We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A timeless jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maria Cristina
Ranked #106 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A timeless jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the years and always pleased. Great location, friendly helpful staff and overall very comfortable. Minor nits. A coffee maker would be great. And the
Tubs are high so a bar to hold would make it easier to climb in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfmarkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    128
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
48
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The property is in an excellent location just across Reforma from the Zona Rosa(and its high room rates).It has a beautiful garden and a traditional Mexican atmosphere.
I stayed there about 14 years ago. Nothing has changed, which is great insofar as the staff are still friendly and helpful, not so great as the rooms need some updating. However, for the price it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolpit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just off Reforma avenue this hotel is in a great location. Tip: if arriving by taxi tell them the Lerma road is right behind the main government building on Reforma as they will never find the hotel by name. Positives: staff friendly and helpful. Safe taxis with published rates right outside. Good restaurants in safe walking at night. Negatives: breakfast not included. If you have breakfast the servers chase you for a full tip when you pay. Best to go to nearby coffee shops, juice stalls or the mall. Internet charges of 80 pesos a day.

Room Tip: We took the first room offered which was small, hot and noisy. We asked to change the next day and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We made our reservations with plenty of time but at the end we have to make some changes and it was not a problem with the hotel. Also we ask if they can hold us a piece of our luggage and they were really nice and careful with that.The price was very reasonable and the location was perfect; the people and the hotel are nice but the smell of tobacco on the room was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuyis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for several days with friends, and it came highly recommended. The accommodation is good value (we stayed in a superior room, for very little extra cash this is a good upgrade), the reception staff are very helpful and the restaurant attached represents good value for money. It is in the centre of Mexico City in a nice area (British Embassy is just a few blocks away). We would recommend it to anyone, whether on a romantic break, business trip or going in a group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelchael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Maria Cristina has been around for a while, but the renovations keep it from showing its age. The rooms are adequate and the restaurant is as well. What makes it special is their large lawn with garden tables with food and drink service. It's a very comfortable hotel, very reasonably priced, and I'm glad we returned. My only criticism was a charge (although small) for internet.

And, the bar and restaurant scene on Rio Lerma (far enough away to keep the hotel area quiet and near enough to walk to at any time of day) is really hopping. This will be one of the reasonably priced "hot spots" within a year.

Room Tip: For most of the year you needn't worry about paying extra for an airconditioned room. You reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were visiting Mexico City for a couple days and one of our local friends recommended this fine hotel. This property is well maintained with a sparkling lobby, clean rooms, and good service. We had a very comfortable stay and the price is right. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Novageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Bristol
#150 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Eurostars Suites Reforma
#114 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina
Address: Calle Rio Lerma No. 31 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maria Cristina is located in the most important Financial Center in Mexico City, near the best entertainment places. Enjoy comfort and top service in one of our 150 guest rooms with internet service (WIFI)and convenient hotel amenities such as restaurant-bar, beauty salon, souvenir shop, a business center and function space for meetings or special events and the hotel has a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Mexico City
Hotel Maria Cristina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing