We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Mexico City
Level Contributor
414 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We celebrated my birthday weekend here. It was not the first time I have stayed here and rooms are fine. Views are good. They have tough competition in rooms from Four Seasons and St. Regis and views from St. Regis.

However, the spa is the best in Mexico City and it was the ultimate luxury and reasonably priced at $1665 M.N. for a 75 minute massage and unlimited use of the faciilities. We spent four hours there and left in heaven.

I had not been to this place's Sunday brunch in years and we did that on Sunday before heading home. It is not in the lobby anymore but in the Los Canarios restaurant. It was OK but not worth repeating.

I will most definitely be back at the spa if nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    323
    94
    17
    17
See reviews for
118
221
77
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st louis, mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here on my next trip to Mexico City.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltzingmatilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I love this hotel. The attention to detail is marvelous. The location is good. It feels like a boutique hotel. I have gone to Mexico City many times over the years and won't even try anywhere else. Oh and the sopa de tortilla is worth skipping a dinner outside for...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sloopy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed one night and did not see much outside the hotel. Overall room was not bad a little small but more than enough room for one person. Very quiet which is always a plus after a long day of traveling. Wi-fi and wired connections were very good. Los Canarios restaurant had a good selection and delicious meals, friendly staff. La Joya which does the breakfast buffet was not as good due to it being very small, was always bumping into someone at the buffet line. Other than that not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
209 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

This was an outstanding luxury hotel, especially perfect for the business traveler. My suite (preselected by our host) was very large, had 2 bathrooms, one with separate whirlpool tub and a full shower. Views of the Paseo de la Reforma, yet no traffic noise at all (on 6th floor). Pleasant attentive restarant.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arcee_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

I stayed at the Marquis Reforma (Mexico City) in June 2008 while in Mexico City for business. As a property for the business traveler I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable, the staff is attentive, and the location is very good. Why don't I recommend it for a family vacation? The hotel is relatively expensive, the meals even more so, and all the various services in the hotel are priced for the business traveler on expense account rather than the family on vacation. So if you are going to Mexico City for business--at least business in the part of this sprawling metropolis where the Reforma is located--I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The pricing of the business services.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tkelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

We have staid in this hotel for 4 nights in one of their junior suites from the 17 of Feb, here is what we found:

In general the hotel is a 16 years old City hotel and a treasure in respect to Art Collection and Decoration; in 2005 the hotel was rewarded as one of the 100 best Hotel properties in the world. Since then the maintenance has being neglected resulting in what it is today. This is even more evident if you know their sister property. However having said so, it is important to know that renovation programs are planed (some has being finished already) in the near future to bring the hotel back on track.

The guest rooms are of very good size, (however are also in urgent need to be renovated in respect to their decoration and furniture) and offer a good value for their room rates. The bath room is well equipped and offers very good amenities; housekeeping did work well and always timely. The room-service was fast and the products served were of good quality and hot.

We had our meals in both restaurants one of which (the restaurant on the ground floor) operates only during day time and closes early evening, the other (located on the first floor) is operating also at night time. In both cases the F&B served was of good quality, the Employees were friendly and helpful at all times and managed their duty well and efficient.

Their Lobby bar is part of the refurbishment presently in progress, the service and evening life entertainment is good, prices are fine for the standard and once the refurbishment is finished will be a very nice place to meet and enjoy a drink.

Their banquet facilities are very well designed, with all the amenities needed to offer a great service for small to large functions of all kind. The area also offers quite nice areas for break up and meal services during the functions.

Front desk check in/out was fast and efficient, bell boy service was well trained and for sure very helpful and ready to go the extra mile even at night time. The rates for the hotel operated limousine service are well priced and I would strongly recommend using this service at all times.

We both had Spa service, one was perfectly executed keeping up with all standards of a Leading Spa of the World, and the one I took however fail in all aspects. In respect to the Spa operation itself I was not impressed and the price value at present is way out of line, keeping the present Operating Standards, Decoration and Guest Services as well as Spa Amenities in mind.

Once the renovation and refurbishment is finished I am sure this Grand Lady will once again shine.

  • Liked — Bell Boy Service
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa

Property: Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 465 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired at the Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, a Leading Hotels of the World property located along Mexico City's fashionable Paseo de la Reforma avenue. This is where chic, contemporary style meets warm, intuitive service. It's the personal touches that really make us stand out. Friendly, attentive and always discreet, our staff takes the time to understand your unique needs. We're home to the only certified Leading SPA in Mexico City. Allow our therapists at our spa to help you relax with a holistic treatment or stress-melting massage. Complete your busy day dining at one of our three exquisite restaurants, where you can dinf the best of the Mexican , Spanish, Italian, Argentinian and Japanese gastronomies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marquis Reforma
Marquis Reforma Mexico City
Marquis Hotel Mexico
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing