We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool design hotel, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrito Capital

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Distrito Capital
Ranked #168 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cool design hotel, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Spent tree nights here in Jan-11.
Our room was great (although a bit unpractical, f.x. no place to put towel in the wc), had a fantastic view from the bed and the rest of the room.
The location is in a bussiness district, a big shopping mall 5 min walk away, about 30-40min cab ride to the Historic Center.
The service was terrible though, this may be because few of the staff spoke good english. We had serveral problems:
-Minibar didnt open, wasent fixed until the second time we complained.
-Ipod speakers didn´t work
-We ordered pickup at the airport, but no one was there when we arrived, so we took a cab, later they told us we should have waited around for the car and they wanted us to pay for it anyways, after a long argument we did not pay (the had our flight nu, and we didn´t recive a comfirmation on email).
-We booked the house car one more time, the reseption didt tell the driver so he was late (very nice driver). The car brooke down in the middle of the motorway (BMW GT) and we had to ged picket up by a cab, only got a small discount for the inconvenience.

The pool area was covered by a plastic roof, so don´t except to get any sunbathing done (January).
The breakfast included was great, most of the other food we ate at the hotel to, avoid the Kobe burger though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
4
41
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Distrito Capital is a very cool, chic property located in the decidedly uncool neighborhood of Santa Fe. I would recommend it if you need to be in Santa Fe and are seeking a stylish property, but if most of your time will be spent in the city, I would recommend staying in the city as it is just too difficult to get back and forth.

That said, I think anyone that stays here will enjoy it. The rooms are spacious, with high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows providing a considerable amount of light. Room design is a bit unusual, but once you get used to it seems to work. The pool and restaurant areas are attractive and the food is good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCSANTAFE, Reservations Manager at Distrito Capital, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
We are greatly pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to having you again with us soon. Please do not hesitate in contacting us for anything you may need.

Kind regards from Distrito Capital !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Amazing rooms, 15' high ceilings, great views, very nice contemporary design, and nice personal attention.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCSANTAFE, Manager at Distrito Capital, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Mr. or Ms Estrada.

We are greatly pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to having you again with us soon. Please do not hesitate in contacting us for anything you may need.

Kind regards from Distrito Capital !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I'll try and keep this review brief. Pros:

- Looks trendy
- has a pool
- incredible view
- some of the staff do try to help, but ultimately service isn't great

cons:

- My room didn't have heating and I was provided (on request) with a tiny fan heater to heat the very cold room - we stayed in December
- Service not brilliant with little english spoken
- Service slow at breakfast, and food served a bit poor. Buffet breakfast food was average to good.
- Hotel simply does not live up to the promise of the design, and the design does not function well in any way.
- Blind doesn't block out light so you will get woken up by the light (and noise - they even leave a pair of ear plugs on the bed for you)
- Room service menu extremely limited

I would avoid this hotel if you can. Our rooms were paid for by the hosting company, but I would be very upset if I'd have paid to stay here out of my own pocket. I hope this review has been helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foiegras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCSANTAFE, Reservations Manager at Distrito Capital, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Mr "foiegras99"
First of all we apologize for any incconvenience you may have experinced during your last stay, We would like to reply with the following observations:
-Hotels in Mexico City do not have central heating, and this December was specially cold for the area. To avoid future problems the hotel has purchased brand new heaters to remedie the situation,

- Most of our employees have notion of the English language, but better attention will be given regarding training and service vocabulary.

- Our breakfast buffet is one of the most complete in the area regarding items and choices, but service can always be improved. We appreciate your comments and will make sure the kitchen and waiter staff take steps to develop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Last september was my husband´s birthday and as a surprise I invited him to stay at the Hotel Distrito Capital. WOW!!! After having an amazing dinner at the hotel´s restaurant (wonderful food and service, the restaurant´s menu was designed by Enrique Olvera, the famous mexican chef, owner of Pujol), we went upstairs where we were surprised (both of us!!!) by the room and the view! The decoration is very unique, vintage - very different from other hotels we have stayed in. The colors are basic and as a whole it gives the impression of chic and clean. We loved it!
Unfortunately we didn´t have time enjoy the pool, but it is worth it!!! I recommend a drink by the pool, and afterwards a kobe hamburger at the bar (the food at the bar is from the same restaurant menu - which is mexican with a twist).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keekeeseetah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Wonderful and innovating hotel I've ever been. The front desk staff is very kind and professional. The lobby is spectacular and it has a lovely terrace. The rooms are not only fashionable but very well decorated; also the view from my room was stunning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I found out about Distrito Capital because it was recommended by Conde Nast Traveler, so I knew it had to be pretty high standard. And when we arrived, it didn't just meet our expectation, we were blown away. Everything about this hotel was stunning and super hip-- from the entrance to the lobby, but the most impressive part, which they got so right, was the room. The room layout was quite unique, if you're looking for something different and unconventional then you have come to right place. While the dark colour decor might not appeal to everyone, if you are looking for cool rather than traditionally beautiful, you would appreciate the aesthetics here.

The room size was not huge but it was so well designed with a lot of efficiency that you didn't need a lot of space to feel comfortable. Our room had a very high ceiling and the bed faces out to a tall glass wall overlooking Santa Fe from the 27th floor, which was fantastic at night. The roller-blind is operated with buttons next to the bed, while the desk behind the bed was equipped with an iPod dock connecting it to speakers all around the room. The black stone tile bathroom was stunning and is stocked with only Acqua di Parma products. Absolutely everything used in the room was of the highest quality, down to the fluffy oversized towels, soft bed sheets or even the stationary. In-room wifi is free with a good steady connection, which was a big plus.

We were never up early enough to try the breakfast but lunch at the restaurant on the same floor as the lobby and the bar was superb. The menu was not that extensive but it was well thought out and unpretentious, and everything we ordered was delicious. The staff were all really helpful and went beyond their duty to make sure that everything was safe and smooth for us, especially the main concierge who I could not have thanked enough for it.

If there was a minus about Distrito Capital for us then it would be that it's in Santa Fe. Of course this could be a plus for others, but we were mainly spending our time in Condesa and Zona Rosa. Still, we could not have been happier with our stay at this hotel and a slightly longer taxi ride, no matter how late at night to get back here, was completely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Santa Fe
InterContinental Presidente Santa Fe
Polanco
Hotel Habita
Hotel Habita
#192 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Santa Fe
Hilton Mexico City Santa Fe
Hilton Mexico City Santa Fe
#7 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Mexico City Santa FE
Santa Fe
NH Collection Mexico City Santa Fe
Santa Fe
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrito Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrito Capital

Property: Distrito Capital
Address: Juan Salvador Agraz # 37, Mexico City 05300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrito Capital 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Distrito Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distrito Capital Hotel Mexico City
Distrito Capital Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing