We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home Away from Home in Mexico City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Los Amigos

Casa de Los Amigos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Los Amigos
Alsea, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

As the other reviews state, the Casa de Los Amigos is much more than a hostel, and their quaker activities and socials justice work often mean that rooms aren't available for travelers. None-the-less, when they do have rooms available this place is a breath from fresh air.

"The Casa" isn't for everyone, but it's great if you're looking to meet interesting (often older) travelers, ex-pats, or plug into social justice activities throughout Mexico and the America's. I've been staying at the Casa for nearly 20 years and always try to visit during my frequent business trips for Mexico City. My family loves staying here and my six year old daughter thinks of it as her second home. When I"m in town on business, though I could easily stay in places that charge 4 times as much, I always try and stay here.

Highlights include the daily (mostly organic) breakfast, and the chance to share a meal with the volunteers and other visitors. On a recent morning these included an older woman en route to monitor elections in El Salvador, a young grad student in town for a conference on immigration issues, and several couples returning from long visits in southern Mexico. Another highlight is the Sunday potluck dinner, which brings together friends of the Casa from all over Mexico City. Great place to network!

The facilities include a common kitchen, recycling options, compost and a water filter to keep your drinking water bottles filled. The neighborhood is reasonably safe, for Mexico City, but still affordable and working class. The bars and flop hotels a few blocks to the south attract a seedier element and are best avoided at night. The Casa is less than two blocks from Revolución Metro stop and several Metro Bus lines, so it's easy to get anywhere in the city from here, including the Metro Bus line 3 to/from the airport...only 30 pesos!

The Casa is alcohol free, which helps avoid unnecessary noise and problems, but there are plenty of restaurants within a few blocks that provide ample options. There are also many supermarkets within walking distance.

Very special place. Warm, welcoming and one-of-a-kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Note that this isn't a hotel or even a hostel. La Casa is working Quaker center, migrant shelter, and humanitarian center. They do offer rooms for travelers if there is space. If you're interested in social justice work in Mexico this is an excellent community to meet. Living at the Casa requires some flexibility-- don't expect hotel like service- that's not the point here. I've stayed in both the apartment and a single room with bathroom. Both spaces were great for me and I would certainly stay there again. I've also taken groups of students there. I highly recommend it for the right type of person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Over the last 7 years I have stayed at the Casa many, many times. I'm sorry it never occurred to me to write a review. I have nothing to add to other comments about it's virtues, friendly, comfortable, near the Metro, etc., etc. The common kitchen can only be as clean as the other guests using it, and there are some kids who are clueless, but it is cleaned every day by the staff.

Of the many things I appreciate about the Casa is that I ALWAYS meet interesting people doing interesting things. And I always learn something new about the world.

Did I mention I love it?

Room Tip: If you have never slept in a dorm room, be prepared for strangers snoring and making friends with pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToniTravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Casa de los Amigos is clean and well kept, with a friendly, helpful staff. It is in an excellent location, close to the metro, metro-bus and several bus lines. There are many restaurants, a good pharmacy, and ATMs in the neighborhood. There is a kitchen where guests are encouraged to cook; a common room with couches, dining table and chairs, 2 computers and wireless Internet access; and delicious breakfasts are served every morning except Sunday. Beyond that, it is a peace and justice community affiliated with the Quakers that has been in this location for over 53 years. It welcomes people in and allows for fascinating interactions among guests from around the world. We so enjoyed meeting people there, and ended up doing several outings with other folks from the Casa. We are already planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cuarto K, which we liked very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights. Cost was incredibly low - 400 pesos a night.

It is run by volunteers, all of whom are very friendly and helpful. Lovely people who are eager to chat in English or Spanish.

The rooms are functional, not very good looking. Our curtains were broken, very hard to open and close. Kind of cold, and paper thin walls. Don't expect to get to bed early or wake up late. Not that there is partying, just general noise. That said, it had lots of power points, and decent wi-fi as well as a desk. The room hadn't been cleaned when we checked in, but that was quickly rectified. The shower ran out of hot water towards the end of the night.

The shared dining areas are lovely, a great atmosphere. The kitchen is pretty dirty, people don't put away their dishes or wash them properly.

A good breakfast is available for 30 pesos. They say it's from 7 to 9, but it's more like 8 to 10.

There are English and Spanish and gardening lessons throughout the week.

The location is quite fun. It's safe, but not right in the center. Close to some good attractions, and very close to a metro station, so it's easy to get around.

Overall, it's a great place to go if you are traveling solo, trying to improve your Spanish, or looking for a cheap but comfortable place. If you need quiet or worry about cleanliness, or plan to spend a lot of time in your room, you may want to look elsewhere.

I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am a graduate student and needed a clean, safe, and affordable place to stay while working Mexico City for just over a month. I chose the Casa de los Amigos based on word-of-mouth recommendations from friends who had been there before. I have to stay that I was never disappointed with this place. It exceeded my expectations at every turn. The staff were friendly and helpful, the community living spaces were open and comfortable, the kitchen was great, and the breakfasts memorable.

The Casa is located in a really lovely working-class neighborhood, a 20-25 minute walk from the historic downtown, and two blocks from the blue-line of the urban metro. I felt safe walking around at night, plus there's a large public space two blocks away that people frequent for relaxing, running, and biking. The neighborhood is awesome; I wish I lived there, to be honest.

The Casa is not a typical backpackers' hostel, however. Instead, it's a Quaker house that does considerable community outreach in Mexico City. There's always something going on each day and evening, so the atmosphere is never dull. You'll meet people from all over the world here, even if you're only staying for a couple of days. Drinking is not permitted on premises, (though there are some decent restaurants and bars nearby) which makes for a relaxed atmosphere that's welcoming of all people.

I stayed in one of the larger rooms with a window and a view of the street. Regular housekeeping made sure the facility remained tidy and I was for want of nothing. Also, in response to previous reviews that noted that spotty internet service, when I was there (April 2012) this problem no longer existed; I was able to use the WIFI network with no issues.

My only regret? That I booked 5 weeks, instead of ten.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently spent five days in "the apartment" at Casa de los Amigos, a non-profit international guest house. The apartment had a comfortable double bed, private bath, kitchen and small living room. There was also a foldout couch that could fit two more people. There was a small terrace outside that was perfect for a solo sunning experience, a garden patio below and a large room (the library) with books and internet opportunities. Every morning I purchased an extremely inexpensive breakfast at the Casa, cheap but filling and delicious. Volunteers take turns providing a more-than substantial breakfast, better than any local restaurant offering. The Casa is close to the center of the city, within walking distance to sightseeing and shopping. Your stay here supports the humanitarian efforts of the Casa de los Amigos. Staff and volunteers are mostly American and they are delightful, knowledgeable people who want to make a difference.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the apartment which is a great deal for a couple or a family because it is private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#180 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#28 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Gran Hotel Texas
#57 of 130 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capsule Hostel Mexico City
#12 of 192 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#13 of 192 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Historico Centro
Hostal Historico Centro
#18 of 192 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Los Amigos

Property: Casa de Los Amigos
Address: Calle Ignacio Mariscal 132, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Amigos Hotel Mexico City
Casa De Los Amigos Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing