the capital city. Talking about our location, it is very convenient for our guest because it is in the heart of the Capital. It is easy to reach from here by walking many interesting restaurants, museums, and important touristic places. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 303 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#4 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing