We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails us”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This I was our third stay at Hotel Catedral Although we arrived very late t to airline complications we were greeted graciously. The front desk night staff were extremely helpful, friendly and hospitable throughout our stay. They accommodated our limited spanish with good humor.and helped with transportation arrangements. Breakfast buffet was a great way to start our day. We had a room near the street this time and it was at times a bit noisy. Ask for a room on the inside if you want a quieter stay.. Luis was once again a friendly and helpful presence in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderingGrandparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful day exploring Mexico City and this hotel was so well located along with an excellent staff that goes out of their way for every want or need. As was mentioned in another review, the customer service seems very important to this hotel and was obvious from each person. We had a midnight flight the next day and it was so easy for us to occupy ourselves leaving our luggage well attended - this was a big plus for us as well. We will definitely return on our next visit to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanitayRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for US$90 per night breakfast included.

The location is fantastic! Very central, just a big city block north of Plaza Zocalo, where there is a Metro stop you could take to and from the airport. Another option to and from the airport is the Metro Bus, which stops just a couple of blocks north of the hotel (south west corner of Republica de Venezuela and Republica de Argentina).

The room was clean with a good size bathroom. There even is a purified water tap (drinking water) in the bathroom, which is a huge plus! In-room safe and free wifi throughout the hotel are included.

The selection, quantity and quality of the free breakfast were great! Eggs, sausages, cold cuts, paella and several mexican dishes. You could also order and if they can, they'll make it. A friend of mine ordered french toast and he got it. Coffee, tea and juices also included.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a few rough days in Mexico City (it's a big city and takes some getting used to) but couldn't have had a better refuge than Hotel Catedral. The entire staff was professional, accommodating, and very kind, and the room was very quiet and comfortable (we were on the light well so no view, but very quiet.) Once we started feeling better, we couldn't have asked fora better location, behind the Cathedral, in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdrsancristobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just the best place to stay in DF! ..especially to explore the Centro Historico. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Customer service is obviously very important to management. Bowls of fresh apples, peanuts, and guavas welcome you each day. The breakfast buffets are amazing. Fresh papaya, melon, and piña are served, as is yogurt, granola, and fresh fruit juices. Eggs can be ordered cooked any way with flor de calabaza and other goodies. Every day new regional specialties show up to tempt you. Most of the rooms will be upgraded by now with modern decor and super comfy beds. There is a great rooftop to enjoy some wine and see the Catedral and the city by night. Bravo to the management to make this such a great experience! Mil gracias!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AzmoNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you are looking to stay downtown Mexico City and don't have a huge budget, this hotel is for you. It is very close the to the Zocalo, the National Palace, the double decker tour bus, shopping and restaurants. It has a small lobby but the staff is very pleasant and helpful and they speak English. Our room was plain but clean and comfortable. You can't beat the value at around 850 pesos. The only trouble we had was reserving our room. Their online reservation system didn't work so we phoned to reserve. I confirmed by phone a couple of days before our stay, which I think is a good idea. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Catedral and absolutely loved the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianekknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A very nice, small, new centrally located hotel just a couple of blocks north of the Zócalo. Cable TV and air conditioning except on the 7th floor. Good restaurant in the lobby and competent travel desk. It was a bargain until it signed up with TripAdvisor and doubled the prices.

Room Tip: If you want a good price, look for a hotel that's not attached to Trip Advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,478 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#35 of 312 in Mexico City
953 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#137 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $72 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing