We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe choice and an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night in February 2012. The reviews suggested that this was a safe, comfortable choice for a stay in Mexico City, and they were right. What surprised me was the luxurious nature of the hotel: my room was very spacious, with a huge bed and plenty of room to move around, plus a jacuzzi. This was, I believe, one of the Hotel's suites; I had booked a regular single room but got upgraded due to availability constraints. If you're willing to pay extra then it's worth shelling out for one of these - I expect it's still very good value (or at least it will be for British travellers, who enjoy a favourable exchange rate with the Peso).

Service was smiley and helpful. Check out time is 11am and my flight from the airport didn't depart until 9pm that evening, so I was really pleased to find that the lobby was willing to take care of my luggage in the interim; they also booked me a taxi.

Overall, then, the Hotel Catedral was hard to fault (albeit based on a very brief stay).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

The biggest selling points for this hotel are the location and the price, it's a 5 minute walk to the historic centre and metro and from there you can go anywhere in Mexico city. There is so much happening in Mexico City that you will probably not be spending much time in your hotel room and the price here was excellent. For a very reasonable price you will get a clean, safe and comfortable room with all the basics that you need for short stay, and an easy to find and central location to return to after a long day in the city. The room has a special purified water outlet so you don't need to buy bottled water if you are concerned about drinking water.
Great view from the balcony rooms, even better views from the rooftop terrace if you feel like just sitting and relaxing outside. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating even with my lack of Spanish speaking skills, some of them can speak English very well. I will certainly be considering this hotel again on my next trip to Mexico city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zoowhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Hotel Catedral. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable, at a moderate price. Though they don't have a gym, if you're someone who likes to work out (like me) there is a nice gym just 4 blocks away that will give you a discounted daily rate and has long opening hours. Finally, my friend and I accidentally left something important at the hotel and the staff held it safely for a week until we could get back to the DF to pick it up. I highly recommend Hotel Catedral!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a great mid range hotel very conveniently located in Mexico City. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast in the morning is delicious. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They are extremely helpful. Also, don't worry about the safety of your belongings. I left a very nice jacket in my room and they staff saved the jacket for me and I was able to collect the jacket a week later even though I did not report the jacket as missing!

I would recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csnively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed there 3 years ago and suggested it to our daughter and her boyfriend who are there now. They love it as well- great location, great price.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Located only meters from the Zocalo, you get the benefit of being close to the action, without all the noise.

We had a recently renovated room with a view of the Cathedral. I really recommend you request a room like this and pay a little more.

The morning buffet breakfast was great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbourne505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Have stayed in the Hotel Catedral many times over the years and it never disappoints. If you are like me and are looking for value, location , cleanliness and service, look no further. Its a bonus to have a good restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,540 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
2,971 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
984 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $73 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing