We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for much more”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #17 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel Catedral is highly rated for a reason (or rather, several): prime location in the heart of the city near the Zocalo, friendly yet professional service, good restaurants, free parking (if you're crazy enough to drive around town), and - most importantly - clean, modern rooms, all for a ridiculously reasonable price.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the recently remodeled rooms - worth the small extra cost.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clumsy_plumsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for writing so appreciable comment, we are glad to know that our services were very favorable from our location to the smallest detail of our room so our employees are always the same to help both recpecion, restaurant, maids and parking.

Also we inform you that we terrezas on the seventh floor overlooking the street or overlooking the cathedral we invite you to visit our wonderful views. Our rooms have just been remodeldas.

Forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location. It more than lived up to our expectations. The room was well designed,comfortable and kept very clean. The staff were extremely helpful, particularly the information desk. The breakfast buffet was good value. We felt very safe and well cared for. We are returning in January for a couple of days as we had such a good time.

Room Tip: Our room had a window onto a light well so was quiet. Rooms with windows on to the street may be noi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

It was a pleasure to provide our service and are happy to know that our location was full help to know the city and thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

The rooms have just been remodeled and also inform you that we have rooms with cathedral view and balcony rooms such sujentan to availability on the day of arrival, for your next visit. Also we are glad to know that breakfast was like and all our employees are in the best dispocision to help you with your needs.

See you soon with us in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was a top choice in the latest Lonely Planet Mexico and they were not wrong. It is very close to restaurants, the metro, historic sites and shops. The housekeeping and front desk staff were both very courteous. In addition, the front desk staff spoke English and was very helpful in organizing a day trip to Teotihuacan for us and getting us taxis when we needed them. Would return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard. You won't have a view, but those in front face a bar wh...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppler-Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your comment and it is a pleasure for us to know that we can make sense at home, our employees are always in the best dispocision to help you with your needs because we are here to serve.

We are glad that our location favored him greatly in their rooms and the possibility that he might visit the places around us.

Look forward to your visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very simple, comfortable hotel at a reasonable price. We only stayed like 2 nights, so we didn't want something fancy. We had the breakfast buffet in the morning, it was good.The location is great. The view on the two terraces is awesome. We would go there at night and have a little drink and snack and just chill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_leona16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you very much for letting us know his feelings and we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and comfortable, and know that breakfast was entirely to his liking.

Also we do know that we have actual room with cathedral view or view Donceles which has a small balcony on your next visit can let us know and be able to please any preference for your next visit.


Look forward to your visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

For just $53 a night, this is my third stay and the best, they are permanently investing in improvements, being the last they offer AC in the room (in winter is not a big issue but could be in summer. Only floors 1 and 7 pending to install, the bellboy told me). This is the only hotel in town i know that offers AC at this rate. Very clean, tasty food (I prefer the restaurant in the front with nice street view, rather than the buffet breakfast that is in a closed room in the back). Nice and lively lobby, courteous staff, they are not flawless but prompty to solve any minor issue. Great location,dont expect refinements like fine dining or amusement,but who cares!, there are plenty options for that in the close neighborhood. Bathing tip: Floors 1 to 3 have GREAT water pressure who makes taking a shower a roman pleasure (specially if you go from hot slowly to cold :) You can always compensate the better view in the upper floors hanging out in one of the two rooftop terraces with different nice views each. By the way, as of the improvements, the photos of the rooms i see here are outdated, they renewed also the bedwear with much more appealing ones, i will try to post some for the audience if i can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fsolars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

as you already said the hotel is in remodeling and everything in order to serve you better, so we let you know that the air conditioner is already in operation from 2 to 6 floor, thank you very much for your comment as satifactorio for us lets us know we're doing a good job for you, and know some things we still need to improve.

It is also gratifying that our employees make you feel at home helping you with your needs and likewise let you know that the restaurant of their choice changes day by day dish besides offering some complimentary drink or low cost.

We hope to have it here very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location. Room did not include coffee maker or table lamps and bathroom did not include washcloths. Hotel did not have a bar or any place to hang out in the evening. Very outdated restaurant with an outdated menu and it would have been nice to have a nice meal in the evening with wine etc.
Best attribute is the location and it is clean but room did not include a lamp!!! Could not read or do anything in room other than watch TV. Boring place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Catherine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived on Friday, November 23rd at 8:00 pm. Made a reservation two months in advance with a credit card deposit. Much to my dismay, when I arrived to the hotel I was told that they were very sorry but they had no more rooms available. I had even confirmed my reservation with a phone call the day before arrival. The fact that I even had a printed copy of my reservation confirmation sent from their website didn't seem to make any difference. Apparently a busload of Mexican tourists had arrived 30 minutes before I did and they gave my room away. Hotel Catedral offered me a room at another hotel across town that they owned, which I refused (who wants to stay 5 miles from the Zocalo in the middle of nowhere). While standing in the lobby, made a reservation at Hampton Suites (a five minute walk away) which turned out to be a much better hotel anyway. My point is this; why make a reservation if it is not going to be honored? Not what you want to encounter after a 5 hour flight and a one hour taxi drive. I have stayed in this hotel in the past on at least five occasions; seems like the front desk doesn't know that they are doing anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank sharpeiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,422 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,733 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
920 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#198 of 312 in Mexico City
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $725 - $1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing