We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Ranked #137 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great location, BUT restrooms need urgent maintenance and renovation, mattress need exchange, noise reduction windows recommended.
Great breakfast, BUT better don't eat lunch or dinner there, wine price way beyond value.
Great service personnel, especially bellboy Oswaldo Zertuche, BUT owner needs to invest asap into this location. No pool, hot tub, terrible wifi connection, way too slow and very pure signal.
Will not come back ever again before all this is not taken care of.

Room Tip: Insist on balcony, but better stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdr399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 485 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Do not stay here. Excellent location and building . Lack of towels, room service hopeless 45 for 2 drinks. Then not taken away for 2 days until I had a go at reception. He just laughed. There is no service here. Not worthy of its name. Beds terrible like boxes, lift eratic, breakfast food not labelled. Loud music blares out you cant talk. All pretty bad. We have been touring Yutucan and the jungle hotels are 5star not this dump.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is an fantastic location with very impressive views. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They organized tours of the city and the pyramids for us with very wonderful and trust worthy guides.
Our room over looked the Zòcalo and the view alone was worh every peso spent. For a very small price our room came with breakfast every morning in their roof top restaurant. The wi-fi was a bit touch and go but good enough to send home a few emails.
Of course the building is an older building and the beds are kind of small, but if you want to be in the heart of all the action this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for 5nights in this very Impressive building which a lot of charming decor in the staircase in the heart of Mexico DF.

Sadly what you see from outside and with the interior does not reflect with any Best Western or any Western Hotels standards.
We have complained about the cold of the room the curtain was moving as the air come in from outside due to old windows that have absolutely no isolation at all. Over the first nights no heater has been provided until we change the way approaching the Hotel stuff and look there an electric heater has been found. Unfortunately we end up with a cold when we kicked off our tour in South America thanks to this great way of customer care.

Breakfast in winter jackets. The stuff was having this great idea to open the tares to the whole glory and raised up all the windows to share the cold with all the guests. Another great idea to have your breakfast with frozen hands. I asked the stuff if they have been cold wearing winter jackets I assumed they have been. I asked why they would open all the windows letting all the cold air coming in. No response this continued every single day. So be prepared to get your breakfast with glows if it is cold. It is like the stuff has no feeling about the customer care at all.
The Breakfast was not ready in time. Be prepared that the stuff is not worried to build up the buffet every morning to the same standards you expect. They don´t care even if you have paid for it. We been waiting 45min for an omelette because they build up the station after 09:00 even breakfast starts some hours earlier. Looks like even the guests don´t bother.

Comfort of beds. An experience that you may link with futon beds in Japan. If you are Asian you will welcome a very hard bed but if you are European and love the comfort of Hilton or Marriot than get to know your bones. This is how hard the bed is in reality. Every morning pains because of bad sleep.

Ignorance to highest standards. I called the reception that was busy playing the mobile games rather than answering the switchboard. Why would you bother even to answer the Phone to a guest? How do I know they were playing mobile games? While ringing the reception my partner went down from the 6th floor to the reception and if you look to the right side you can see the switchboard that was lightening red for incoming call and the receptionist with his mobile in the hand. Response from receptionist he did not hear anybody calling. Right...

Troubles to enter and leave Zokalo during the New Year eve celebration. It was a disaster to get anywhere or to leave the Hotel as the streets where flooded with people. No underground in some occasions they close down the entire area and we had to walk around blocks to find some police man that understood that we are the guests of the Hotel and we want to enter our Room after being very harsh with them and virtually holding the Door key in front of their nose.
Be aware of what you want when you book this Hotel because this is not even to Backpackers standards and does not deserve even to be called a Best Western Hotel. It has apparently 4Stars rating but be aware that this has nothing to do with any European, Asian, American or even Central American Standards! One Star is not good as a total failure to provide any care for the guest.

If I would look for a Hotel from Hell I think I would strongly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Do not book this Hotel during New Years Eve celebration until three Kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Fantastic location, right on the Zocálo, with easy access to many sights. Very nice historical building with colourful tiles and an old-fashioned elevator that isn't manned at night, so I would walk up the 5 flights of stairs. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Zocálo are noisy, so avoid if you are a light sleeper (didn't bother me at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarlaBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Quite outstanding location in the Zocalo right opposite the Presidential Palace.You can sit on the balcony and watching the guards taking down the flag! Lovely décor with beautiful tiles. All in all a hotel with real character.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a small hotel right on the Zócalo in Mexico City. It has the most beautiful tiles on wall, staircase, and floors. A beautiful skylight is above the lounge on the second floor. Talavera vases and wagon wheels add to the colonial decor. The staff was excellent: friendly and helpful. I so enjoyed my ten days there. It was over Christmas. It was exciting with music, ice-skating, and tobaggoning in the Zócalo. From my balcony I has a great view of the National Cathedral. It was noisy until about 11 pm but it was the noise of people having fun.

Room Tip: Rooms in front and on the side are noisy but so interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anacaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
989 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,548 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#120 of 313 in Mexico City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Catedral
Hotel Catedral
#16 of 313 in Mexico City
1,317 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Majestic

Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $60 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
Best Western Hotel Majestic Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing