We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and must see!”
Review of Frida Kahlo Museum

Frida Kahlo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and...
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Coyoacán and Xochimilco including Frida Kahlo Museum
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Frida Kahlo House, Xochimilco and University City Tour
Ranked #8 of 512 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The lifelong home of Frida Kahlo is now a museum dedicated to the work of this famous 20th-century artist.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and must see!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Her house is charming and beautiful. They did a great job on presenting her life through her eyes. She was an amazing woman and left her impression on the world. We took the metro, a little confusing, but we found it. There was a huge line and there was a guy selling combo tickets for this and Diego's arcitecture museo with transportation, good deal and we got to skip the line, totally worth it. Highly recommend Frida's house for a glimpse into her life!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,340
    1,723
    553
    103
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need to see if in MX Cty”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We took the train from zona rosa to museum, a bit of a walk after we got off the train but was well worth it. The house is beautiful and colorful. It's a bit small but it was their houseso what do one expect. Great neighborhood, need to visit especially if you're a frida fanatic.

Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Once it was her large, sprawling home where she lived with her husband Diego Ribera, the complex is now a museum. It has many of the rooms she used for living and painting. A collection of many small ones are at this museum and well worth visiting. She was an extraordinary women, with damaging polio when a young child and then had a leg amputated after a bus crash. She learned to paint, because a Communist (with a nice photo of her with Stalin), had Trotsky live at her house for a while and had Rivera there years after she died.

The house is very attractive and is easy to walk through. Visitors are led through a controlled path until they return back to the large patio area. The last section is a couple of upstairs rooms that are not easy for handicapped to visit, but there is an easy out into the patio for those needing it. There is a Mesoamerican temple in the patio that looks to me like an Olmoc temple, a most unusual sight anywhere. The only minor issue is that contents are not huge and you would probably be out pretty soon. Visitors sounded to be about 2/3 Hispanic-speakers and 1/3 English-speakers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good visit”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very interesting museum, I knew very little about Frida and Diego but my wife loves Frida's work which I have an appreciation for but its not my favorite. Anyways I learned a lot about Frida and Diego and thought the museum did a great job presenting the life of Frida and the house and found out very interesting. Would recommend to anybody!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillonm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went on a Sunday and waited a half an hour to enter. This place should be called the Frida Kahlo house, because there is very little of her or Diego Rivera's work in the building. It is where they lived. To accommodate as many people as possible, the rooms are so packed with visitors it is not pleasant to really take the time to look around much. It certainly was not worth the wait. The gift shop is INSANELY overpriced. Saw an almost identical embroidered shift (not as high quality as the one we bought) in the shop that was $400 more than the one we purchased at the craft market in the square nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida Kahlo Museum also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Frida Kahlo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing