We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Ranked #45 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Pretty good hotel with good services and bedrooms. Has a good gym and pool as well. Has three restaurants with good service and food. The concierge is right in front of the registration desk and has plenty of tips and useful info for those who don't know Mexico City well.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denver_Nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2008

My sister and I stayed at Sheraton Maria Isabel for the first time. This was a nice upgrade from the Calinda Hotel in the Zona Rosa, but that's another review. The rooms were clean and quiet, and I smelled no smoke whatsover in our smoke-free room. My only complaint was the bedspread was unusally thick and heavy. It was a balmy 65-70 degrees so the thick covers were unnecessary. It would have been okay to kick those off, but then the blanket was very coarse and itchy. Other than that, we had a great stay. The staff was very helpful and solicitous, and we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rockfordpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Sheraton Maria Isabel in the Plaza De Reforma over Thanksgiving. The location is about 3 miles from the downtown sites. I would have preferred to stay at the downtown Sheraton, simply for the location. However this hotel was very nice and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Well it was during the World Dog Show that I stayed. There were hundreds of howling urinating dogs in the place. When I complained, the manager told me it was my tough luck.

The food they served was cold. The bar is dated. The barman had never heard of a cappaccino.

We switched to the other Sheraton in town after much negotiations. The other one is a much nicer building and the restaurants are nicer but the staff are equally inept.

I have stayed in maybe 20 different Sheratons - these ones are very poor and it is mostly down to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Michael647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. The lobby area pleasant, and free internet area in a bar was a great plus.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

I got a great deal from Hotwire (100 USD). This hotel is very nice really, fully renovated, centrally located, friendly staff, nice rooms with modern furniture (bathroom a little dated though), cable TV, etc. People in other reviews complain about pricey food and services. They complain for things like a 270 (25 USD) steak in the hotel restaurant. GOD!!! Those are international prices. Every Sheraton in the world is going to charge you 25 USD for a steak (or maybe more). This people think that because they are in Mexico they should pay 2 USD for a steak. If they want cheap food, just walk a little bit. The hotel is walking distance to a lot of restaurants and clubs in the Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank charles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Generally speaking, the Maria Isabel is a perfectly acceptable choice, and manages to maintain a standard which one would expect from a Sheraton property, with one or two exceptions. The location is very handy for those staying in Mexico City on business, or wishing to experience the dlights of Zona Rosa, which is just across the road. It's also a good base for tourists wishing to explore more of the City and surrounding areas.

I wasn't lucky enough to get a room/suite/mini-city in the 'Towers' of the hotel, so my 'regular' room in the main building overlooked the eternal queues which snake to the visa and consular section of the US embassy next door. The room was a little tired; not exactly in desperate need of renovation, but a bit of a refresh. Standard Sheraton fayre, really! Furnished with two queen beds, had four people occupied the room it would have definitely been a tight squeeze. There was an adequate wardrobe which houses an ironing board and iron plus the safe, which fitted my laptop perfectly.

The bathroom was fine, with the toilet tucked away and the bath/shower partially concealed. Sufficient space for all your toiletries and plenty of towels provided, plus hairdryer.

My big bugbear with this place is that they charge for ameneties/facilities which properties of this standard should not be doing. There is a coffee maker provided close to the minibar/mini-fridge, but the two coffee bags provided are charged for as part of the minibar list! Not acceptable. I'm not a gym-buny unfortunately, but access to the gym is also chargeable unless you are paying certain rates, (I'd enquire and get something confirmed - in writing - if this is appliccable to you). The rates quoted to colleagues varied a lot, too, so find this a little hard to trust. I also don't think its unreasonable to provide at least one bottle of water free of charge; tap water is apparently drinkable but not recommended. Three bottles are provided, but yep, you guessed it, at a fee.

Staff are friendly enough but it all feels a little perfunctory, as if they are just going through the motions.

Lower your expectations a little and you won't be disappointed. If you know this kind of place from experience, you'll get exactly what you expect.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Alec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Le Meridien Mexico City
#24 of 313 in Mexico City
521 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#33 of 313 in Mexico City
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#9 of 313 in Mexico City
1,524 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 313 in Mexico City
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 325 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#53 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $106 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel is perfectly located in Mexico City's financial district, across from the Angel of Independence. Our elegant hotel in Mexico City offers 756 Rooms, including 67 suites and 5 penthouses. All guest rooms features Sweet Sleeper Beds and Wireless Internet Access. Services and amenities at our hotel include: 2 Restaurants: Amici and Manhattan Deli. 1 Mexican Bar: Jorongo with a tradicional Mariachi Lobby bar & Sushi bar Parking Area Pet Friendly More than twenty rooms for events and parties. Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel offers a business center area with Link-Sheraton Technology by Microsoft. Our hotel has been repeatedly awarded the Four Diamond rating by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Mexico City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing