We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Ranked #258 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business trip”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Boutique Hotel de Cortes for 3 days while in Mexico City on business. The hotel is inside an old baroque-type building. It is a small hotel with very friendly staff and well appointed rooms. The rooms have very modern finishes. I loved the stand-up rainfall shower and the bed was very comfortable. Lastly, I highly recommend the guacamole in the restaurant/bar.

Regarding some comments about noise in the garden area, I did not experience anything like that, since I stayed Tuesday through Friday on a business trip. However, all of the rooms do face into the central "garden" area so I could see how any significant noise in that area could carry into the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    23
    22
    28
See reviews for
18
73
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a hotel that markets itself as a 'boutique' hotel, which according to Wikipedia are hotels that "often contain luxury facilities of varying size in unique or intimate settings with full service accommodations." The hotel itself is beautiful, being a house that belonged to Hernan Cortes, therefore dating from the 16th century. The location is ideal, just facing the Alameda park in the historic centre, close to Bellas Artes and a few blocks away from zocalo. We stayed there with our one-year-old daughter this past week (August 2013), and it was a real disaster. The hotel has a roof-top bar that blasts music until early hours of the morning, and when the music finally stops, the drunk patrons linger for much longer, producing as much noise as the DJ. What is worse, on a rainy evening (very common during the summer), they move the bar/DJ/drunken patrons to the central courtyard, which all the rooms face, this being a colonial house. This happened during our stay, and the noise levels kept our daughter up all night. We complained to the front desk, and their response was that they would let us have a free martini at the bar. The idea of having what is essentially a night club in the courtyard on which hotel rooms face is simply unacceptable, and the fact that our complaints were not taken seriously by the hotel staff communicates that this hotel values their bar/restaurant clientele over their guests. A hotel which provides a bed in which you cannot sleep for much of the night does not provide the most basic service of any hotel, let alone full-service accommodation; I therefore feel that this hotel does not fit the wikipedia definition quoted above. While all the staff are very pleasant, the quality of customer service is beyond disappointing.

This hotel is definitely not recommended for visits with children or if you feel that sleep is necessary in your daily routine.

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel is susceptible to the noise issues that I discuss in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Really sorry so much for noise in the central garden the night, we do not work normally with the bar evening, was an emergency rain indeed ask for an apology and hope to serve you again with your family, guaranted a stay pleasant because we work for you.

With my Best Regards

Mr. Martin Morales
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Boutique Hotel de Cortes is a good blend of the old and the new. The exterior is a classic historic colonial building. The rooms are very modern and have flair. The staff is very helpful and very vigilant. There is security at the entrance and you feel very safe during your stay. Given the excellent location, with in walking distance of the Historic District, I felt that the price was excellent. We were able to leave our luggage in a storage room the day we departed, which made things easy for us when we went out one last time before leaving Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very well located on the edge of the historic district. Lots of great sites in walking distance and the metro is just steps away. Friendly,attentive staff. Rooftop bar closed during our visit because of rainy weather but the downstairs bar was fine for snack and drinks. Breakfast fine for convenience but try other nearby places too. Our room was very large with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. WIFI could use some help. The street noise of some rooms may bother some people We upgraded the room a bit but I wouldn't bother. The adjoining sitting room was dark and the chairs uncomfortable. I think this hotel is better than the other reviews claim. Location, amenities, hard to beat.

Room Tip: Try for a room off Hidalgo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Mexico, D.F. for the first time in June. We chose Boutique Hotel Cortes because of its proximity to a museum where a friend's artwork was being displayed. Upon check in we were given a guidebook and map. Concierge Alfredo helped us to locate several ATM (bank machines) and pointed out some major sites on the map. Our room was on the first floor set back from the street. We noticed that the internet was spotty in the room. It worked well enough. Connection from the courtyard was stronger, so we would take our tablets with us to breakfast. As one reviewer pointed out, the courtyard music was a bit distracting and I also would have preferred Mexican music. Maybe some old boleros to set the tone.
At first we were disappointed that the rooftop wasn't fully open throughout the week but we got over it. You can request to sit up there for lunch but we preferred the cool temps of the courtyard. We also realized that many of the hotel patrons seemed to be visiting on business and the noise from the bar might be a nuisance on weekdays. The bar is open Thursday-Saturday. Expect high prices. Afterall, Mexico city is like any other big city- the trendy bars have inflated prices because you are paying for atmosphere.

All staff was great. Alfredo helped arrange travel to Teotihuacan. Incidentally the hotel chef Jesus is a driver on his day off and he took us to the site, introduced us to a guy who gave us a brief overview and waited for us in the parking lot. On the way back to the city he dropped us near the Palacio de Bellas Artes. The next day he came out from the kitchen to ask about our meal and our plans for the day. We wanted to go to the Anthropological museum so he suggested the bus and gave us directions. He personally walked us to the bus stop and even waited to ensure we got on the right bus!

Overall, we had a great experience. Not all of the staff is fluent in English; this gave me a chance to practice my so-so Spanish. If we couldn't understand eachother, other staff members were called over to translate. Rooms were very clean, electrical was a bit wonky at times, staff was pleasant and willing to help, location was great.

Room Tip: First floor rooms set back from street are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaCecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here while on a 24 lay-over in Mexico City
Spacious rooms with relatively modern decor. Aircon was a little underpowered which meant it was cooler outside my room than in. Stayed during the week and rooftop bar was not open, sad.
Breakfast was disappointing, I received what seemed like a pint of yogurt accompanied by a shot glass or granola for a horrendous price. SELL . Best to take a walk for a better breakfast deal.
Overall value for location and room size , but not much else to say about it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnrsmut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

All of which were required for my stay!
I nearly lost my sense of humour but the memories of endless chuckles over Fawlty Towers helped me retain it.
It started to go wrong when we checked in - I was travelling with a friend and we had requested a twin bedded room (i.e. two beds). I appreciate that there could be a misunderstanding but the receptionist apologised when we checked in that such a room was not available so they had upgraded us to a double room (so they knew what we wanted). The room was dark and the lamps didn't work (because half the sockets weren't working). So the nice maintenance chap came to see us - we were on very good terms by the time we left!
The Wi-Fi didn't work in the room even though we had the code (we found out as we were leaving that the hotel had a laptop or something that we could have borrowed)
We wanted a light snack and a drink so we tried the roof bar - which had been one of the main attractions of the hotel - it isn't open in the week - and they cover everything up so you can't even sit up there to enjoy the views. So we went to the restaurant in the courtyard, which was really busy with one poor chap covering the bar and serving the tables. It took over 30 minutes for us to get a drink (everyone was complaining) and the chef eventually served us - we didn't dare ask for a second drink.
We asked to be moved to a twin room the next day as one was available. Unfortunately nobody told housekeeping and our laundry failed to follow us. I could understand that but not the receptionist almost calling us liars, assuring us the laundry was in our room and eventually him coming to check for himself (as I was taking a shower!). He had been asking the housekeeper where our laundry was and she had been saying in our room (not knowing we had moved), Not sure what he said to her but she was in tears when she arrived with the laundry so we had to reassure her it was all Ok and not her fault.
The shower in the new room didn't work 9so maintenance chap made one of his viists to us) and neither did the telephone, so when the receptionist asked us to phone if we had any more problems - we couldn't!
Our new room was in the courtyard, on the route to the lift for the roof bar which was now open, so we had chatty people walking past way into the night.
The good news was the Wi-Fi worked on the roof top.
It would not take much to get these points right and then it would be a great hotel - as the location is really good, so I can see why it has such varied reviews.
I hope the management sort the issues before everyone stops going there (I will not be staying there again - we transferred to another hotel after the laundry fiasco and it was a joy not to have to deal with all these things whilst on holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor away as it minimises the people traffic going to the roof bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJMglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maulinder, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your very much for your comments, are very important and make us see the possible operation to correct errors.
really sorry the terrace lounge bar only open Thursday through Saturday, give us the opportunity to welcome you back at your hotel in mexico this, we are at your service waiting to see you again.

Lic. Martin Morales
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#125 of 306 in Mexico City
132 reviews
Centro Historico
BEST WESTERN Hotel Majestic
BEST WESTERN Hotel Majestic
#116 of 306 in Mexico City
433 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 306 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#47 of 306 in Mexico City
281 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#15 of 306 in Mexico City
1,786 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Property: Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Address: Esq. Reforma, Centro Historico Avenida Hidalgo 85 | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing