We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing collection”

National Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Gay Heritage Walking Tour in Mexico City
Ranked #21 of 512 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum has a huge collection of artwork ranging from ancient times to the present.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing collection”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing collection of Mexico's history and culture. You must visit! We stayed a few hours, but you need a lot more time to capture it all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jnjiemtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    138
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The service at this meal was exceptional - no lengthy waits between courses.
The food was well prepared and presented however, the surroundings were the exceptional part of this meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott_UK125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always something for every taste”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The permanent exhibits here are so extensive that they merit multiple visits. Additionally, the temporary exhibitions are of the quality of a true National Museum of Art. The one that I viewed today, while only on display for a few more days, is typical of such quality: Male Nudes in art and sculpture.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cheribokern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best art museums in the city!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's a fine museum with very good paintings of Jose María Velasco and another mexican artists,
Well worth visiting it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank atolrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Some beautiful paintings”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I agree with the previous contributor about the staff 'stalking' you - it was quite uncomfortable when they would peer round to see what I was doing (looking at the pictures, funnily enough). There is, as has already been commented upon, an awful lot of religious art. On level 1 I found my favourite works, mostly from mid 19th - early 20th century.
The rooms got colder as I worked my way round (I started at the top and worked down) and even in April some of the staff were wearing coats.
I found the layout a bit confusing, and more than once went into the same gallery twice, Murphy's law says I probably missed one out by accident.
The building itself it stunning, and the staff on the information desk are really helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Art also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to National Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing