We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #17 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel Catedral is well situated for exploring the historic district of Mexico City. It is within walking distance of many museums, the main zocolo, great restaurants, streets blocked for pedestrians, Palacio de Bellas Artes. I felt very safe as there were always families and people walking and enjoying the atmosphere. The buffet breakfast at the hotel is great. Lots of choices and a cook to prepare special request omelets or quesadillas. Dunking sweet bread in the hot chocolate is delightful! The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and adequate. The view from the roof is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a comfortable, pleasant, and relaxing stay at Hotel Catedral. The central location was optimal as we explored Mexico City, and the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. The room was well-furnished and decorated, and the balcony had a great view. A particular highlight was the complimentary breakfast, where Chef Telma prepared an incredible daily spread. She made delicious omelets and was gracious and friendly, as was the waitstaff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there about a week. Highly recommend this hotel, especially try to find a room at the top floor, which has an excellent scene of the historical cathedral in the city center. Plus, it's not expensive, booked a room for 4 person 2 beds and paid around 22$ per person for this great location. Breakfast was not included but they have a very good deal. You pay around 6$ to have unlimited buffet, which i and my friends enjoyed a lot. Most of the staff know how to deal with foreign tourists and speak English well enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyupcivelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for writing your sincere words about your recent experience with us. We are glad to know that your stay with us was very pleasant and that you and your friends could enjoy it to the fullest.

As you mentioned you have rooms with views of the cathedral and street views (some with balcony) these rooms are subject to availability on day of arrival because sometimes the hotel is full, we are glad that we could provide the opportunity to meet and invite it to know in your next visit the terraces are on the seventh floor which will also provide a spectacular view of the cathedral.

Our staff is highly trained to provide the best service to each of our guests who are no doubt the most important thing for us.

We look forward to your visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My room was clean and quiet, however my travel companion had a street facing room so he was glad he brought ear plugs. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome at all hours of the day and night. The breakfast was delicious and a wonderful way to start the day, I would recommend this hotel in a minute-

Room Tip: Interior rooms have a quiet courtyard environment as opposed to street facing rooms which feel the c...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We sincerely appreciate the time dedicated to share with us your experience on our hotel. We appreciate your preference and your excellent comments. It is a pleasure to know that your service has been totally perfect. We also inform you that the overall cleanliness of the hotel is very imporant for us as this gives them confidence to our guests. It is also very imporant for us the rest and comfort of each our guests, likewise the invite if you have any problems with the room discuss at reception, who will gladly try to help you with either a room change day next or if possible the same day that you have the disadvantage, of course all depending on the occupation of that day, but rest assured that we will always be at your service.

Also we inform you that our rooms are recently remodeldas which some already have special windows that prevent entry of any type of noise, at this time only cathedral view windows have these characteristics, windows overlooking the street programs are already changing so quickly and we lists to prevent this kind of detail in your stay.

Our breakfast buffet is always distinguished by diefrentes dishes are there, if you crave ademásde some other it may not be instantly prepares doubt do so.

We look forward to your visit with us in a short time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really good place with really kind staff. It´s clean, i would definitely recommend it. The only issue that I could talk about is that if you are planning to sleep late, there will be the housekeeping lady trying to open your room to fix the place. Or the vacum noise at 7am in the morning. At least one of these problems could be solved with a "do not disturb" sign which I forgot to use.

I think is a good place, near everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We greatly appreciate for giving us the opportunity to serve and to share your comments about our services. Our partners are always to serve you in whatever you need feel free to ask anything you ever need. Also we invite you to visit our breakfast buffet and our terraces which ecnuentran on the seventh floor and have a wonderful view of the cathedral.

Please allow me to apologize for the bad experience, and appreciate your sincere comment to respect us in this detail trabajeremos depend upon it. Please be sure that there will be a different attitude on your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments, It would be a pleasure continuing being your honored hosts in your future visits to Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just came back from an extended weekend stay at Hotel Catedral for my first visit to Mexico City. Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Had some trouble making the reservation online before I went, but I just called the hotel and the staff spoke English to help me make the reservation. No problems once we arrived, & free WiFi available in the rooms after you check-in. Breakfast is NOT included in the price of the room, it is extra. The hotel restaurant is a little pricey but it's convenient. Nice place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frizbee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are glad that our hotel met your expectations, and we have chosen as first choice when it's your first visit to Mexico, it is good to know that we fail not.

Our staff will always do the job of making him feel at home and to support you in whatever you need. It should be mentioned that our rooms have a new concept, which include safe, air conditioning, etc.. The connection is very important nowadays, sometimes you need to be connected at any time, for that reason we will offer free WiFi anywhere is hotel in addition to a business room which has computers and Similarly access is free.

Our breakfast buffet as well mention it cost extra, but rest assured that you will not regret meeting you, because every day the menu is varied and can order what you want.

We appreciate your sincere comments. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future in this your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am giving the Hotel Catredal 5 stars because it is great for what it is: a moderately priced, friendly, clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay just steps from the Zocalo and the Centro Historico. Note: you will really appreciate the quiet of a central courtyard room after spending a few hours in the crowds around the Zocalo - yikes! Granted our experience was relatively brief on an overnight layover between Puerto Escondido and the U.S. (we missed the complimentary breakfast since we had to leave at 5:00 a.m. to catch our flight home so I can't comment on the food). However, my goal had been to see as much of the Centro Historico as we could in the short time we had and in that we were successful (including the EXTRAORDINARY Diego Rivera murals in the Palacio Nacional). I would definitely recommend the Hotel Catedral for proximity to the Centro Historico. Our room was quite pleasant and all utilities ran smoothly. Finally, there is a rooftop terrace with lovely views of the city - empty when we were there though I think you can arrange to have drinks delivered from the lobby restaurant.

Room Tip: Very quiet room on the inner courtyard - no view though.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,419 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,721 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
920 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#192 of 312 in Mexico City
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $725 - $1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing