We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind hosts, comfortable room, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 129 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kind hosts, comfortable room, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay as first-time visitors to Mexico City. I booked our room directly through the Chillout Flat website and received a quick response, as well as detailed directions to the property via metro, bus or taxi. The proprietors even included directions in Spanish to give to a taxi driver if needed. We opted for the metro and had no problem getting to the property, which is just around the corner from the Allende metro stop. The building is a historic multi-use property - a mix of retail, apartments and the B and B - and there's no sign outside, but we recognized the entrance from the photos on the website.

We stayed in the Satsanga suite on the third floor, accessible by elevator or stairs. Our bedroom had a private bathroom (with a large, roomy shower - always a welcome sight for tall people like my husband and I!) and a living room and kitchen that we shared with the occupant of the other room in the Satsanga suite. The WiFi service was excellent, and there was even a computer in the living room we could have used if we didn't have our own devices. Overall, the room was quiet, but there were a few odd building mechanical noises every morning around 7 AM and some noise from building residents off and on. Nothing unbearable or unexpected from an old building in an urban neighborhood. The hot water also disappeared a couple of times during my morning shower, but these minor inconveniences didn't take too much away from the otherwise clean and comfortable environment.

The best things about Chillout Flat, however, are the hosts and its location. David and Eloisa were extremely welcoming and gracious, as was their assistant, Geraldo. We were greeted with a lovely homemade breakfast each morning and always enjoyed the conversation with the interesting mix of guests assembled at the table. David spoke excellent English, and his advice for getting around the city was invaluable - he tipped us off to the green trolley, which was a much easier way to get to the Autobuses de Norte station than the metro, among other helpful tidbits. Much of what we enjoyed during our 6 days in Mexico City, however was within walking distance of the Chillout Flat, which is in a bustling, vibrant section of the city where we felt safe walking at all hours. Without a doubt, if we're ever lucky enough to return to Mexico City, we will be staying again at the Chillout Flat Bed and Breakfast!

Room Tip: The Satsanga suite is not facing the street, so there really wasn't any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USA-rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    49
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
140
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Chillout. Nice, low-key option for staying in Centro. The location is extremely close to the Zocalo, Belle Artes and metro stations. I was also surprised to find many restaurants and bars open in this neighborhood at night. David & Eloisa were super hosts, helping us with taxis, laundry, luggage storage and other errands I needed to accomplish around town. It was great to start the day with chilaquiles for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

positives=location is perfect in centro, great hosts, free wifi is a big plus & it works great in your room, big rooms, tasty breakfasts, no children & a unique opportunity to stay in a typical mex city style apt bldg among local folks instead of a hotel

negatives=neighbor & city noise (a few times but nothing too bad at all, generally quiet), variable hot water which is typical & lastly my room was large but could really use a small chair/desk

so overall chillout is a friendly, relaxed & highly recommended no frills b&b, particularly for unfussy visitors who want a friendly local experience. i would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meesalikeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I spent one night at the Chillout Flat in Mexico City. I had the Ganesha room, which was very nicely decorated and really quiet. David, the host, was very helpful, and helped me get oriented with the metro, etc. I loved the fact that they had coffee and purified water available all the time, and the continental breakfast on Sunday was decent. I would definitely recommend staying at Chillout Flat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenwcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews, my wife and I had very high expectations for the Chillout. Well, the reality is, the Chillout is everything we had hoped for and more. Super location, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts and the most comfortable bed we slept on in our travels in Mexico. We can't rate this B&B high enough. We didn't want to leave and we can't wait to return. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Mexico City. David is a fountain of information and Eloisa's smile brightens your day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We shared the two bedroom Satsang suite with friends. Everything about the experience at this unconventional B&B exceeded our expectations.

First, the location in the historic district is ideal—close to the Zocolo, great restaurants and shops, etc. Adding to the wonder of Chillout is the fact that it’s located within a simple apartment building; there are no signs or other indications that you’ve entered the realm of Chillout. With families coming and going, children playing and even, during our stay, a nuptial celebration, you feel part of the quotidian flow of Mexico City. One of the things I loved about the building is the central courtyard, around which the apartments are arrayed—nothing special in Mexico perhaps, but certainly enchanting to someone from colder climes.

Most of the room are located on the second floor. The common area, where breakfast is served, is also on the second floor. Our rooms were located in a special suite on the third floor. With a large living room, a separate kitchen, and two spacious bedrooms, our accomodations were wonderfully clean, gracious, and well appointed, including charming furnishings, solid Wi-Fi service, and various Yoga accoutrements for those who are so inclined. Perhaps reflecting the “chillout” moniker, the rooms were surprisingly quiet—even during the morning rush.

Breakfast was diverse, plentiful, fresh, and gracious—well beyond the typical fare.

Last, but far from least, the proprietors, Eloisa and David, were extraordinarily open, welcoming, and attentive. And I would certainly be remiss if I neglected to mention their assistant, Geraldo, who was unfailingly kind and efficient in his ministrations.

With international travel, one occasionally has an experience that exceeds the sum of its parts in a manner that surpasses articulation. The Chillout Flat is just such an experience.

If you are seeking a conventionally pleasant B&B or hotel experience, look elsewhere. But if you crave something singular, an experience that delights and adheres well beyond the days and hours of your stay—well then your search is at an end.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobInSwarthmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Once again, we are in Mexico City, and at this great B&B run by Eloisa and David; this time we came with friends, and has last year we had a BLAST of a time. Can not say enough of the place,its like never leaving your home! everything is centrally located, food is great, guest camaraderie and cozy rooms. WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN. Thank you .

Room Tip: room with inside bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YolisPaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#31 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar Apt 101, Centro Historico 8 | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our 2 Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 7 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing