We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is very clean and furnishings appear new. The price is good, especially for the location. My friend and I stayed in a double, and it was quiet and comfortable.

The lobby features a concierge who books tours and provides helpful information. It is nice that the restaurant regularly stocks free snacks in the lobby for guests, such as fruit and cookies.

Laundry service was reasonable and the wifi was pretty good.

The room did not have a clock, coffee maker, or hair dryer but none of these are essentials. The elevator is small and slow. If you don't mind taking the stairs (like me), it is not a problem.

The staff was very friendly, although sometimes slow in responding to requests (I waiting about an hour for a blanket).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heddyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel ! ! ! Our flight to Mexico City was delayed and we arrived much later than anticipated (11 PM), but they were still waiting for us. Check in was easy and our room (#413) was great (recently renovated). The location was great for us... very easy walk to many places in the Centro Historico (Zocalo, Cathedral, National Palace, HoHo bus stop, Templo Mayor, Palacio de Bellas Artes and many others)... lots of places to eat nearby and a 7-11 convenience store less than half a block away. Great city views from terraces (front & back). The staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast set-up is fantastic. We had an early departure on Sunday on a tour to Teotihuacan and they prepared us a 'box lunch' for our day trip. We would highly recommend Catedral Hotel ! ! !

Room Tip: In January 2014, we had room 413 which had been recently renovated. It was on the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suncityga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

As many others have mentioned already, this is a very good hotel. Its located right in the heart of the city, only a few minutes walk to the zuccolo and has a small 7-11 for the supplies needed for longer stays and day trips out (snacks and water). It couldnt be more central without compromising on the noise / busy-ness ratio.

when walking into the hotel lobby, you are greeted by the bell boy who spoke remarkably well english and enjoyed chatting, he was always available and it seemed like there was nothing he wouldnt do. The other front desk staff were a bit of a let down though (the reason why it didnt get the full 5/5 marks). During our stay the fron desk seemed to be populated by younger staff members who were always talking on their mobiles while people were waiting. They also seem very intent on selling the services of their chosen taxi company when we asked them to call us a taxi. We had asked them arrange a taxi from a company that we already knew the price of a journey, however, after supposedly trying many times to get through there was no answer, and when tehy finally got through there were no more taxis available... but their service was still available suprise suprise. In the end it worked out cheaper than our previous taxi, so it worked out in the end.

The rooms are excellent quality witha large comfy bed, plenty of lighting and a great air conditioner / Heater combination. the furniture and general fittings are new and all in very good working order, although in our double room the wardrobe could be a tiny bit bigger or have a place to put the suitcases, but im just being picky. The bathroom is also well maintained, but the location of the toilet flush is a little out of the way meaning having to bend down somewhat. These are only very very small inconviences though. The sliding doors to the balcony are a bit thin to completely block out all external noise, but while we stayed over new years, the police have started to close to roads around the zuccolo to traffic (i am not sure if this is a permenant feature) so this also plays no role in reducing the quality of sleep.

The cleaning staff were realyl great, there always seemed to be someone around at all times of the day clenaing everywhere and very accomodating. if you are spending the day in the room (as we did preparing for a friends wedding) they are more than happy to return hours later when the room is free to clean.

I can highly reccomend the breakfast, at 75 pesos per person it is a great bargain! All you can eat buffet arrangement with very tasty juices and some of the best scrambled eggs I have had in a long time. If there is nothing avaialble to your taste, the cook is always present to make something to your liking with absolutely no fuss.

it is a great package overall, good quality room, fairly spacious and in an extremely good location. highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast option Hotel Taxi service costs 130 pesos to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is great. The staff is excellent, and a lot of the staff speak English. The location can not be beat. Two blocks from Zocolo, and all the activity. Enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for two more overnight stays, and cancelled Ramada.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years and it just keeps getting better and better. It's newly remodeled and the housekeeping staff works all day to keep it squeaky clean. I can't see a reason to stay anywhere else in the Zocalo area. Knowing there's a noisy bar across the street, I asked for one of the rooms in the back. Instead of the thrum of disco music, I was treated to the choir and organ from the cathedral's evening mass; lovely. The hotel restaurant is very good as well but I'd skip the free breakfast (no bueno!) and walk a few blocks to Cafe Popular.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsXina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Does anyone know how to book at this wonderful hotel... or is anyone else having trouble? their web site seems inactive and Hotel cathedral doesn't seem to come up in the lists of booking partners that pops up... any help would be greatly appreciated It a great place and I want to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located close to many landmarks in Mexico City. The rooms have air condition with digital control. This is helpful in winter since many places in Mexico City don't have heating facilities. The staffs are courteous and very helpful. In particular, the concierge, Ms. Soron P., helped with our next stop hotel reservation, bus tickets etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamadTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,540 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
2,971 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
984 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $73 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing