We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Ranked #121 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The location of this hotel is the best. if one want to be in the heart of all the action this is the hotel for you. You find a lovely inner courtyard. The rooftop restaurant has a great view. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Right on the Zocalo and pedestrian street at the front door. Heritage hotel built in 1937 and much of the original features are still there. Beautiful tiling and stairways, quaint lift. The plumbing is circa 1937 too. I learned on day 2 of my 6 day stay how not to get wet feet when using the wash basin.!
My room was large and comfortable and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast buffet had good selection of dishes both cooked and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ozscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in may 2013 for 2 nights. First let me say smth positive. The location is great (next to the zocalo) and the building has historic flair. Taking breakfast on the terrace while overlooking the square is nice (however you can do that as a non hotel guest). Now where to start. We arrived in the evening after coming from europe just looking for a bed to sleep in. The first room they gave us had the window towards the square where they did a sound check for a concert. It was super loud and we could not think about sleeping. The windows are non isolated so you here everything as well as we were not able to close them fully. The rooms have no air conditioning. We asked for another room which we got, that was nice. However that room had the windows towards the attic and it was really hot (i mentionedno air-co). We could here everthing that happened in the rooms next to us during the night, and with everything i really mean everything.... Maybe it would have been different if we had no jet lag and slept deeper. However the hotel is really outdated. They need a refurbishing asap. There are other hotels in mexico city/zocalo that are in the same price range and are way more pleasant!!! Honestly this was the worst hotel experience i ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the zocalo can be terribly loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonezitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I live in Mexico and I love to take by friends who visit to a nice pit stop for a drink at this place. How ever this was the first time I ate there. It was by far the worst food I have ever had in my life. The mash potato was like a soup, the meat was burned and dry, the fish wasn't cooked, the vegetables were as if they had been blended into a cream for days (mushy and tasteless). I guess the only good thing was the coke I ordered. And I had no option as they only had their buffet.
Just to make things worse they charge as if they had a cordon blue chef. Without any alcoholic drinks, I paid for two kids and two adults over $80 dollars!!! Not worth a single penny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BadiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is located right at the Zócalo in Mexico City. We had a room overlooking the square, which was great. There's always something going on at the square and it makes for a spectacular view. The hotel looks very sophisticated and the staff is very friendly. We had some problems with the internet the first days but they fixed it for us. The only reason why I don't give it 5 stars is because the bed was very hard, we used extra blankets to make it a little softer and there is no airconditioning (you can ask for an electric fan at the reception). Overall I really liked this hotel and I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_1989NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better and the inner courtyard and entrance is lovely. But.. the rooms could use some love and definitely some new mattresses. Breakfast is offered for a price on the terrace which is quite lovely. Overall, i would choose again for the location but I would see if I could do better first.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mymx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I blind booked the Best Western Majestic in Mexico City through Hotwire. After I received the confirmation with the hotel name I was dismayed to read the traveler's reviews here, and approached my coming stay with some trepidation. However my experience exceeded expectation.
I thought the hotel was absolutely delightful. No it is not modern, cookie-cutter, beige or uniform. Perhaps other travelers were expecting the blandness of most chain hotels. Yes the mattress was hard, yes there is only one old fashioned elevator, and yes the water is not blazing hot. The wifi was spotty, but I have found it an issue in Mexico and Europe for that matter. There is no fitness centre nor pool. That said, I can't imagine why anyone would get worked up about that. It's not like there isn't a tonne of things to see and do in Mexico City.

The old-world charm and location of the hotel makes up for this in spades. I loved the handmade Mexican tile that adorns the walls, the sweeping marble staircase, the cozy lobby and heavenly view from the rooftop restaurant. I also found the buffet breakfast reasonably priced, delicious and offering a good mix of traditional Mexican and American breakfasts. My room, which was large, airy, clean and bright, faced on to the Zòcalo! What a view. It was quiet enough for me to sleep at night.
Finally the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although it may help that I speak Spanish. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#113 of 312 in Mexico City
207 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,468 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 312 in Mexico City
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,814 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Majestic

Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $62 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
Best Western Hotel Majestic Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing