We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there after visiting Frida”
Review of Coyoacan

Coyoacan
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus...
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Mexico City Bike Tour: Coyoacan and Frida Kahlo Museum
More Info
$75.95*
and up
Private Tour: Xochimilco, Coyoacan and Frida Kahlo Museum
Ranked #4 of 524 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Coyoacan, a former village and now one of the 16 boroughs of Mexico City, is a historic center. It is a popular place to visit, especially on weekends, because many of the original layouts, plazas and narrow streets have been preserved and date from the 16th to the early 20th centuries.
Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go there after visiting Frida”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A few blocks away from the Frida Kahlo house, is the Coyoacan Market where you can have a great lunch. We ate a "tostadas Coyoacan" and loved it! You feel like you are farther away from Mexico City than you really are.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Octomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,990
    1,649
    243
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a gem of place! great little barrio to get away from the hustle & bustle of the center. Mind you, make sure to get there early before the crowds. Beautiful basilica and a cute market to stroll by. Spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants and cafes

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fajota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A respite from the craziness of el centro”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is my favorite area in Mexico City, and on my next visit I will spend at least a couple of nights here. Coyoacan is a lot less commercial and Americanized than central Mexico city. The center of Coyoacan is a bit of a long walk from the metro station, but it is one of the most pleasant walks in the city. The market is nice, the people are friendly, and on weekends there is so much life without feeling like it's drowning you. You can get lost in the tree-lined streets and alleyways and discover quaint churches and little plazas. This is a great place for street food, artesanal sweets, and getting a coffee at Café el Jarocho.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Vibrant, fun area”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Saturday afternoon in Coyoacan was busy and exciting - an old historic area with interesting buildings and lots of activity

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Of all the places I have been in Mexico City, this is by far my favorite. It's beautiful, has a wonderful market, great restaurants, cool vibe! We were there when they were having a festival showing crafts from many states in Mexico and I loved that. I've been all over the city but somehow I had missed this. As an American female, traveling with a college age daughter, I felt so safe, and she loved all the college kids that were hanging out. The cobblestone streets have a great feel, the plaza is awesome. I think I loved this area the most because it feels like Mexico but all my unfounded American fears are put to rest! :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bchduty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyoacan also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Coyoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing