We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
philadelphia, pa, usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Marquis Reforma hotel is a beautiful hotel with wonderful art deco touches in the Chapultepec Park area of Mexico City. The hotel is right on the Paseo de Reforma and is walking distance to the National Anthropology Museum and the National Zoo in Chapultepec Park. From the moment you step out of your vehicle, the service is excellent - the doormen, the bellhops, the check in staff - thank you! We were in an Executive Suite and happened to have a balcony overlooking Paseo de Reforma - wonderful - thanks to the check in folks who gave us this room. A balcony is very nice and not many of the rooms in the hotel have one! Our room was on the 1st floor and there was a little bit of noise from the elevators but any noise was manageable since we really wanted a balcony room. Very comfortable king size bed, separate seating area with a couch, coffee table and desk and chair. Nice size marble bathroom with a huge shower (no bathtub), bathrobes and slippers and nice fluffy towels. L'Occitane toiletries are a nice touch. Very big closet with plenty of room to hang up your stuff, drawers, safe and an iron and ironing board - a very nice touch. There is also a small refrigerator/mini bar set up.
Turn down service in the evening with chocolates on the pillow, slippers set by the side of the bed and fresh fruit.
We had breakfast included with our stay and Mon-Friday it is an amazing buffet breakfast with all kinds of things to try. Sunday is brunch or menu service - also pretty amazing. I have to say that the breakfasts were the best meals that the restaurant served. We had dinner 1 night in Canarios and it was average and a bit disappointing after the amazing breakfasts (this is why I only gave 4 stars instead of 5). Service in the restaurant, however, is excellent.
The hotel also has the largest hotel spa in Mexico City - it is huge with an indoor pool, numerous treatment rooms, separate locker and jacuzzi and steam room areas for men & women - we only tried the pool and jacuzzi - I wish I had more time there as some of the treatments were very enticing! The hotel does have WiFi at a cost of 200 pesos per day - with the availability of WiFi these days, it should be free but some hotels in the USA and other places around the world are still charging - this policy should change. Our package included WiFi so we did not have to pay and I have to say their WiFi service is fast and pretty good.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in Mexico City - great location, beautiful hotel and friendly staff who really know how to make you feel welcome! Thanks so much for a great stay!

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which has a balcony, however, there is some elevator noise but we felt having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to know that all staff provide optimal service quality to our guests.

We appreciate your positive feedback and would like to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    330
    95
    17
    17
See reviews for
122
224
78
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked through a mileage program and hotel totally messed it up -- just got it straight in March when hotel admitted they were wrong -- so now I can do hotel review!

Upon arrival we asked for two rooms each with a king bed -- as in the reservation. We were shown to 2 rooms with 2 beds each.

We had stayed there in August and there was loud construction nearby so I asked for rooms on the quieter side of the hotel. "Construction? What construction??" they said -- so I assumed there wasn't any more hammering...WRONG! 6:45AM!!

Well, we had a wedding at 12 Noon so after breakfast in the coffee shop (where essentially you are charged for breathing -- like a separate charge for each cup of coffee although they don't tell you that when they come around encouraging you to have more coffee!! -- ) we were in the lobby and we asked someone else about the noise (as we had 2 more nights!). We were told that "Of course the street side is much quieter." They did offer to move us, so we did that at 11PM when we returned from our festivities. My son and his family were leaving the hotel at 6 AM for the airport so they didn't care...

Of course the new room had no hair-dryer and was missing a bedside lamp, but I had my own dryer and we were too exhausted to worry about any more details. We also made our own transportation arrangements or took street cabs as the hotel supplies only very expensive black suburbans -- probably armored --

All that said, other service people were lovely -- but I am not staying there again. There are too many other hotels in Mexico City!

Room Tip: Street side!! Better view and that's a BIG skyscraper being built -- and they work during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Miss. Rebeca


I really appreciate all your comments.

I would appreciate if you could provide me your contact details to get in touch with you, since the Hotel Marquis Reforma does not have any mileage program. So, I would be please to investigate the situation about your reservation.

You can contact me to my phone number: 1800 901 800 7600 or 01 55 52 5229-1200

Best Regards,

Monica Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel did not fail in any aspect. They know what they are doing. The rooms are luxurious and full of amenities one expects in a premium hotel. The restaurant Los Canarios, which does not belong to the hotel, but it is in the same building – is a real treat. The ony two, you can say “negative” comments are: 1) It is very tacky to charge a $250. 00 pesos per day for Internet access. If you want to upgrade 1 MG, they hike it up all the way to $350.00 pesos. If they are charging hundreds of dollars per night, I think it is unreasonable to score another 60, 70 dollars from you using this service, which is usually free, and 2) the swimming pool at their Spa does not accept children under 18. Again, if you are paying top dollars, they should extend the courtesy. We saw the pool online, and assumed that we were entitled to use it; but that is not the case. My 5 year old was quite disappointed. It is very safe, you need your room card to use the elevator, and they always have at least two security people by the front doors watching who comes in and out. The rooms have a safe, useful in México. I enjoyed watching the Spanish channel TVE and the Italian Rai.it on their cable TV. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. NO noise to be heard, anywhere, extremely quiet. The rooms come with a pull-down curtain, which blocks all the sunlight. ***** Stars for this hotel. However, either lower the Wi-Fi charge, or include it as an amenity.

Room Tip: I assume all the room are as quiet as the one they gave us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardoBernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Bernardo

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Marquis Reforma, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet cost and access to our SPA, in our web site you will find some special rates that include both services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Marquis Reforma for seven nights and loved it! The rooms are spacious,beautiful and comfortable. I would recommend upgrading to a suite for a fraction more, it's worth it. The restaurants in the hotel are great if you are tired and not feeling like getting out after a busy day. The staff is excellent, gracious and everyone is bilingual. The concierge staff is also full of great ideas and can offer many great tours. The hotel is also located in a great spot so you are able to walk to many great restaurants and sights in the area but also it's very easy to get anywhere in the city from the hotel because of it's great location. We were very happy with our stay there and would recommend the hotel to any of our friends. I've heard in other reviews complaints about paying for the wifi and that might be the only thing I was not excited about as well. They even make you pay per device so if there are two people with computers and phones, it quickly adds up. Aside from that one thing, I loved the hotel, the spa and all the lovely food they offer. I would most definitely go back there next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evapistola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Miss. Eva:

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Marquis Reforma, I will share your comments with our team regarding you experiences.

I´m glad you got the chance to be in our Junior Suite and really hope you found it confortable,
we are working with our internet company to be able to offer better alternatives in the future.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I usually stay in the four seasons - but will use this instead - its across the road and way better. Firstly its got some very nice restuants in the building which is very convinient. The rooms are large and the lounge is separate from the bedroom which I really like. Wake up calls were reliable as was the airport pickup service. The internet and breakfast were included. The gym was well equiped with helpful staff.

The only negative was a rude lady at checkout who tried to charge me for the included internet - but backed off quickly - albeit rudely when i told her that it was confirmed in my email and on check in that it was included - I guess she was just taking a chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Marquis Reforma. Our Guests´ feedback is always important to us.

We are constantly working with our Staff to improve the service and your comments are very helpful for us, please be sure that we will take measures regarding front desk actitud in order to provide quality service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Marquis Reforma is in a great location on the Paseo de la Reforma, right in the heart off the business district. The staff is very friendly, helpful and many speak well in English if you don't speak Spanish. The restaurants are excellent, especially Canarios for lunch or dinner. I'd highly recommend the hotel especially for business, but would happily return for pleasure too.

Room Tip: The suites on the front are lovely but can be noisy if there's a protest going on, which can hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest

I appreciate the time you have taken to send us your positive comments during your stay at the Hotel, as well our services and our restaurants.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Marquis Reforma was in a good location, the beds were wonderful and we loved how the rooms were set up with a small hallway/outside door and 2 rooms off each small hallway. This made it great when traveling with children - you could have 2 rooms next to each other with a single entrance - perfect! however this is definitely NOT the place to stay with children. They have an indoor pool but children are not allowed in the pool. We stayed over the holidays and unfortunately the pool was closed, the restaurant was closed, etc. There was nothing on their website noting the closures. If we had known about the 'no children' rule or the closures, we would have stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KriCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Gerente at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear. Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa.
I´m sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding children’s activities; we are pleased to inform you we are working on that, in your next visit we will have a lot of options for children’s that you can enjoy in the city.

Your feedback is very important to us, and we will work to improve the points you mentioned, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#6 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#15 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa

Property: Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 465 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired at the Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, a Leading Hotels of the World property located along Mexico City's fashionable Paseo de la Reforma avenue. This is where chic, contemporary style meets warm, intuitive service. It's the personal touches that really make us stand out. Friendly, attentive and always discreet, our staff takes the time to understand your unique needs. We're home to the only certified Leading SPA in Mexico City. Allow our therapists at our spa to help you relax with a holistic treatment or stress-melting massage. Complete your busy day dining at one of our three exquisite restaurants, where you can dinf the best of the Mexican , Spanish, Italian, Argentinian and Japanese gastronomies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marquis Reforma
Marquis Reforma Mexico City
Marquis Hotel Mexico
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing