We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Mexico City
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Museo Nacional de Antropologia
from $19.00
More Info
from $17.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $59.99
More Info
Reviews (18,903)
Filter reviews
18,903 results
Traveler rating
16,250
2,321
276
39
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16,250
2,321
276
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aztec calendar world class museum great museum different cultures huge museum national museum of anthropology first floor audio guide pre columbian amazing collection mexican culture few hours couple of hours take your time chapultepec park on display visiting mexico city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 18,903 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on a Wednesday around 5:30pm, no crowds at all. A truly impressive collection in a great space. The temporary exhibit was also wonderful.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank saberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had been in this museum 30 years ago. It was time to go back and I think, for me, this is the nicest museum I know. Very old artifacts, especially if you like handmade things by human beings. What a rich culture

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank enjoytraveling28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Museo Nacional de Antropologia is located on Paseo De La Reforma on the north side of Chapultepec Park, approximately half way between Torre Reforma and Hyatt Regency CDMX, and in the vicinity of both the Museo Rufino Tamayo and Museo de Arte Moderno.

Approaching off Paseo De La Reforma, the walkway to the museum is lined with stands of souvenir and food vendors, although one quickly realizes the food vendors are generally not patronized and may be questionable in quality. I stayed away.

Museo Nacional de Antropologia is open 10AM-6PM Tuesday through Sunday. It is closed on Mondays, as are all attractions in Chaputepec Park, as well as museums in other parts of CDMX. Sundays are free for Mexican residents, but not for foreigners and are not recommended due to the large crowds and many children.

In August 2019, adult admission was $75 Pesos. Entering the building one is required to empty pockets and place all extraneous items on a conveyor belt for security scanning. Shoulder bags or purses are allowed into the museum beyond this point and need not be checked. Cameras are allowed, however, with no use of flash, as is the case in most CDMX museums.

Upon entering one is provided a map, in both Espanol and English, that illustrates the contents of all 11 exhibition halls which are organized by region within Mexico or by historical period.

The museum offers artifacts representing all of pre-Mexican history and relics from the oldest documented civilizations in North America. Exhibit documentation is offered only in Espanol. Not being fluent, I could make out essential locations and dates of origin without becoming overwhelmed by too much information, which could easily happen in a museum of this breadth. I was actually glad I couldn't read more than I could.

Every exhibition hall is of equal value and of equal emotional and psychological impact, and across the entire museum I took more than 200 photos of the exhibits. Most all exhibit halls offer something of related special interest in the outdoor park at the back of the actual exhibit hall. Each exhibit hall graciously opens to the natural outdoor environment, and this feature is quite lovely. The outside areas should not to be missed. Most notable here was the large model of the Teotihuacan pyramid complex, and also the reproductions of the buildings in the Maya exhibit. The Mayan buildings were absolutely stunning, and probably my favorite of all outside areas.

One comes away from this experience only in awe of the cultures that preceded our own on the North American continent, and simply in awe of these artifacts from the pre-Mexican cultures.

It doesn't matter your level of interest in history or anthropology, the Museo Nacional de Antropologia is a mandatory stop for every visitor to Mexico City.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank MarkasELPTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Exquisite museum about antiques cultures settled in what is now Mexico is expouse in this museum. Whith a marvellous museography and great architecture.Its a most!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

We spent all afternoon & only managed the first floor. It was fascinating! Beautiful presentation. Modern , spacious, clean & tidy. Not enough English but the atmosphere is captivating. The outside gardens are refreshing. The Shop was great & we found some nice souvenirs for a decent price. You really must visit this museum, plan a whole day !

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank caroldZ8206HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews