We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel "presidential"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Ranked #20 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here in mid-November for a business conference, two nights. Read some of the reviews that suggested the place may be in need of renovation - saw none of that when I was there. Cabbie said Obama stayed here; can't verify, but the place definitely felt "presidential." Room was pristine, great view of Mexico City (think I was on the 37th floor), great staff, nice layout, good restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat in the hotel itself. Wi-fi worked great and as Priority Club Gold member it was free. Neighborhood is about as good as it gets in Mexico City; there is actually a Bentley dealership maybe a tenth of a mile or so from the hotel though there were also a few people at the low end of the economic scale trying to make it by having their young children sell flowers to tourists (Mexico City is a city of contrasts). Great Italian restaurant maybe a quarter of a mile up the road (place is on the second floor of a modern office-like building). Enjoyed watching some of the traffic from my room - Mexico City is kind of controlled chaos on the roads. Would imagine this would be a great place if you had more time to be a tourist; couldn't do that as I attended the conference. Would have to say that the bar layout of the place was nice, though. It is located in the middle of a sunken section just to the right of check-in and it is open-air and spacious. Great place to mingle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your excellent comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most of all that we made you feel as important as our VIP guests, it is good to know that you enjoyed the location, our restaurants and bar, the view from your room and internet service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same great service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is a traditional feature in Mexico landscape of business hotels , and it still has its strong points such as location, large volumes, varied offering of restaurants ...
But it is also a more than 30 years hotel with a need for renovation and modernization .
Carpets in the corridors look old and are often stained, plumbing and taps are well passed their best before date , phonic isolation could be improved...
It seems some remodeling work has started on the lower floors , it would be good to accelerate .
What I like :
the location, the large space downstairs, the well equipped gym , the restaurant Le Pied De Cochon
What I would change :
Apart from the above mentioned lift up required , I would redecorate the Frutas y Flores cafeteria , where they serve the breakfast on the mezzanine as it looks what it is : a lobby full of tables and chairs .

Room Tip: I prefer to face paseo de la Reforma but some people would prefer the other side for the view toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, restaurants and gym. As you mentioned the hotel is 36 years old and we need to admit that our guestrooms need to be rehabilitated, and as a matter of fact I am glad to share with you that we started total renovation of all our guestrooms last September 2013. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service and renewed rooms.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a three night stay at this hotel for business. Was recommended by our local office personnel. I have not been to Mexico City in over 10 years, so did not have lot of comparison. However, I did enjoy my stay. One of biggest positive factors was the location. While traffic can certainly be congested (not just this hotel, but all around area), there was a lot of shops, restaurants, nightlife within walking distance of the hotel. Further, this area seemed to be one of nicer areas in town, so I always felt safe walking in evening.

Rooms were fine, and did not have anything that was over and above positive or negative. I seemed to have some type of corner room, so did not notice any loud outside sounds/etc.

Also through my employer, I had access to club level amenities like free continental breakfast, happy hour drinks at evening, etc. which was nice additional touch, but not sure I would pay extra for this.

Concierge was also very helpful for recommendations/etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for your excellent comments about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, rooms and Club Lounge. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in need of a facelift. The bathroom could seriously do with being re-done. For the price paid, not sure it was worth it.
Concierge we're helpful with getting taxis
Food in the Palm restaurant was fine. Overpriced and had better, but it was ok

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about your experience in our hotel. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, as you mentioned the hotel is in need of a facelift but as a matter of fact I am glad to share with you that we started total renovation of all our guest rooms last September 2013. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel with renewed rooms.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recommendation from a friend. The location is really terrific. There is a metro station not too far away. There are some great restaurants within walking distance, not to mention 2 Starbucks.

For our stay, straightaway, we knew that this wasn't going to be your 'average' stay. When we arrived at the hotel, we were shocked to see a SECURITY CHECK POINT at EACH entry to the hotel. We were surprised. We had to put our luggage, bags, everything through scanners, not to mention walking through the body scanners, emptying pockets, etc. This went on for 3 of 5 days we were there. Did anyone explain why? No. Did anyone apologize for the inconvenience? No. Was there a discount on the rate? Absolutely not! We read on line that Shimon Peres was leading an Israeli/Mexico business leadership forum of some sort...at least that's what we gleaned from the internet. It was inconvenient and stressful. After traveling and dealing with security at the airports, who wants to go through security check in every time you go to your hotel to relax?

Additionally, when we got to our room, around 8 p.m., the room had not been thoroughly cleaned, e.g. water glasses that still had someone else's water in them, long hairs in the bathtub (gross)...and then there is the ambient noise...the walls and door do NOT filter out any noise...you hear EVERYTHING in the halls and adjoining rooms, not to mention the construction going on at the hotel...even on the weekends!

It was funny too, because the last night we were there, suddenly the hotel staff was calling to make sure everything was okay, the housekeeper was at our door asking to turn down the bed, etc. We wondered why this didn't happen the first 4 days?...

A couple of hints: If you need a taxi, use one that the hotel calls for you, they are generally cheaper than the regular taxis. Also, Lynis restaurant a couple of blocks away is an awesome breakfast place and much cheaper than the hotel. Great food. Great service. Reasonable Price.

If you want to buy the Talavera pottery in the room, it's about 50% more expensive than what you'd pay at the Mercado Artisanal.

Pros:

- Location, just great!
- Beds are SUPER comfortable
- If you get the right room, you can have a wonderful city view (we didn't get that)
- Great toiletries (Agraria from SF)
- Many restaurants in the hotel featuring Italian, Chinese, Mexican, etc. (6 or more)

Cons:

- Noise Noise Nose
- House Cleaning sketchy (the first night was not an isolated incident)

Room Tip: Higher floors have more panoramic views. Lynis restaurant nearby is a fantastic local breakfast pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreateSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that your stay fell below your expectations. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with the security check points in the hotel. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention, to give us the chance to improve future guests' experiences. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future to change the bad impression that you have from our hotel and to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

...the hotel needs to be renovated and the staff service at both concierge and reception was the slowest I have ever experienced!
V good location in the Polanco area, best thing was the breakfast: not huge offer but all very good, low fat options and kind & efficient waiters included.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alguccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your feedback about your experience in our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy the service provided by our concierge and reception staff, I am going to escalate your comments with our management staff in order to prevent these kind of incidents and to provide a better and faster service. Regarding your comments about hotel’s renovation, just let me mention that we started total renovation of all our guest rooms last September 2013. We would like you to give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to provide you with the service you expect from an InterContinental hotel with renewed rooms.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City for 2 nights In mid-November. The way we were treated by staff from the moment we arrived was courteous and friendly. Our room was great with views of the park. Everything was close at hand, and although our time was short, our walks in the park and in Polanco were very enjoyable.

We also had the privilege of enjoying the Club lounge, and I must recommend the desserts and chocolates. Bravo to the person/people in charge of creating these delicious treats. They were be far some of the best we have sampled anywhere.

We will definitely return to enjoy this hotel, and I am hoping that it is in the near future.

Room Tip: If you have a few extra dollars to spend on a junior suite they are a nice size. The addition of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for choosing Presidente InterContinental Mexico City to host your recent stay in Mexico. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, Club Lounge and the service provided by our staff, I am going to extend your congratulations to our pastries’ chefs for their great job. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and as you mentioned hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
2,120 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,149 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 218, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#30 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $147 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital's most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious building is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazaryk Avenue and Antara Mall are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing