We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo del Templo Mayor

Museo del Templo Mayor
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.00*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing and Teotihuacan Tour
Ranked #11 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The ruins of the temple the Aztecs believed to be center of the universe.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The view from temple mayor is amazing :-)I felt going time trip :-)
Ancient people are genius and so mysterious...
I wanna visit again. :-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,946
    762
    201
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Civilizations on top of civilizations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It is astounding to wander around ancient ruins in the middle of Mexico City. Reading the information signs along the walk through the ruins then looking up and seeing the cathedral gave me a clear understanding how the people and architecture of this city have changed over a long period of time.
I wandered slowly following the pathways. I took the time to read all the signs posted in English. I felt no need for the audio tour I had considered but decided against when I saw the cost. More information would have been overwhelming.
I did not visit the museum but just enjoyed the ruins themselves.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent introduction to azteca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

the museaum is the high point. its interesting to see the layout but we spent most of our time in the museum. the exhibits are well laid out and easy to follow. we thought we would spend an hour or two and ended up staying over 4.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenneth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I do not recommend going in. Just look at it from outside, or (best option) go to a rooftop cafe/restaurant like Cafe Mayor and look from the top. That's by far the best experience of these ruins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fabulousfabio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inspiring Archaeological Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Being able to see the various sections of this important historical area dating from the 14th century was inspiring and humbling. The outside walk about is well organized and protects the precious ancient remnants of a huge Aztec temple. The modern museum is well-laid out and equipped to display thousands of artifacts to best advantage. Impressive. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FRCOCHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Templo Mayor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo del Templo Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing