We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small Hotel in Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Save
You added Hotel Catedral to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small Hotel in Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This modernized hotel is right off of the Zocalo in the central historic district of Mexico City. It is located right behind the National Cathedral, so you may hear noises from the Zocalo at certain times of the day and evening. Also, if you do stay on the cathedral side like we did, you may hear a disco going into the wee hours on Saturday night.

The room we stayed in had double-pained windows, air conditioning, cable TV. It's kind of a narrow hotel, so when it's busy the lobby feels crowded and the staff (which were very helpful and courteous at all times) is a bit harried. Since the elevator is tiny, you might also have to wait for it to make an extra trip or two before you can get on (or use the stairs).

The full Mexican breakfast is very good and served buffet style, but also has a chef who'll cook your eggs to order.

Don't miss the view from the rooftop patio on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views, but rooms on the Zocalo side may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank textractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    358
    59
    19
    14
See reviews for
208
318
103
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a solo traveler on a short holiday I found this to be the perfect choice for me. For what you are getting the price is great especially being right in the city center. The rooms are a good size, newly decorated and very comfortable and the wi-fi worked well. I requested a room on one of the top floors and received one on the fifth floor with a nice view of the Cathedral. I found my room to be quite for sleeping but as stated in some of the previous reviews the street below is pretty hoping well into the evening. I think it is a wise idea to request a room on the cathedral side of the hotel on an upper floor for optimal quite during the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmethekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for a two night city trip. Very central, close to the Cathedral. Newly decorated rooms so it was clean and comfortable to be there. The breakfast was a great deal, we had a choice of hot, cold and the coffee was so good. The restaurant was reasonable too. A good all round hotel for what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 755Danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Catedral. I was very happy with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We had an interior room. This means we had no view but it was very quiet. The TV had channels in Spanish and English.

We did not visit the breakfast buffet but we did have a few meals in the hotel restaurant. I thought the food there was good and reasonably priced. The service is a bit slow though.

The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the fruit and cookies that were available all day at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sedonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great Hotel for a stay in Mexico City. Located just behind the Cathedral in Zocalo plaza so walking distance to many attractions or easy taxi ride. Comfortable room and reasonably quiet although on a Saturday night the bar across the road could be a bit noisy but generally had quietened down by 12am. Breakfast was good value and the restaurant served good food too for an evening meal. Helpful staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location and they are right behind the Catedral and 5min walk to Zocalo.. which is the center of Centro historico. So, you can basically walk to downtown & many landmarks/historical sites Plus close to few metro stations.

They said that they just remodeled a month ago and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. They also have a rooftop and you can see part of the city.

Staffs are also friendly and helpful.

WIFI works perfectly in the room .. bit unstable to use SKYPE but good enough for emails and internet search.

I would like to come back to this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaianchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for several days and here are my observations:

Positive:
1. It's a great location and the hostal itself is nice. The rooftop bar offers a great view of the old cathedral.
2. Rooms were clean.
3. Good breakfast with many options.
4. Elevator.
5. Good security.


Negative:
1. Staff didn't seem friendly or helpful at all. Every time I approached the desk (which wasn't much) I felt as if I was either interrupting something or being put up with. Having stayed in many hostals over the years, this one hit the low point for me, staff-wise.
2. Probably because of the amount of people staying there (I think it was something like a six-story hostal) it felt very impersonal. If you're not looking to meet people, this would be fine. For me, part of the hostal experience is always making new friends. Don't expect that from Hostal Catedral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Textraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#20 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing