We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! Absolute brillant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My fiance and I had been travelling and staying in hostels. We decided to treat ourselves to some nice accomodation in Mexico City. We are SO glad we did! The building is stunning from the outside - old architecture. . Even though we may have looked a little 'travelled', the staff still treated us like every customer and were very friendly. When they showed us to our room we simply couldn't believe it. This was a perfect haven after a days sightseeing. We could watch tv in the living area or have a lovely relaxing bath, . You may think we were just very impressed with this having coming from hostels - yes, this was a lovely change but we have also stayed in top notch accommodation all across the world and this is one of our favourite places. There is a small business centre which was free to use and very handy when confirming our flights and printed boarding cards. The breakfast was simple but delicious and all the staff friendly especially Mr. rafael

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2015

Thank you for your comment, for us it is very important in order to improve our service and make your stay satisfactory, also we will send their friendly references to the appropriate personnel. Our Grand Hotel is located in the heart of the city, centrally located, it has a style "Nouveau" and a beautiful stained glass "Tiffany" that give a touch of elegance. You can also enjoy a great view in the terrace of the zócalo and enjoy a delicious brunch. We will always be at your service, happy to be counting with its visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is beautiful! We wowed very time we walked into the spacious lobby and looked up at the tiers of balconies and the wonderful stained glass roof - we never tired of looking at it. The rooms were very comfortable, the roof terrace bar a great spot for a pre dinner margarita overlooking the Zocalo. The breakfasts were very tasty, and most important of all, the staff were very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you find street noise a problem. We had a room overlooking Calle 16 Septiemb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your comment. Our staff are always at your srevice to provide an excellent service. It is noteworthy decoration that counts Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, as the stained glass Tiffany, as it is a great work of art to light and visual senses. We also have terrace, where you can enjoy exquisite dishes and an amazing view of the Zocalo. We hope your stay has been satisfactory and it would be a pleasure to have your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

It was a wonderful stay, I spend a really good deal unmatched by the bellboy, so it only had one problem which was solved almost instantly by Louis systems and Cinthya receptionist, especially congratulate the past two by the good teamwork.
If I were to go personally would like to congratulate all staff for making my stay the most pleasant

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHT8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your comment. For us it is essential to provide an excellent completely personalized and friendly service at all times, as already mentioned, in order to make your stay enjoyable, with taste we will send your kind mention of our staff. We will be waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

After a long flight we arrived at the hotel at about noon. They originally told us they might have our room ready early and to be back in an hour, however they kept giving us the run around until 3pm when our rooms were finally ready. The hotel is located literally seconds from the cathedral, Zocalo & National Palace so finding things to do to pass the time was no problem. The hotel was excellent, very clean and nicely decorated. My only real complaint was the bed, kind of hard for my taste but other than that I would absolutely stay here next time I go to D.F. You can't beat their price for that location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your comment. Our staff will always be at your disposal to providing you an excellent service, fully customized. An important point is our location as we are in the heart of the city surrounded by a variety of local clothing, food, and within walking distance is the subway and tourist sites. We look forward to your visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I went with my boyfriend to Mexico City for a wedding of friends of ours and we booked this hotel. I read many reviews about it on trip advisor and decided to book it. Now I don't regret at all because this hotel is excellent! We both loved it. It has a beautiful building, great location and the service was great. Our room was facing the street and but the street noise from the fair and the plaza didn't bother us. Yes, I must say it was a bit noisy, but it is really not a big deal if you want to book this hotel. The room was clean, neat and spacious and very pretty. We used the free fast speed wireless internet all the time and found it very convenient. Also we tried the panorama restaurant on the roof of the hotel, and I must say that you really have to try it even if you are not staying there. When we arrived in Mexico we saw the other hotels on the Zocallo which are pretty much exactly on the same block (most of them are just right next to each other) and still we thought that the Gran Hotel was the best one of the hotels on the Zocallo. the other hotels on the block, like Holiday inn, had that standardized American motel feel, which if you are going on vacation to Mexico you would want to try something local, historical and different from home. Anyway, we really enjoyed it and if I go back to Mexico again, I would book this same hotel again. I reccomend it to everyone. Also the staff were very polite and informative and speak English very well. They would also help you out with anything you need from money change to booking tours. Really reliable. Fitness center was very small, but we didn't use it at all. I mean, if you are in Mexico, you want to go out and walk around, not to sweat in a gym room, something you can do everywhere you are!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you very much for giving us know your pleasant experience in our Hotel. Always is a pleasure provide you our excellent service and put at your available our facilities. Go to the terrace is an unforgettable experience as you can enjoy the exquisite Mexican food accompanied by a great view of the Zocalo. Notably our location, cause we are in the heart of the city, just steps from a variety of tourist attractions, shops, fast food places that make your stay more affordable. Also we look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a feeling when you recess from the frantic, hot streets of Mexico City into the quiet lobby topped with stunning art deco stained glass. The tweeting caged birds add to the feeling that you have found a veritable oasis in a desert of noise! The rooms were exceptional, service impeccable and the entire experience was fantastic. I would not hesitate to reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lec1trs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that your stay has been to his liking, so it is a pleasure to provide you an excellent personal and friendly service at all times, mainly by creating you unforgettable moments. For us it's always a pleasure to have your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were treated courteously and in a grand manner by the excellent staff. The Concierge, Jose Luis Valadez, and the Manager of the Terraza Restaurant, were especially helpful.
Excellent location. We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your comment. Always is a pleasure to have your visit and thus provide excellent srevicio. We await you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,468 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
186 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 312 in Mexico City
948 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $125 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing