We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insight into an Artists Life”

Museo Estudio Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo
Ranked #78 of 512 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in one of Rivera's former studios, this museum has a small collection of his paintings.
London
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Insight into an Artists Life”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I think for some this could be a disappointing tourist destination but if you love art and artists this is a good insight into a working studio. I found it interesting seeing where the artists lived separately to work and yet were still closely connected. Everyone was helpful but there seemed a lot of staff guarding each room which took away the feeling of solitude required at times to create. I enjoyed my visit and it has brought me closer to Diego Rivera's life and art. If you are visiting there is an incredible Hacienda opposite that is a superb place to visit and eat. San Angel Inn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    68
    29
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Basically the only a few rooms open were the studio where Diego Rivera painted, a bedroom where DR died, and an anteroom. The Frida Kahlo house was being remodeled and a new exit was about to open later this month. I know some people liked the Frida Kahlo movie, but I thought it was very depressing, and didn't portray DR very kindly. The main good thing was that admission was free the day we visited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BT20812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“A glimpse in Diego Rivera art and life”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After visiting Casa Azur, which was the home of Frida Khalo where her and Diego lived for some years, my family and I visited the studio from Diego. Actually this is not only his studio, but there are 2 studios in 2 modern houses in the same area, built to accommodate each one in one of the houses. So, they could have privacy and still be close to each other, It was a kind of demand from Frida to come back to marry Diego after their divorce.

When I visited, her house was closed to public. Even dough, I thought that it was worth a visit. His studio has some interesting works and gives a glimpse on the artist way of life, including his brushes, paintings, objects he collected.... For me this add a context making the artist more understandable in his/her historical moment.

The film presented about them is great, not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Watch the Frida Kahlo movie!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The studio museum, itself, is small. However, the Frida Kahlo movie is worth the trip. It is available with english subtitles. I always thought her art was a little creepy, but this movie gives such great insight into her life! I learned a lot and the movie held my attention. See this before you go to the Frida Kahlo museum. It will assist in your understanding of her work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LLCJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 6 Contributor
1,155 reviews
354 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
“Key to understand D Rivera, but in a slightly dismal state...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The place is important o understand how he worked and lived.
Place could use an uplift.
Architecture by OGorman highly interesting...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Estudio Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo Estudio Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing