We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballet Folklorico de Mexico

Ballet Folklorico de Mexico
Violeta 31, Mexico City 06300, Mexico (Alameda)
+52 55 5526 7805
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$122*
and up
Folkloric Ballet in Mexico City
Ranked #10 of 404 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The famous ballet troupe known for the discipline provided by its founder Doña Amalia Hernández.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have seen the show a number of times. It is folk dancing - not a real ballet. But, It is always and outstanding performance. A truly must see--

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Merton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What a night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved this event. We booked our tickets from home thru ticket master. We visited the theatre a few days before to see the Diego murals, and tried to get our tickets then, but weren't allowed to. We had to go to ticketmaster directly, and only CERTAIN ticketmasters. We went to the one located in the Liverpool Dept. store in Centro. Anyways....the show is wonderful. The theatre is amazing, the dance company is huge, we had no idea. The costumes beautiful. The dancing was wonderful. A great night. Some dances represented different parts of the whole country. We sat on the main floor and really enjoyed it. Don't miss this, if you are lucky enough to be in MX City when they have a show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KenandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The Heart and Soul of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Do NOT miss the Ballet Folklorico. This show is wonderful, colorful, a joy in music and dance. Professionally staged in a theatre that is a work of art in itself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tenr2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top flight dance, costumes, choreography, music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Not only was the Ballet Folklorico fantastic, but the building; the Palacio de Bellas Artes, was a Deco masterpiece. The stained glass dome is worth the price of admission (which wasn't much, sitting in the stratosphere). Everything about the dance was great-best musicians, color, lighting, choreography, and of course the dancers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindaesacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An explosion of dance and colour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great company of ballet. Amazing dancers! They show us pieces from folklore all around this great country. So colorful! We could stand all night long to appreciate their performance. Beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballet Folklorico de Mexico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ballet Folklorico de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing