We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Isabel
Ranked #159 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Big rooms; hot water; TV; easy walk to everywhere. Friendly staff. Tour operator in Lobby does not know a lot about where to go. Bar is fun as it is always full of local guys singing.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank godofthearmadillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    113
    73
    30
    27
See reviews for
46
73
63
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Here are the pluses and minuses of this hotel:

+ good location: few blocks from Zocalo or metro station, in the middle of busy shopping district
+ most rooms are really big and bright, many have balconies
+ good value In Mex DF
+ nice ambiance
+ very clean and big bathrooms with plenty of hot water

- there are some rooms without windows (horror, horror!) and some others with small window. They cost the same as those with window and balcony though...
- staff could be a little friendlier and more helpful, few times I needed sth from the front desk I felt like I'm bothering someone.
- wall-to-wall carpeting - they have nice wooden floor underneath them, but hotel chose to put these bacteria- and fungus-growing carpets instead. Not recommended for someone prone to allergies and respiratory problems (or anyone, for that matter).

Room Tip: Rooms without window are really bad value as they are also about 1/4 of the size of other rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soturimimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights.
Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the nearest metro station and 10 minutes walk from central square.
The rate is very affordable.
Service is OK; not all the staff speak English.
Rooms are spacious. Furniture is not new, but OK. There was no air-conditioning, but in November we would barely need it.
Isabel street is pretty noisy in the mornings, but noise is bearable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side or at Republica Salvador street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here back in feb 2010 on 2 different occasions. Really liked the place,
Rooms are huge and spacious and the restaurant serves OK food. The little bar on the left when you come in has a nice atmosphere.
BUT, without a doubt, the best thing is the location, only 5 min from the zucalo, how can you not love that!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peberpigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I flew into Mexico City and had 3 nights reserved for the start of my trip and 2 nights for the return journey at the Hotel Isabel.

Great price, great professional service, and excellent location. The room is fine, and excellent value.

I reserved over the Net on the Hotel's website and my reservation was there when I arrived.

For 5 pesos take the metro from the airport to Isabel la Catalica station. Out of the station turn left and go 100 meters to Isabel La Católica [street], turn left again, and 4 blocks later you are there.

The hotel has a restaurant which is a bit pricey, but it is convenient and pretty decent. The Paella on Thursdays and Saturdays is a decent feast. And the beer is colder than ice ;)

Room Tip: I like a room with a balcony. These are giant rooms and you can lock the windows up so tight at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter.craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed 6 nights at Hotel Isabel with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the stay. There is nothing fancy about the hotel and the rooms, but it is comfortable, has free wifi and the staff are very friendly. The location is great, smack in the middle of downtown and close to the palace and cathedral. Subway is close to. There was noise from the street, but was else is to be expected in the biggest city in the world :)

At 420 pesos a night this really was great value for the money. The pressure in the shower was low and really the only negative thing I have to say.

I would use the hotel again for my next stay in Mexico City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klitgaardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip. Great location for a great price with helpfull and friendly staff. The rooms are all orientated around an interior plaza. Our room had no window and was very dark, but clean. My advice: ask for a room with a window!

Room Tip: Ask for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbullee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#130 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#144 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#106 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#63 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Hotel Universal
#154 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#118 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Property: Hotel Isabel
Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 63, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isabel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the Historic Center of Mexico City quite a few steps from the Zocalo, with elevators, Internet, all services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Isabel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing