We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old-fashioned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
St Remy de Provence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic old-fashioned hotel”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The 'Gran' is the epitome of old world classical hotels. Entering the main foyer you are struck by the grandeur of the breathtaking atrium with its Tiffany glazed roof. The original elevators are charming working antiques from a bygone era. The staff are incredibily helpful and friendly. Our room and bathroom was of a very high standard. Breakfasts offered a wide choice of Mexican, American or Continental cuisine.
Well situated closeby the Zocalo in the Centro Historico.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scirocco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased to have been of your total satisfaction the Art Nouveau style of our hotel and our Stained Glass Tiffany, as well as our exclusive and elegant rooms, our priority is to provide excellent service. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    453
    93
    26
    29
See reviews for
760
1,013
174
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, NY, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Found everything to our liking..friendly service and most helpful. Clean and nicely old fashioned rooms with free wi-fi. Also, included was a simple American style breakfast (fresh squeezed juice, fruit plate, pastries and eggs w/bacon any style).
Location and view also perfect.
Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Had a large sunny suite #106
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesyl167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you for your comment and even more his kind recommendation is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your stay in our comfortable and elegant rooms and our staff have provided excellent service. We hope to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Beautiful architecture especially inside, it is truly a local attraction in addition to very good accommodation. Excellent location and value. Right next to the main square at the center of Mexico City (Zocalo).

Room Tip: Get a room with view of Zocalo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased to read that was to his liking the beautiful architecture of our hotel in Art Nouveau style and modern comfort and service of our staff. It will be a pleasure to have your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is situated right on the Zocalo. From some of the windows you can see raising of the flag (we did!). The hotel is an attraction itself - superb Tiffany certified glass roof. It is right in the heart of the Centro Historico. Loads of restaurants are around. Excellent choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and that the location was convenient for you. Maybe for your next visit you would like to visit also our Roof top Terrace restaurant. It is a very popular choice among our guests from which we would love to know your opinion about. We hope to count with that privilege soon. Thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, which is located right on the Zocalo. We had reserved 3 nights in advance. Our plane from the US was delayed by 8 hours, so we checked in at 5am, totally exhausted. The front desk staff were right there waiting for us and got us settled in immediately. The room was small but very nice. The bed was extremley comfortable. The hotel itself is a treasure, you have to see it. But most importantly, the front desk personnel are fantastic. They speak English and were always helpful, going out of their way to answer questions. On one occasion, my husband and I wanted to find out which bus to take to see the pyramids. They informed us a tour had just left, and before we could be disappointed, made several phone calls and got us hooked up with the tour. There was a big demonstration that day and all the streets were blocked, so they personally walked us to the spot where our driver would transport us to the tour group. On and beyond the call of service. Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for your nice words. We felt really glad to know that our partners always helped you and that you have happy memories of the service that you received.
We dearly appreciate your comments because they inspire us to keep offering the best service and attentions to all of our kind visitors. Therefore we sincerely hope to have the privilege of receiving you again. It will always be our pleasure to receive you with the biggest smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel in a great location on the Zocolo. Met all our expectations. Staff courteous and very helpful. Spacious rooms with wi-fi. Beds could have been more comfortable. Too hard. Excellent coffee shop and roof-top dining lounge. Bar off the lobby and a very nice restaurant on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Catherine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We feel really happy to know that we met all of your expectations and that you were able to try our food services. Regarding our beds we would like to mention that sometimes our guests may find them extra firm because they happen to contain orthopedic special mattresses. In these cases we feel happy to offer them some pillows from our Special Pillow Menu so they can have a comfortable rest more suited to their particular preferences. We dearly hope to receive you again sometime; maybe you would like to try this service for your next stay. We will always appreciate the opportunity to attend you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A tourist attraction unto itself...a visual treat but reasonable & good value, great location (glad we stayed in historic centro are on our 1st visit anyway- most historic things to see are here, lots restaurants, all walkable); staff very helpful relocating us to another room the night of a nosiy plaza concert (us leaving early the next day); beds kinda hard but experienced this elsewhere in Mexico; one room we were in a/c strained a bit to keep room cool; only annoying issue was on check-out final room bill had tip added in daily for b-fast that came with room- we had left a tip on the table daily for waitstaff---this really needs to be clarified with guests upfront.

Room Tip: Its a difficult trade-off...the rooms overlooking the plaza have an amazing view with door sized win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHavenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment us. As you kindly mention, our location is very favorable for tourists since there are many interesting places to visit nearby. It is also good to know that you enjoyed staying in our internal rooms, which are the perfect choice for guests who desire a peaceful and quiet experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again since it will always be our privilege to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 310 in Mexico City
1,397 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
768 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,328 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 310 in Mexico City
639 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 310 in Mexico City
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing