We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International Guest House Offers Homey Accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Los Amigos

Casa de Los Amigos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Los Amigos
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“International Guest House Offers Homey Accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently spent five days in "the apartment" at Casa de los Amigos, a non-profit international guest house. The apartment had a comfortable double bed, private bath, kitchen and small living room. There was also a foldout couch that could fit two more people. There was a small terrace outside that was perfect for a solo sunning experience, a garden patio below and a large room (the library) with books and internet opportunities. Every morning I purchased an extremely inexpensive breakfast at the Casa, cheap but filling and delicious. Volunteers take turns providing a more-than substantial breakfast, better than any local restaurant offering. The Casa is close to the center of the city, within walking distance to sightseeing and shopping. Your stay here supports the humanitarian efforts of the Casa de los Amigos. Staff and volunteers are mostly American and they are delightful, knowledgeable people who want to make a difference.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the apartment which is a great deal for a couple or a family because it is private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guadalajara
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We visited the Casa especially to explore the human rights efforts that have been its focus since 1956, and to see its accomodations in person. Though we were unannounced and arrived on a busy day (there were indeed an impressive number of refugees and other guests participating in a range of Casa-run activities, like Spanish lessons; the weekday vegetarian breakfast had just finished and everything in the dining-meeting area was already shipshape again), the director himself welcomed us and took us on a tour. One of the first surprising facts he shared was that not only did the building serve as muralist José Clemente Orozco's studio at the end of his life, but it was designed by important Mexican architect Luis Barragán. For this connection alone, the Casa would be a good place for those interested in culture, as well as human rights efforts, to stay. [I read all the prior reviews & forum entries here, and saw no mention of the two artists, but that research also revealed the hotel across the street -- Gran Hotel Texas -- as a possibly good answer for anyone with any misgivings about 'too much community', as the location really is a smart one for those wishing to explore a good chunk of the city in a short time.)
On the weekday we were there, the Casa truly felt like a sanctuary in the middle of the city, with really lovely architectural and even horticultural details, a definite sense of calm purpose and of its heart being in the right place. Thus, as several other reviewers have noted, lodging here would be excellent for anyone who shared some of the Casa's aims: I really recommend reading up on those on the English version of its site, and in articles like 'From Arizona to Tamaulipas', on aspects of the migrant's plight we don't always hear about.)
One more note: the Casa also hosts Mexico City's Unitarian congregation's (monthly) services.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I've stayed at the Casa for two weeks, and I understand a bit better why the reviews here are all over the place. The Casa might not be for everyone; but those whom it is for, will love it, like I did.

The Casa de los amigos is a non-profit guesthouse, run by international and local volunteers. Part of their mission is to host volunteer workers and refugees, so the crowd is not your typical backpacker crowd, which is a great thing.

One consequence of the humanitarian aspect of the Casa is that my spouse and I were bounced around rooms for the two weeks we stayed there. I think we saw pretty much every type of room the Casa has to offer.

Dormitories: The male and female dorms are separate, eight beds to each. They were pretty good, with their own bathroom off the dorms. Note, however, that there are two private rooms with access to these bathrooms, leading to the potential of a male accessing the female bathroom and dorm. Otherwise, the dorms were good quality, and the female dorm even has a nice, sunny terrace of its own.

Private rooms: There's a great range of quality for the single and double, so you're better seeing a few. None of them, as far as I know, have private bathrooms, though the bathroom traffic is low and we had no problem. The rooms are fairly small, but given the quality of the shared areas, we didn't find this to be a problem. One twin room was next to the male dorm bathroom, which inconvenienced my partner.

Apartment: The Casa has one apartment for rent for 500 Pesos/night. This was above our budget, but we stayed there a few nights. It's a very nice place, with its own kitchen and oven, and private bathroom. There's a couch that can open into a bed, allowing 4 people to sleep in two beds. (Though there are no private rooms, just one open space with compartments.)

As I mentioned, the shared facilities of the Casa add to the greatness, and mean having a small private room is not much of a problem. The common lounge is cool, complete with a small kitchen. It has two aged computers, and free wifi access (tends to be sporadic, but worked most of the time.) There's a quiet library upstairs as well.

The staff was really nice, and always willing to help us with questions about Mexico City and Mexico. They have lived here a long time for the most part, so really know the practicalities of Mexico City.

All in all, I had a fantastic time at the Casa, despite being bounced around rooms, and despite the quality of the rooms being uneven. It was a unique opportunity to meet interesting travelers, volunteers and refugees, in a quiet, respectful yet lively atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Triseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Reino Unido
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Having read some of the other reviews, I'm not quite sure what they expected. The Casa de los Amigos is a small Quaker hostel well-positioned for the Historic Centre and other important sights in Mexico City (plus Metro and buses). The staff are mainly Mexican and international volunteers who are bilingual and knowledgeable about the city. Many of the guests are working on various voluntary projects in Mexico or staying long-term, so it's a great place to meet people with a real interest in the country. The rooms (single-sex dorms, plus single and double rooms) range in size, so do ask and specify what you want. The upside is a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and a great place to meet knowledgeable travellers of all ages. No-smoking or drinking rule results in a quiet, laid-back atmosphere as opposed to a party crowd. Social activities like Film Nights, Spanish classes, and Potluck on Sundays are a great way to meet people. There's breakfast, plus use of a guest lounge, library, and kitchen. Well-recommended.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilango_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

First, I was told I booked a room with private bathroom. Then, upon arrival I was told I'd be sharing a bathroom with 5 people. After having confirmation of a private bathroom, via email. The people were not friendly and I was left with a reservation that was not what I booked, so I went elsewhere. Talk about a bad way to start off a trip! Ask lots of questions!!! You have been warned.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Well, for starters, the rooms my "comadre" and I were assigned were only JUST larger than our single beds. We couldn't get our bags AND our legs into our rooms. Then we discovered that although there were different floors for men and women guests, there were men using the women's bathrooms! Not what we had in mind... Other things were going on in the full view of guests that would not make this a good environment for groups of young Christian missioners. Now I'm a person with a very open mind and a great sense of humor, but after the first two obligatory nights, my comadre and I had to look for quieter, cleaner, more comfortable accommodations.
The previous review that described a lovely hotel on the beach was NOT describing this hotel--this is not a hotel, but rather a guest house for mission groups, and it's located in the Revolución area of Mexico City. NOT on a beach anywhere! And "lovely" is not an adjective I'd ever apply to this property.

  • Liked — It was relatively cheap.
  • Disliked — The cramped rooms with only a light bulb for illumination, and sharing bathrooms with unknown males.
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SpanishProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

The price is right at the Casa de Los Amigos and the rooms are clean. There is also internet (sporadically) and a kitchen. The kitchen closes up early and your food is not safe in the fridge (my pizza was eaten). Try not to get a room near the bathrooms as the mixture of acoustics and travelers with stomach ailments makes for an unpleasant evening symphony. Also, the place is rather poorly run by a lot of volunteers who don't know much (and a few Mexican people they hire to clean up after them while they go meditate).

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The acoustics
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MSPXelaforNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Manalba
#158 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#21 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Gran Hotel Texas
#69 of 140 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capsule Hostel Mexico City
#12 of 204 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Hotel Ibiza
#248 of 305 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 204 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Los Amigos

Property: Casa de Los Amigos
Address: Calle Ignacio Mariscal 132, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Amigos Hotel Mexico City
Casa De Los Amigos Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing