We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco
Ranked #148 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The reviews of this hotel are very mixed so I wasn't really sure what to expect. The location is convenient although our Garmin sent us round in circles for an hour until my husband called it rude names and we navigated by common sense. The staff were not very smiling or friendly but checkin was efficient. I have a lurking suspicion that Expedia clients get the worst rooms and ours looks right into the building opposite. The room is small and I can't remember when I last slept (not very well) in a double bed as opposed to queen or king. The bathroom is small but with spectacular water pressure, a decent hairdryer and a proper makeup mirror, something I would like to see more frequently in other hotels.
The room is worth what we paid through Expedia but NOT worth their rack rate.
Continental breakfast (included) is where I came unstuck: weak coffee, watery orange juice, fruit cocktail and a basket of stale bread and strawberry jam. Butter had to be requested and when asked if they had peanut butter or cream cheese or anything except strawberry jam, was informed that it wasn't included in the menu but I could order separately if I wanted. I was not given either a knife of a plate and when asked snarkily if these were not included either, the waiter laughed but didn't bring them until I lost my temper. While realising that "continental breakfast" is somewhat open to interpretation, this is easily the worst and most minimalistic that I have ever had anywhere.
Anyone who knows Mexico City knows that there is impeccable service and abundant food everywhere so my advice is to ignore the hotel restaurant and go out and find breakfast elsewhere which is what we will do tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
Sorry for the bad experience for the service I will pass your comments about this to the person responsable which is in charge of it, and personally I will follow up of it. Regarding the Continental Breakfast that was included in your rate, that what it has, for sure there is some other options in to the Menu to complete the menu.
Thanks

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    105
    64
    23
    20
See reviews for
38
44
15
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Recently spend 3 nights at hotel.
On the positive side the staff were very friendly.and the room was clean.
But...
Bed was short for a 6ft 1 person, the room was cold one afternoon with no way of heating (AC works) and on my last day the water was cold for my shower. Manager was very apologetic and nice but could do nothing obviously.
They have a restaurant but its more like a room with tables - don't bother.
Location is too far from the fun part of Polanco
Overall it was not worth the $150 or so I was charged.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent a Saturday night and found it very comfortable with top-notch service. The bonus amenities like complementary drink in the evening at the 10th floor bar and continental breakfast made it even more pleasant.

Getting to the hotel is tricky due to closed streets (construction) and a myriad of one-way streets. I recommend calling the hotel for personalized directions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well located in a business district, walking distance to Presidente Masaryk street populated of a great varity of fashion store and great affordable and more expensive restaurants . Walking distance to the Liverpool shopping Center and just minutes away in taxi from La Zona Rosa and Reforma.
Service is excellent, staff is cheerful and lovely. It has a restaurant in the 10 floor where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served with a beautiful view to the Chapultepec castle. It counts with free wifi all over the hotel, functional gym and business center. It counts also with a functional tour desk.
Rooms sometimes has a humidity kind of smell... But above all is something you end up not paying attention to. Bath and body work amenities in the bathroom.
Would definitely stay again. Only thing I would not take the taxis from the hotel since they are more expensive that the one you can easily grab on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dr. Guest!
I appreciate your comments, we working to be better everyday!. We waiting in your next trip to Mexico City,

Regards,
Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Suites Contempo
#83 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
#76 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco

Property: Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco
Address: Calle Tolstoi No. 22, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Mexico City Polanco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing