We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“beautiful hotel in the center of it all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #12 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in the center of it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

beautiful hotel just a few minutes walk from the zocalo. great location, and clean rooms. helpful and friendly staff, too. we booked our pyramid tour with the reception desk. the best part was the buffet breakfast - the food was plentiful and delicious! served by friendly staff. mexican breakfast foods, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and eggs to your hearts content. stay here! Mexico City is worth a visit.

Room Tip: you can request a "remodeled" room when you book and get a room on a newly re-done floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    366
    62
    19
    14
See reviews for
211
324
106
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great location, spacious and comfy rooms, well priced. And the complimentary breakfast is not to be missed! The service (especially Sarahi and Sandy) is prompt and friendly, but the cook, Thelma, is the star of the show. We actually contemplated staying over an extra day just for her breakfasts!
The only "drawback"? A modicum of Spanish language is a must here.

Room Tip: The nightclub across the street can be heard no matter what room you're in. My advice: enjoy, en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel off and on during the month of July for a total of 8 days. It's location behind the Zocalo is perfect for exploring the historic center and for access to the metro. The hotel and rooms are clean and affordable. The staff is friendly and attentive. Make sure to enjoy the breakfast buffet! It is better than most I have tried. The chef, Telma, is super friendly and attentive and will make you a breakfast to order. Our server, Estrella, also provided excellent service. Both women made sure we were completely satisfied each day.

It is best to make reservations as sometimes the hotel does fill up (at least during the last two weeks of July).

The rooms don't have refrigerators, but there are ice machines on each floor.

The view from the rooftop deck is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms along Donceles at the front have a small balcony, but on Friday and Saturday nights the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This modernized hotel is right off of the Zocalo in the central historic district of Mexico City. It is located right behind the National Cathedral, so you may hear noises from the Zocalo at certain times of the day and evening. Also, if you do stay on the cathedral side like we did, you may hear a disco going into the wee hours on Saturday night.

The room we stayed in had double-pained windows, air conditioning, cable TV. It's kind of a narrow hotel, so when it's busy the lobby feels crowded and the staff (which were very helpful and courteous at all times) is a bit harried. Since the elevator is tiny, you might also have to wait for it to make an extra trip or two before you can get on (or use the stairs).

The full Mexican breakfast is very good and served buffet style, but also has a chef who'll cook your eggs to order.

Don't miss the view from the rooftop patio on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views, but rooms on the Zocalo side may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank textractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a solo traveler on a short holiday I found this to be the perfect choice for me. For what you are getting the price is great especially being right in the city center. The rooms are a good size, newly decorated and very comfortable and the wi-fi worked well. I requested a room on one of the top floors and received one on the fifth floor with a nice view of the Cathedral. I found my room to be quite for sleeping but as stated in some of the previous reviews the street below is pretty hoping well into the evening. I think it is a wise idea to request a room on the cathedral side of the hotel on an upper floor for optimal quite during the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmethekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for a two night city trip. Very central, close to the Cathedral. Newly decorated rooms so it was clean and comfortable to be there. The breakfast was a great deal, we had a choice of hot, cold and the coffee was so good. The restaurant was reasonable too. A good all round hotel for what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 755Danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Catedral. I was very happy with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We had an interior room. This means we had no view but it was very quiet. The TV had channels in Spanish and English.

We did not visit the breakfast buffet but we did have a few meals in the hotel restaurant. I thought the food there was good and reasonably priced. The service is a bit slow though.

The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the fruit and cookies that were available all day at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaraMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#20 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#37 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing