We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blew us away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We visited during the Easter weekend and the main square outside and overlooking our room was a zoo. Partygoers and persons celebrating the Easter not to mention a main stage with music kept us awake well into the early morning hours. Needless to say the outer rooms are not for those looking for quiet. However, we loved the Hotel's location in the Centro DF. This Hotel is a gem with its fabulous Tiffany glass ceiling roof and the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Zocalo. The Front Desk staff and Concierge were terrific in assisting us with tickets to the Folkloric Ballet and taxis, communicating our destination in spanish. The rooms are immaculate and room service requirements were readily performed. I cannot say enough about this wonderful Hotel and would definately rate it as Superior.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earl1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that the beautiful architecture Nouveau style was to his liking. Thank us to know their point of view in order to improve our service and facilities (if required) to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,733)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,733 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

A wonderful hotel. Gorgeous lobby with Tiffany style dome, quiet comfortable rooms and a very helpful english spoeaking staff. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you very much for your comment. Our staff is highly trained to meet your needs, desires and expectations correctly, giving you quality.Also the service is important to mention that we have a grand work of art, our beautiful Tiffany stained glass, from the first instanteen which you enter the hotel you will surprise you with its luminous colors. For us it's always a pleasure to have your visit, we hope soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days and it was an amazing experience, the rooms were neat and clean, the service was great we were helped by Israel Zaragoza. If i ever go back to Mexico City i would definitely stay at this hotel again it was absolutely a perfect and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljoeytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thanks for your kind comment. For us it is essential to provide friendly, thoughtful and personalized service that will make your stay pleasant, also it will make you reach your mention of our accordingly staff. We will be waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

we had a 24-hour layover in Mexico City and decided to venture away from the airport to see a little more of the city - this hotel is GORGEOUS. Took about 20 minutes to get to the airport - $20 when we used the airport booking stand and $12 when we grabbed a cab at the hotel back. This hotel is phenomenal - it has the most spectacular ceiling ever - stained glass 200 yrs old. The lobby with ancient elevators, bird cages, setees is gorgeous - the rooms have 20+ high ceilings and gorgeous modern marble bathrooms. We ate in the hotel and had a wonderful brunch - the turn down service, free wifi, laundry were all excellent. We could walk to local sites, shopping and restaurants. Definitely worth the quick cab ride to get some culture and see some sites and get more connected to the city. I was with my 11 year old son and 80 year old mother - of course we were concerned about how "unsafe" Mexico is, but there were guards and police everywhere in this area and we didn't venture out after dark. It seemed very safe to walk around - no beggars, panhandlers or creepy vibes, this is obviously an important local and tourist site with many government buildings and well patrolled. The streets were surprisingly clean as well - and the air pollution much better than at the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleTravelmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you very much for your preference. It is satisfying to know that your stay in our hotel was completely to their liking, from our beautiful facilities to our excellent service. It’s to noteworthy that we try to provide the best service as both materially to make yout stay more accessible. We have an excellent view from our terrace and the exquisite brunch that will make your stay unique. It will always be a pleasure to have your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Spent an absolutely wonderful 8 nights in this hotel. A true Art Nouveau gem! It's also perfectly situated at the Zocalo, rooms are beautiful and service is faboulous. The rooftop restaurant with stunning view of Cathedral and Presedential Palace is good. Maybe a few more occidental style dishes could be added to the menu. By the way the physical size of the menu was by far the most imposing I ever came across... several square feet of menu! :0)
All the staff are very very friendly! Very efficient also was the medical service that provided (much needed!) assistance very quickly late at night! The extra attention staff provided the next day was also very highly appreciated!
I really can't imagine a better place to stay in Mexico City!

Room Tip: The rooms at the corners are fabulous!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187147Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you very much for your comment, it is very important for us to provide you an excellent completely personalized and friendly service at all times. We are proud to have a considered a treasure in Mexico City in "Art Nouveau " style. Also we are glad you enjoyed our delicious food accompanied by an excellent view of the Zocalo and surrounding areas. We look forward to your visit again, it's always a pleasure to serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

from the moment we checked into the Gran Hotel, until the moment we checked out we were treated like emperors! our room (double) was bigger than most persons living rooms!! the staff was excellent, from Alex and Hugo in the downstairs dining area to Eric the Bartender at the Terrace Rooftop Bar. Jose Luis the Conciegie was gracious and informative. The view from the Terrace Bar was superb: the cathedral/palace/and zocola looked as perfect as they all are. The staff at the reception desk were friendly (I just wish I could remember all their names to acknowledge them!) and informed us of dining/concerts/tours/hotel driver excellently. I cannot imagine a more perfect expericent. Thank you Gran Hotel I will return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Tank you for your kind comment. We are pleased that your stay was satisfactory in every way. Something that distinguishes us is our excellent service provided by our highly trained to meet your needs, desires and expectations properly staff and thank your kind mention it, they will be distributed to the appropriate personnel. We'll be waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Gran Hotel is one of the jewels of Mexico City. Situated right on the Zocalo, its beautiful colonial architecture and Tiffany glass ceiling make any guest feel like royalty. The staff are friendly and helpful and always accommodating. Rafael at the front desk made our stay a dream as he was always available with advice and helpful information about the city and willing to set up sightseeing tours of not only the immediate area but of the many historical sites surrounding the city. His wealth of information, great humour and helplfulness made our week. This hotel is truly a gem.

Room Tip: Just ask!
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edyemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you for your comment. Our hotel has a style "Art Nouveau" that takes you to another time, also our Tiffany stained glass is one of our most important, moreover attractive, we have a restaurant at the top where you can enjoy our delicious brunch accompanied by excellent view of the beautiful socket. We hope your stay has been satisfactory and it would be a pleasure to have your visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,422 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
804 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 312 in Mexico City
1,372 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
920 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $133 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing