We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Nearby Hotels
$352
$279
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Maria Condesa(Mexico City)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Alcobas(Mexico City)
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
$129
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
W Mexico City(Mexico City)
$285
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stanza(Mexico City)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,210)
Filter reviews
3,210 results
Traveler rating
2,569
484
99
29
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,569
484
99
29
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelterrace restauranttiffany glass ceilingtiffany styleart nouveauoverlooking the squarejose luiswrought ironnational palacedepartment storemaster suitetemplo mayormetropolitan cathedralmain plazatop floorhistoric buildingthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,485 - 1,490 of 3,210 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in February 2012. In many ways, the Hotel sells; superb location (directly on the Zocalo, in the heart of the city), stunning architecture and decor and effortlessly comfortable rooms. As such, it is a superb base from which to explore the city and surrounding areas. The incredibly friendly reception staff can assist in this, and we'd highly recommend the trip to Teotihuacan that runs from there. This lasts for a full day, and takes in a decent restaurant and the Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe. Miguel, the tour guide, really looks after his guests, and very kindly posted our phrasebook on to us in Cuernavaca after we left it on the bus. We particularly have to thank Rafael Vellejo and Jose Luis Valadez for their help with that, too.

The only negative to report is the Hotel restaurant, which is best avoided. It offers average food, expensively priced. Moreover, we were shocked when our server, Pascual, took the credit card reader off us when we tried to pay so that he could increase the tip we were proposing to leave him. This understandably undercut the otherwise welcoming reception from Israel, the restaurant manager.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms overlook the street to some degree, and we found that earplugs were needed. However, this was a small price to pay for the excellent location.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thank you about the sincere words. We feel very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that the rooms and the tour were both of your likeness. We also thank you for letting us know about this incident you mention with the waiter as this is, of course, an inacceptable behavior. The procedure applied when a guest asks to pay with a credit card is that the Bank Terminal is taken directly to the guests table in order to make the charge right there at his sight. The tips are optional; even though it is usual to leave a 10% or 15% percent here in Mexico, that is not obliged and every person is free to leave what he considers fair.
We have talked with our colleague, and we assure you that this situation will happen no more. Please consider giving us the chance to attend you again at our Terrace, we are sure that next time you will find a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Gran Hotel has one of the most beautiful large foyers in art deco style you can imagine and an unbeatable location on Mexico´s main square, the Zocalo, with in walking distance many of the main sights of Mexico, not only the cathedral and palace, and the archeological excavations of former Tenochtitlan`s main palace, but also the Opera House Bellas Artes (10 minutes) or the Franz Mayer museum (a must, 15 minutes to walk) etc. A metro station is on the Zocalo. Some good and very original restaurants (more drugstore like the beautiful Opera Cafe, or the House of Tiles, better restaurants as the cafe Tacuba and los Girasoles - both in nearby Tacuba street) are equally in walking distance.
The rooms are good, we had an interesting and advantageous internet offer with a large king size bed and a room view to the Zocalo. Wonderful views, but it can be loud at night when there is a car race by young people around the square and at 6am. you have inevitably drums and trumpets when the military raises the huge flag in the middle of the square. At least you don't waste your time getting up early because Mexico City is endlessly rich in museums, palaces, churches, pyramides etc... The roof restaurant has been refurbished and just reopened beginning of March 2012 with breathtaking view. Good American breakfast was included. All in all a generous, wonderfully oldfashioned hotel and with the many package offers including air travel from the US it really can be a bargain.

Walking in the city centre, in Chapultepec park, taking the metro, walking in San Angel (Frieda Kahlo museum) we never felt unsafe, though naturally you should be alert. And if you want to go to Teotihuacan, don´t be afarid to take the metro to the North Bus Station and from there the regular "Pyramid bus".

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hape007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your complete review about our location. We are indeed an excellent departing spot for the tourists who wish to visit different touristic attractions such as museums and other interesting places. We hope that you had the chance of riding the “Turibus” which is a very popular touristic alternative. It visits different stations in the city during the day and fortunately, one of its stations is at 5 minutes walking form the hotel. We definitely recommend this option as you can visit lots of different places in the day using the same ticket. Please ask for this option next time you visit us; our concierge will gladly get you the tickets for it and will assist you in any information or doubt you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Located west side of Zocalo, facing Palace. Very convenient location. Staffs are very friendly and attentive. fascinating interior. Have a drink or meal at terrace on 5th floor of hotel looking out people and surrounding building of Zocalo.

Room Tip: For good view of Zocalo, ask staffs room facing Zocalo
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

It was a privilege for us to receive you and we also were very happy to attend you at our Terrace too. As you mention, it is an ideal place to have dinner or enjoy a drink with one of the most privileged views in the city as background. Maybe you would also like to consider visiting our Lobby Bar, where you can have a drink and enjoy an appetizer with the beautiful scenery of our Tiffany stained-glass ceiling and our panoramic antique elevators. Please visit us again as we would love to welcome you there too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

One can't find a better location in Mexico City if interested in art, history, archaeology, - right in the heart of "Centro historico." This is a lovingly restored masterpiece of Art Nouveau. We had a huge room, comfortable beds, powerful and quiet AC, no noise problem at night. The staff is friendly and helpful beyond any expectations, especially Rafael at the front desk. They have a doctor on call, we had to use it, and it was perfect. The management could be a little more consistent, we did not get some towels on a couple of days, a light bulb was not replaced. Not a big deal. The main problem is the restaurant on the first floor. While breakfast is OK, though sometimes slow, lunch food is bad. The fourth floor restaurant is very good and has a great view.

Room Tip: Some travelers complain about noise, but we did not have any problems. Just ask at the reception.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your sincere review. While we are pleased in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us in general terms; we are sorry to know that you did not liked our lunch food at our Cafeteria. Currently we have two restaurants: our Café Ciudad de México at the First Floor which is ideal for a complete classical breakfast; and our recently renovated Terrace restaurant which is famous for its brunch service on weekend and the beautiful views. On any of these restaurants our staff will be delighted in receiving you and in case you express them a more specific taste in food; our cheff will gladly prepare you a course that fits more into your gastronomic needs. Please do visit us again as we would love to receive you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The rooms are outdated but very nice if you look it in perspective! Its an old hotel with a grand lady charm, just like the Pera Palace in Istanbul. Old elevator with a liftboy, great!
But the restaurant for diner is less.............. Not as a 5* hotel should be. Breakfast is nice near the lobby! They just started a new cafe on the "atico". Don't bother to go unless you would like to be in the "Spotlight"!!
Check your bill before check out! I did find a difference for about 150USD!
Taxi's, keep away from them!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erwinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is a shame for us not to count with more details about what you did not liked about our restaurant. We are always aware of our guests feedback in order to offer them alternatives that best match their specific requirements or even change our procedures. Nevertheless we would like to mention that we are receiving all kind of feedbacks about the illumination in the Terrace and we are checking it in order to best fit into our guests opinions and comments. It was very nice to receive you and we hope to have that privilege again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews