We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Ranked #19 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Had a great time when I was there on business for 4 nights. Found the staff very friendly and accomodating, maybe because I speak spanish. Location perfect. View from 15th floor outstanding. Room was a little dated, carpet not the cleanest and clock broken but overall pretty good. Nice amenities, bed was comfy, tv had all the stations you could want. The famous $8 bottle of water was in the minibar, but all minibars are expensive, people. Go to the giftshop. Breakfast buffet was great but expensive and the bar has hundreds of tequilas, which are also expensive. I believe the prices reflect the location, which is the DF's most exclusive. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TroyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed in a club room on the 39th floor..the view was beautiful. The service was abominable. We tried changing the turndown time to a later hour so we could shower for dinner first, but in 8 days we only could manage it once!

The concierge was disorganized and fairly useless.

The buffet dining room (not club level) was always overcrowded...it was adeqate for 20% of the capacity of the hotel.

We found the rooms nicely furnished. The plumbing almost worked.....if you don't mind a tub stopper that failed to open).

The food prices were absurdly high for Mexico City....and the cover charges were outrageous. We ate at the best restaurant in the city and only rarely paid a cover charge (much less, and usually for music).

The botted water in the room was imported and was $8..the local water in the gift shop was $1.50 for a litre and a half.

We paid a daily "hotel fee" and have no idea what it covered...wish we had disputed it!

There was no comment form, and the tv based comment screen was not functioning for 8 days.

We were happy with the location and wish someone competent would take over the hotel.

Sorry, amigos!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magellan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Presidente Intercontinental is a mediocre hotel. the staff is very rude and not very cooperative and have a huge attitude. The views are great and along with the restaurants in the hotel are probably the only two good things this place has. The hotel charges an internet fee even if you don't use it, and they also charge another fee for something else, so please inquire before. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MONTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We spend the 3 days from Dic 30- January 2n, 2007 only because we found a great deal at a mexican restaurante "La Chimenea" for new year's celebration . The Restaurants are fantastic not complain at all food is excellent and waiters very helpfull, but we found that the overall staff was very rude, front desk charge us the "internet fee" 18 dlls daily, wich was suppose to be already include when I made my reservations by phone, they don't care if you complain about the rate, given you excuses, my resevations were not confirm and they made us check in and check out every day, charging us EVERY day for stuff that we didn't consume. Not cortesy water is included, the mattress are too hard, the bathtub is old and stain and most of all the staff front desk and managers were very rude. Futhermore parking is not included they charge you additional 100 pesos for your car and your visitors. Parking outside is almost imposible because of the location of the Hotel. If you decide to take a drink at the lobby bar be ready for paying the most expensive 1 drink of your life, most national beers are about 9 bucks when in every restaurant you are charge about 3 dlls and a cosmopolitan about 17 to 19 dlls per drink depending of your choice. I paid $212.00 dlls every day and for that amount of money you can get a better deal and better acomodations at the Marquis Reforma.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank escuincla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

This hotel is too old and all the areas, especially the rooms, require an urgent renovation.

Altought the TV in the room (40 inches plasma) does the trick after a long day in the office

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2006

On a business trip chose the hotel due to corporate rate and location.
Location is good as Polanco is a safe affluent area and one can walk at night. However as it is so affluent, the local restaurants and especially the ones in the hotel are out of the league of a normal business traveller, as is the shopping. Only Linny's a block away is a reasonably priced place to eat, although double the price of other similar places elsewhere in Mexico City.
Hotel service leaves much to be desired - the beauty is only skin deep. Promised newspapers only came once every three days; it took three days to get a coffee mug; and the bill required careful review - although I did not use the minibar, there were charges; and a free movie given after being there a week was charged (keep the free movie card to show at check-out).
All in all very disappointing for such a beautiful hotel that is part of a well respected chain.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Life-is-an-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Kind of luxurious suite, pity that for biz travellers you spend the day outside .... Nice view & colonial decoration but:

(1) If the hotel is reasonably booked, plan for 10 min wait to take the elevator(s)

(2) Wireless internet unbearably slow (in theory free, that's what they tell you at check-in). However they charge you some US20$ for "hotel fee" per day, it sounds barely legal... especially since you discover that only at check out time.

An iron-smile clerk will explain you that this is the hotel policy (kind of : if you don't like it don't ever come back...)

(3) Also beware of 800 calls (AT&T ...), they are charged at the same price of long distance calls

LOUSY value for money ...

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pdruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
2,167 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,170 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#22 of 312 in Mexico City
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#10 of 312 in Mexico City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 218, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $168 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital's most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious building is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazaryk Avenue and Antara Mall are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing