We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catedral
Nearby Hotels
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$289
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$897
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveler rating
861
438
78
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
438
78
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour desktemplo mayorexcellent locationtwo blockscentral locationbreakfast buffetsingle roomzocalo areathe hotel stafftop floorhistoric centerno air conditioningrooms are cleaninternet accessfive nightsfelt very safethe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a comfortable, pleasant, and relaxing stay at Hotel Catedral. The central location was optimal as we explored Mexico City, and the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. The room was well-furnished and decorated, and the balcony had a great view. A particular highlight was the complimentary breakfast, where Chef Telma prepared an incredible daily spread. She made delicious omelets and was gracious and friendly, as was the waitstaff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there about a week. Highly recommend this hotel, especially try to find a room at the top floor, which has an excellent scene of the historical cathedral in the city center. Plus, it's not expensive, booked a room for 4 person 2 beds and paid around 22$ per person for this great location. Breakfast was not included but they have a very good deal. You pay around 6$ to have unlimited buffet, which i and my friends enjoyed a lot. Most of the staff know how to deal with foreign tourists and speak English well enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyupcivelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for writing your sincere words about your recent experience with us. We are glad to know that your stay with us was very pleasant and that you and your friends could enjoy it to the fullest.

As you mentioned you have rooms with views of the cathedral and street views (some with balcony) these rooms are subject to availability on day of arrival because sometimes the hotel is full, we are glad that we could provide the opportunity to meet and invite it to know in your next visit the terraces are on the seventh floor which will also provide a spectacular view of the cathedral.

Our staff is highly trained to provide the best service to each of our guests who are no doubt the most important thing for us.

We look forward to your visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My room was clean and quiet, however my travel companion had a street facing room so he was glad he brought ear plugs. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome at all hours of the day and night. The breakfast was delicious and a wonderful way to start the day, I would recommend this hotel in a minute-

Room Tip: Interior rooms have a quiet courtyard environment as opposed to street facing rooms which feel the city pulse.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We sincerely appreciate the time dedicated to share with us your experience on our hotel. We appreciate your preference and your excellent comments. It is a pleasure to know that your service has been totally perfect. We also inform you that the overall cleanliness of the hotel is very imporant for us as this gives them confidence to our guests. It is also very imporant for us the rest and comfort of each our guests, likewise the invite if you have any problems with the room discuss at reception, who will gladly try to help you with either a room change day next or if possible the same day that you have the disadvantage, of course all depending on the occupation of that day, but rest assured that we will always be at your service.

Also we inform you that our rooms are recently remodeldas which some already have special windows that prevent entry of any type of noise, at this time only cathedral view windows have these characteristics, windows overlooking the street programs are already changing so quickly and we lists to prevent this kind of detail in your stay.

Our breakfast buffet is always distinguished by diefrentes dishes are there, if you crave ademásde some other it may not be instantly prepares doubt do so.

We look forward to your visit with us in a short time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really good place with really kind staff. It´s clean, i would definitely recommend it. The only issue that I could talk about is that if you are planning to sleep late, there will be the housekeeping lady trying to open your room to fix the place. Or the vacum noise at 7am in the morning. At least one of these problems could be solved with a "do not disturb" sign which I forgot to use.

I think is a good place, near everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We greatly appreciate for giving us the opportunity to serve and to share your comments about our services. Our partners are always to serve you in whatever you need feel free to ask anything you ever need. Also we invite you to visit our breakfast buffet and our terraces which ecnuentran on the seventh floor and have a wonderful view of the cathedral.

Please allow me to apologize for the bad experience, and appreciate your sincere comment to respect us in this detail trabajeremos depend upon it. Please be sure that there will be a different attitude on your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments, It would be a pleasure continuing being your honored hosts in your future visits to Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just came back from an extended weekend stay at Hotel Catedral for my first visit to Mexico City. Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Had some trouble making the reservation online before I went, but I just called the hotel and the staff spoke English to help me make the reservation. No problems once we arrived, & free WiFi available in the rooms after you check-in. Breakfast is NOT included in the price of the room, it is extra. The hotel restaurant is a little pricey but it's convenient. Nice place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frizbee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are glad that our hotel met your expectations, and we have chosen as first choice when it's your first visit to Mexico, it is good to know that we fail not.

Our staff will always do the job of making him feel at home and to support you in whatever you need. It should be mentioned that our rooms have a new concept, which include safe, air conditioning, etc.. The connection is very important nowadays, sometimes you need to be connected at any time, for that reason we will offer free WiFi anywhere is hotel in addition to a business room which has computers and Similarly access is free.

Our breakfast buffet as well mention it cost extra, but rest assured that you will not regret meeting you, because every day the menu is varied and can order what you want.

We appreciate your sincere comments. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future in this your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews