We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think carefully about this location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #5 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
London
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Think carefully about this location”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've just checked out of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As all the reviews here indicate, its a grand old beautiful old hotel. The decor of the rooms are a bit dated, but everything is spotless (but they need to work on their wifi power in the rooms).

The location of this hotel is also perfect for Temple Mayor, Palacio Nacional, Zocalo, etc. However, the place is a bit of a 'no mans land' if you like to go out in the evening. The streets are desolate and there is little in the way of bars and restaurants.

My time in MC was split in two halves. The first was in the fashionable neighbourhood of Condesa (also near Zona Rosa). It is central and we were very fortunate to be able to walk out of our hotel of an evening and have a choice of places to have a drink, an ice cream, and have several choices of al fresco dining. It was also very safe (the area around Gran Hotel isn't unsafe, but dark and 'closed').

If your choice is to stay in the hotel for dinner then you are probably fine. the rooftop buffet bar didn't look to be up to much (nor the keyboard player) but the views are splendid. If you are staying book a table for the 6:00pm lowering of the flag.

Good luck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidtinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
We appreciate your comment and your kind remarks
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you were able to explore the city center and other areas. We are also pleased it you enjoyed the wonderful views from our balcony. It will be a pleasure to have your visit ag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,016
    447
    92
    26
    29
See reviews for
736
996
173
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The tripadvisor reviews and information described just the kind of place I really like. It is as stunning art nouveau as hoped and more. It is definitely one of my favorite hotels ever.

We booked a tour and tickets to a performance (last minute) at the Palacio de Bella Artes without drama. All the staff was great, and If you are lucky, the delightful Cynthia at front desk will be there to help.

It may not be hotel's fault, but the wi-fi drops off and needs to be signed-in over and over. Even when my iPhone simply went to standby. Not a deal breaker, but very irritating.

We were lucky to have dinner one night in the Terraza Resturant-Bar with a beautiful view of the historical center! It was only open one night during our visit, but not to be missed if possible.

For such an old historical hotel, it must have had a functional renovation, as everything seemed to work quite efficiently.

The location could not be better; you could do a whole vacation within walking distance of hotel.

Room Tip: A friend mentioned street noise, but our interior room was totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our stylish and comfortable rooms and our staff has provided you with a friendly and attentive service. It will be a pleasure to have her visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Some friends and I recently stayed at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico for a week while we explored the cultural sites of Mexico City. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Walking into the lobby you are transported to another age, the magnificent glass ceiling is not to be believed. Our rooms were spacious, reasonable and it is perfectly located – if you enjoy being in the heart of the old city. Just steps away from the Zocalo, we were able to walk to the Diego Rivera murals (not to be missed), the Palacio Postal and the Palacio de Bellas Artes. But overall, I would say it was the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. They were professional and personable, assisting us in multiple ways.
As for sightseeing - Mexico City is loaded with culture and most everything we did met or went beyond our expectations. Just to mention one - we spend an entire day at the Anthropology Museum and had time allowed would have returned for a second visit. But there were a couple of disappointments. I do not recommend the city tour on the “Hop On Hop Off” bus. Because of the traffic, it crawls through the city streets, the commentary on a loud speaker is in Spanish, poorly scripted and very loud, making it difficult to hear the English version on head phones. Frankly, we were bored. A second disappointment was the well-known and highly touted restaurant Izote de Patricia Quintana. Several people had recommended it to us and we thought it would be a highlight. To the contrary, the food was mediocre at best and it was very expensive. We had much better food and much better service at a reasonable cost at a little restaurant called Fonda Refugio in The Zona Rosa.
To end on a high note, one museum that we had not been aware of prior to our visit is the Soumaya Museum. It is the collection of Mexican billionaire, Carlos Slim, and it is an amazing collection. No entry fee. And, despite some pre-trip concerns about violence, we never for a moment felt fearful. People were very friendly and we felt comfortable and safe walking the streets.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are the most spacious. Not all have a view however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
We appreciate the time you took to write your kind comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and you can appreciate the beauty of our Stained Glass Tiffany, also we are glad that our staff has provided an attentive and friendly service and thanks to our great location you could visit the main tourist attractions of the city. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this place twice in the last 2 years and both experiences have been remarkably similar; with some sort of party (this past Saturday, a wedding) that goes to all hours of the night (in the most recent case, 4 am) with live band. While they are nice enough to forewarn you of the impending cacophony by putting a flyer under your door and telling you that, if you want, you can come to reception to get earplugs, the earplugs don't really muffle the pounding bass, and I don't think I should be shoving earplugs in to sleep at this class of hotel.. The open atrium layout of the hotel does not help in any way. Maybe a mid-week stay would be a better experience.

It's a beautiful hotel in a great location and the weekend brunch on the rooftop restaturant is wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanesTrainsEtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your comment. Sorry you have had this problem during your stay, you will be monitored to avoid such situations subtract in the future. We look forward to your visit again and we can provide a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon our arrival in Mexico City, we stayed at this centrally located hotel, steps from the Zocalo and the many attractions in the Centro Historico. Our room was large and very well-appointed; it was also very quiet at night.
The Tiffany glass ceiling in the lobby is stunning. We were quite amazed at its size and colour. The antique elevators are also works of art.
In the evening, we ascended to the cafe where we took in the view over the Zocalo, towards the Palacio National and other governments buildings; in the morning, we enjoyed a delicious and healthy breakfast in the hotel restaurant.
All in all, this is a fabulous place, and what made it even better, is that we were able to get the room for a very reasonable price! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and his great recommendation, in fact we have a prime location in the heart of the city and surrounded by several tourist attractions. We are glad you could appreciate the beauty of our Stained Glass Tiffany and our staff has given you a nexcelente service. We hope to visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamander
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

So this is a great hotel -- get a view of the Zocalo, preferably from the top floor (of course, it will be a little noisy but the sights and sounds are fascinating, in our opinion). I'll focus here however on the service, with just two examples. We changed money at a cambio near the hotel. The next day, we learned that two of the bills ($500, $200 -- pesos) were counterfeit. Upset, we spoke to the concierge, who marveled for a bit at how good the counterfeits were, then accompanied one of us to the cambio and explained the situation, whereupon they rectified it with no questions asked. Another example -- when we checked out (having carefully checked the room to be sure we left nothing behind), the desk called someone and they checked the room too -- apparently a routine procedure. Anyway, they turned up a phone charger we had somehow overlooked. Cool, eh? Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that was his appreciation of our restaurant terrace with the best view of the Zocalo. For us it is very important to provide excellent service to make your stay more pleasant. It will be an honor to have her visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On the historic Zocalo, this gorgeous hotel serves a wonderful breakfast, concierge services. Feel like Maximilian! If you like stained glass and opulent architecture, you'll like the extravagant bird cages, the cool feel of the foyer and the access to the most important tourist destinations just across the square. Yes, Mexico City is a walkable historic museum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shep38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
We appreciate your wonderful words, we are pleased to read that our staff provided a great service and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Art Nouveau style and our elegant rooms. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
745 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 310 in Mexico City
635 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,309 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 310 in Mexico City
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing