We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need refurbishing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Ranked #41 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rooms need refurbishing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

- 4 night stay on a business trip to Mexico City
- Room was run down with chipped furniture, dated decor... I know the hotel has 2 wings so maybe I was unlucky
- Amici restaurant overpriced breakfast, $19 for a buffet with only 4 hot dishes and a poor selection of fruit
- The coffee in your room has to be paid for, when in other hotels I have stayed is always complimentary!!??
- Very good location and all the staff I spoke to were always very friendly and polite...the saving grace!

  • Liked — Courteous and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room standard was low
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonJetstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    513
    273
    95
    41
See reviews for
156
187
101
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

This property has a great location. There are tons of restaurants, bars and shops of all kinds within a 10 minute walk. The rooms are typical Sheraton fare. I had a corner combined suite which had a great view of the Angel of Independence monument. The staff were all great, taking care of any issues in a timely manor and quick with advice when asked. The one thing I did notice is the lobby is quite dated. It could definitely use a refurbishment.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

The Sheraton Maria Isabel provided a flawless experience. It is conveniently located in Mexico City. Prices are very reasonable for a major chain hotel in Mexico City, and the restaurant is an exceptional value, offering extremely fine quality Mediterranean cuisine at reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Excellent service from everyone on the staff whom I encountered.
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I did not like.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 31-days, and this was the worst I had in my 20-years plus of world traveling, considering is a Sheraton. The service is well below 3rd class quality, the personnel were a little inept, and the security and safety were below the standards. This review is based on the fact that this is a Sheraton, an US hospitality enterprise, and the return in satisfaction compared to price/ rate. The rooms are small, not that comfortable, with not enough closet space and not well lit. The sound proofing and sealing was very bad. Noise travels easily from room-to-room, room-to-hallways, and the doors-to-frame do not seal well. The negative results were expected. Room service was friendly but above all not very customer service oriented. The hotel restaurant, Manhattan Deli, had the worst customer service I ever experienced. They did not like to take phone orders, hung on calls, had the orders wrong, were never timely, etc, etc. In terms of security, I had the terrible of experience of people attempting to gain access to my room in 5-times while I was in it. In 1-ocassion the security guards did not even bothered to investigate, in another incident took them 20-25 to respond to my room. Bear in mind, the security guards (5+) are always hovering on the lobby. Twice, room service walked on me without knocking the door or ringing the bell while checking for room availability. The evacuation charts are very confusing since they display several dots showing where you are standing. It seems that a template was prepared and used for different locations. I contacted the management in several occasions to point out my terrible experience, and they did not show much concern. Two individuals from my party abandoned the hotel before the end of our stay in disappointment. Make no mistake, I am Hispanic and fully-bilingual, and this is very professional, objective observation. Overall, I will not recommend the place to a family or friend. You will not get your money’s worth for a Sheraton.

  • Liked — Location is above average.
  • Disliked — Value and customer satisfaction were well below the expectations, compared to price/ rate.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegasus165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

I was working at the U.S. Embassy for the week and this hotel was right next door.

Since I booked at last minute, I had to get a "Smoking" Room; however, I could not smell any hint of smoke, so that was good. In the hallway I could, but the smell did not permiate into the room.

I had free access to the Executive Lounge on the18th floor and it was nice. For those wanting Starbucks, there is one on the first floor of hotel.

I enjoyed my stay and will be going back in August for another week.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MIkeyG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Pretty good hotel with good services and bedrooms. Has a good gym and pool as well. Has three restaurants with good service and food. The concierge is right in front of the registration desk and has plenty of tips and useful info for those who don't know Mexico City well.

  • Liked — The bed, it was pretty confortable.
  • Disliked — The room size.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_Nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

My sister and I stayed at Sheraton Maria Isabel for the first time. This was a nice upgrade from the Calinda Hotel in the Zona Rosa, but that's another review. The rooms were clean and quiet, and I smelled no smoke whatsover in our smoke-free room. My only complaint was the bedspread was unusally thick and heavy. It was a balmy 65-70 degrees so the thick covers were unnecessary. It would have been okay to kick those off, but then the blanket was very coarse and itchy. Other than that, we had a great stay. The staff was very helpful and solicitous, and we will return.

  • Liked — The nice clean rooms.
  • Disliked — The linens.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockfordpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#43 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#15 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel

Property: Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 325 | Distrito Federal, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#53 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on Mexico City's financial district, across the Angel of Independence. 755 Rooms, including 67 suites and 5 penthouses. All rooms features Sweet Sleeper Beds and Wireless Internet Access. 2 Restaurants: Amici and Manhattan Deli. 1 Mexican Bar: Jorongo with a tradicional Mariachi Lobby bar & Sushi bar Parking Area Pet Friendly More than twenty rooms for events and parties. Sheraton Maria Isabel offers a bussiness center area with Link-Sheraton Tecnology by Microsoft. The hotel has been repeatedly awarded the Four Diamond rating by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Mexico City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing