We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Ranked #14 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Nikko in Mexico City for a couple of night while on a business trip. The hotel itself is certainly a five star hotel, and is easily equivalent to an American 4.5-5 star. The foyer is beautiful, as are the rooms.

I found the service excellent and people helpful. One comment I will make is that while the rooms are excellent, the beds are quite firm. So, if you like a softer bed, you should call ahead and ask if they can accommodate or stay in one of the other nice hotels (I'm told) within a 1km radius.

My room was on the 32nd floor and provided a wonderful view into Mexico City. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. They have an interesting alarm clock / light control / radio device at the side of the bed that I really liked. Each light in the room as well as in-room speakers can be controlled at the touch of a button.

Internet access is provided either wirelessly or via Ethernet cable. I used the cable, and was gobstopped at the speed. I averaged about 1MB/s (900kB/s+) and was actually streaming high resolution video without hiccups at any given time. This hotel's Internet access is quite possibly the best I've had in a hotel.

On an unrelated note, this hotel has great Asian-fusion food. As a quite evening meal, I had the teriyaki chicken skewers in the lobby bar which come over rice, and they were delicious. Moreover, if you're looking for a full meal, there is a Japanese-inspired restaurant on the premises (2nd floor maybe?) that cooks food on a grill in front of your party. I do not recall what these are called in the US, but this one was particularly good.

Room Tip: I booked directly from the hotel's website and received an excellent rate on a 'Nikko Premie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGeorgiaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Booked what I thought was a 3 night reservation in May. Two days before travel, I noticed my AMEX was charged for one night. Turns out that when I was navigating on the site and hit back arrow to choose another room, the dates reset to same day for one night. I never noticed this at the time. Despite explaining to the Hotel staff that not only was the one night charge an error but it would have been impossible for me to be in Mexico City the same day as the "flawed" reservation was made, the hotel staff refused to issue a credit. This despite having a track record as a guest of the hotel. Their gross indifference and intransigence was just incredible. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again and I have emailed all of my friends and business associates to tell them never to stay at the Hotel Nikko Mexico City. They are more interested in shafting a customer for a quick buck than making things right.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMR009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nikko Hotel Mexico City is the place to stay when visiting that city. Right in the hotel zona and close to the many museums and national park not to mention right across the street from the convention center. Nikko has a great indoor pool, sauna, steam room and exercise room after a long day out on the town. The hotel has several excellent restaurants and tennis courts on site. The safety is top notch which is key in Mexico City, security guards all over and by the exits. Town cars and taxi services can be arranged right at the concierges desk around the corner from the front desk. Important as not all taxi’s can be trusted here. Large restaurant bar/lounge by the entrance where they show all the important games. And have to mention this; right across the street is a starbucks and money exchange shops, (heavy armed police officers in front of both). Intercon Hotel is right around the corner and for sight seeing the hop on hop off bus pick up at the convention center right across the street. Nikko a bit pricey but worth every penny here in Mexico City. Superb service all over the board, good for business travellers, tourists and whom ever find the need to visit this destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent; no difference at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born4travelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed at the hotel on business trip and absolutely enjoyed my stay. The rooms were well appointed and I had the ability to experience butler service during my stay. All staff were a delight and professional. The hotel was very busy but must be good for business.

Centrally located as well to many businesses and restaurants in the general location. Very safe area and great for visitors on first trip to Mexico City.

Food and all services were excellent as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globbiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I Love It.
Excellent Services
Good Quality Food
Near to Hard Rock Cafe and Good Restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALHENRIQUEZ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a huge hotel which is supposed to be one of the top ones in Mexico City. However, while the rooms are perfectly nice, clean, spacious etc, the whole hotel feels a bit dated and bland to me. I've stayed in various better hotels in Mexico City (check out the W)

Location-wise, it's great (Polanco: very upmarket, very safe, lost of restaurants, and expensive...)

Lobby food (sushi) very ordinary and a couple of dishes really not very nice. Didn't try the main teppanyaki restaurant, but the breakfast restaurant is very crowded.

I was on the exec floor, so had access to breakfast in the lounge there, but nothing to write home about. Coffee is awful.

I had free wifi on the exec floor, but it is chargeable in other rooms - unacceptable in my view. Why not charge for lights, tap water, air con...?

Yep, the place is fairly luxurious but suffers a weird lack of atmosphere and, as I say, feels a bit dated. The huge lobby/atrium/bar area feels a bit like a conference centre, with lots of bare concrete - feels a bit 1980s (which it may well be)

Fitness rooms feel a bit tired and could do with a refurb; sauna very average, steam room looks tatty.

Overall, at this level of stars and price, you can do better.

The bed was nowhere as comfortable as the ones you get in Marriotts and Starwood hotels

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Hotel Nikko is a nice hotel located in the fashionable Polanco district which is surrounded by many high end shoppes, restaurants and embassies. There are not as many restaurants as the InterContinental which is located next door but does have a variety. Some rooms are renovated. I stayed on two different occasions this month. One room on the 27th floor was renovated and with a flat screen elevated television and Bulgari bath products. The stay last week was on the 19th floor and was not renovated and had Neutragena products. All in all a nice hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalflyereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,149 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
973 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Mexico City
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11550, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $168 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FITNESS CENTER Our renewed Athletic Club has three tennis courts, sauna, steam room and fitness center area it is available for our guests 24 hours. We have cardiovascular and weight lifting equipment. Our outdoor sundeck and indoor pool is kept at a temperature of 30 ° C (86 ° F). They are located next to the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing