We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, Tamayo works” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Tamayo

Museo Tamayo
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Mexico City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #81 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1981, the Museo Tamayo produces original exhibitions of the most representative aspects of the international contemporary art scene. In addition, it exhibits its modern and contemporary art collections as well as the oeuvre of its founder, the artist Rufino Tamayo.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Finally, Tamayo works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was about time…. Finally, at the recently expanded Museo Rufino Tamayo in México City, you can see the magnificent works of Rufino Tamayo, and not just installations from young or old artists in search of an artistic identity (seldom found). The new Tamayo Museum, which opened its doors in August, has increased its exhibition capacity in 40%, which hopefully will allow to always have in display works by Tamayo. Imagine if the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam was full of contemporary installations and no works from Van Gogh… that exactly happened with the Tamayo Museum before the renovation. Now, let’s hope that we will always have at lest 30% of the exhibition área devoted to the great Mexican painter. Galleries are made to show art that comes and goes; museums are to keep and show art that lasts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    60
    37
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico city
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL BUILDING RECENTLY RENOVATED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The building is worth a visit. Very modern, spacious, luminous, surrounded by tall trees in Chapultepec Park, the Central Park of Mexico City. Beautiful surroundings.
I should have started by saying that we are not great fans of Rufino Tamayo, he is a good painter but never like Diego Rivera or Siqueiros who appealed to the masses. We consider his paintings a bit dark, a bit "naive" and his fans are mostly snobs. They had a temporary exhibitIon that was too modern for us: a big white room full of large pieces of colored industrial paper (mostly pale blue) unfolded from large rolls, and thrown around in "artistic" ways. I felt I needed somebody to explain what was artistic about it.
The building designed by famous architect Zabludosky is worth the visit, and the gravy would be how much you like Tamayo's art.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alffiemexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic building and fantastic exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Located near the Archaeological Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, the Rufino Tamayo Museum is a great attraction in its own right. I must confess that before visiting the museum I knew absolutely nothing about Rufino Tamayo, a 20th century Mexican artist. During my visit, there was a major exhibition dedicated to his work, which grew on me as worked my way around the exhibits.

In addition to work by Tamayo, the museum was showing at least three other exhibitions, one of which was a massive exhibition along the theme of 'Tomorrow was already here'. It was absolutely fantastic, comprising works from as many as 20 artists. My personal favourite was a documentary record of a spoof space programme in Luanda, Angola. There was so much work to see that I didn't manage to get around all of it.

The building itself is fantastic and is an uplifting space to walk around. This is one of the best modern art museums I have ever visited and if you like modern art I strongly recommend a visit. The only downside is that there is no cafe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Set in a modern building, the permanent exhibition gave me an idea of the modern art movement in Mexico. well worth if you have the time.

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Not much too see...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

A museum that carries the name of a great painter is expected to show his works (e.g. Van Gogh in Amsterdam, Escher in The Hague, and many others). Well the Museo Rufino Tamayo has barely any works from this artist. Even worst, has very little art from any artist at all. Most of the time it only shows temporary exhibits, and too often installations that have little to do with the spirit and art of Rufino Tamayo. If you saw the name of the museum and though you show visit to see the art of Rufino Tamayo, you better go elsewhere, you will be very frustrated. This is a very small museum, with little to see. The have just started working on it to make it bigger... Hopefully they will also invest in the collection.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Tamayo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo Tamayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing