We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't honor my reservation”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived on Friday, November 23rd at 8:00 pm. Made a reservation two months in advance with a credit card deposit. Much to my dismay, when I arrived to the hotel I was told that they were very sorry but they had no more rooms available. I had even confirmed my reservation with a phone call the day before arrival. The fact that I even had a printed copy of my reservation confirmation sent from their website didn't seem to make any difference. Apparently a busload of Mexican tourists had arrived 30 minutes before I did and they gave my room away. Hotel Catedral offered me a room at another hotel across town that they owned, which I refused (who wants to stay 5 miles from the Zocalo in the middle of nowhere). While standing in the lobby, made a reservation at Hampton Suites (a five minute walk away) which turned out to be a much better hotel anyway. My point is this; why make a reservation if it is not going to be honored? Not what you want to encounter after a 5 hour flight and a one hour taxi drive. I have stayed in this hotel in the past on at least five occasions; seems like the front desk doesn't know that they are doing anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank sharpeiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Next to museums and major downtown catedral. Walking distance to many attractions. Restaurant in Hotel, 3 stars. Staff very courteous. Spacious rooms, older hotel, but is has been remodeled. No bugs. Very good value

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cualneci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

1) great location close to the Cathedral, Zocalo, Temlo Mayor, Metro and la torre Latinoamericana
2) excellent breakfasts - hot and cold national meals in a form of the buffet
3) cosy and spacious rooms with new TV sets and safe box
4) very clean bathroom with anything you can need
5) good value for money!
6) english speaking staff
7) you will be offered a free ticket for metro
8) rooms are quiet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel Catedral's self description as "luxury" is somewhat ambitious, but if you get beyond that, this is a lovely little hotel in a fantastic location, right round the corner from the Zocalo. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable (although sadly lacking in safeboxes and hot drink-making facilities), and the complementary wifi is reliable. They ran out of single rooms, so I got upgraded to a nice double on the top floor (number 707), overlooking the roof terrace - it could get a little noisy with people sitting out there, but it was worth it for the view. I didn't try the breakfast, but the restaurant was rather disappointing when dinner there the first night. Plenty of great options in the vicinity, so no need to eat there anyway. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just a block off the Zocalo in the old historic city center. Great service from all the staff. Excellent breakfasts also. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. I'd have no reservations about going back or referring anyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, but be prepared for street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill55505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great value, great location right behind the cathedral and the Zocalo. A good experience on our first trip to this very intense and exciting City. There were no downsides to our stay here and the location really is unbeatable. The traffic seems to be almost always gridlocked so the ability to stroll out of the hotel door and be in the centre of the city with all it's sights within walking distance was a boon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed here for 3 different trips to Mexico City now. The customer service is outstanding, especially the bellman Luis Angel! He goes above and beyond to assist with anything you need. the location is is perfect. close to everything. The breakfast buffet was very good. all is all this hotel is the best around for the $$.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamariav516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,517 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
2,920 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
906 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $70 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing