We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location......plus so much more!”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was wonderful to have such a nice place to stay for our 5 day Mexico City adventure!
Location: This is a lovely boutique hotel behind the Metropolitan Catedral . The location is perfect just around the corner from the Zocalo. We were within walking distance of most attractions and lots of good restaurants.
Reservations: We have a friend who speaks Spanish call and make our reservation. We tried to book on-line and it didn't work.
Food: We included the breakfast option with our reservation. We are early risers so we would start with coffees from Marissa at the restaurant. She spoke good English. When the breakfast area opened Jazmin greeted us and escorted us to a table. Telma the cook was excellent. She made delicious omelettes, the most yummy hot cakes and was so happy and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was okay.
Rooms: I read on Trip Advisor to request rooms on the 4 th floor or higher to have views of the Catedral. We got them on day 2 you could see the top of the Catedral. We really liked that you could open the windows for fresh air. The beds and pillows were excellent, we got clean towels and bottled water daily. All of our rooms had safes. The rooms were very clean. We were on the 4th floor and usually walked the stairs. They had one elevator which was very busy, however, they were installing a 2nd one.

Reception Staff: Jessica at the front desk spoke good English. Fernando the bell-man was very helpful.

Bonus: At the end of the day we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop terrace. Tip....if you see a store that sells beverages (wine, tequila,etc.) buy them and enjoy them on the terrace. The only store close by was a Seven-11 and the selection was not good.
This was where we would unwind from the day and discuss the next day's adventure.
A wonderful place to stay in this fascinating city!

Room Tip: We started out in room 213 and moved to room 413. We'd have been happy in either one. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very comfortable room, great location, a nice breakfast - my expectations were exceeded in every way. Great terraces, too. I had an inner room, so it was very quiet. Also a single - and the size of the room really surprised me. Very spacious. The location was extremely convenient, even if the streets were a bit crowded. That didn't surprise me. The staff were very attentive and professional as well. I had a problem with the Wi-Fi in my room when I first got there, and they resolved the problem right away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginalandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Catedral seven or eight times over the past ten years, but the last two times we were disappointed with a decline in customer service and a significant increase in room rates. The service in the restaurant at the front of the hotel is indifferent to non-Mexicans. We first experienced this in 2010 and thought it was just a one time thing. Then in 2013 we were ignored and left after fifteen minutes of nobody taking our order. I put my concerns in writing to hotel management but received no response. This year we decided to try one last time and again left after it became clear that they weren't interested in our business. We also had difficulty with the front desk staff, none of whom could help us in English when we tried to make it clear we didn't want the breakfast included rate. On a positive note, the concierge service is excellent and can help with any information or bookings you may need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff in the breakfast room and the cleaning staff for my room were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for exploring the centro. During the days of the weekend, rooms on the street side (donceles) can have some street music, but they do have the best light/views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickMcK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stay four days and recieved very good service. We enjoyed a clean room and a great breakfast buffet. Jazmin, Telma, and Lupita were very attentive and provided excellent service. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlaxcalteco45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's perfect good location good service and good price it's one of the best hotels I have stayed in a lot of time and I got no more words for it, I don't know what other comment I can write here afabshagavajauvsjabahayebakavagaiavajababaiavsjshwyahabauabahajajajajajajajajajaajsjsjhshsshshsjshshsbsjwiwbwvwjwiwooaakakaoaoaooaoaaoosossoosos

Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlxMuniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have been going to Hotel Catedral for thirty years!!! We are always met by Luis and Gustavo who have both been working there for twenty years...we have literally watched them grow up!!!
Their welcoming faces and attention to our needs is remarkable; the hotel simply would not be the same without them. Whoever the owner is must really love people because his/her staff have always treated us with such incredible care. Every need is provided for in a timely and caring fashion. This kind of care has to come down from the TOP. Thank you to all the staff for always making us feel cared for.

Room Tip: The area around the zocolo is festive which we like when we are out. When we sleep we prefer it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoboCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,482 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#32 of 312 in Mexico City
954 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#137 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $71 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing